Need more information about booking Property 1941261 ?
from $79 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 4 / House
Bedrooms: 2  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 4  Type: House
Riverside Cottage, Malmsmead - Sleeps 4 - Exmoor National Park - The famous
TripAdvisor property ID 1941261

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom house in Oare today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 14 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $419 to as high as $806, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 80% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 23, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

The Best Of Exmoor
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
23 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Oare,-devon Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (14)

Very Good – based on 14 reviews Very Good
14 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
8
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
4
Terrible
0
Write a review

“nice place!”

Reviewed 8 Aug 2014

really nice people/perfect service, cafe is great! no washing machine. great views around the cottage, many nice foothpaths

“Nice cottages but leaked when it rained”

Reviewed 2 Jan 2014

Lovely location and reasonably well equipped, but leaked through the chimney brest when it rainec

Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you liked the cottage and location but I am very sorry that the chimney leaked during your stay. I will certainly raise this with the owner. In the defense of the cottage it must be noted that we experienced exceptional weather at the time of your stay, Met Office weather warnings due to torrential rain and gale force winds - horizontal rain at times! Nonetheless please accept our apologies and we will investigate the chimney.

“Great location, cottage let down by a series of unfortunate even”

Reviewed 19 Sep 2013

Lorna Doone Cottage is in an exquisite part of the world, the picture above says it all really. The cottage is nice too, although we were surprised given that this only started being rented out recently that paint was already peeling off the walls. Next door, and a possible downside, is a café with all its comings and goings - but at least (as your point of contact for your stay) they are on hand if anything goes wrong. Unfortunately one day during our holiday the café closed without telling us and there was no one to speak to in an emergency or if we had a problem. We had no mobile connection there, and the payphone we were told to use was broken. So when we had a power cut, and with it a fire alarm, we were rather stuck. No one to speak too, a house we couldn't stay in - we left a day early. Some basic problems here too. We booked in as a young family, asking for a travel cot for our 7 month old baby. A travel cot was duly provided - it would have been nice to have been told there wasn't a bath to wash our baby in though. To be honest this place doesn't really suit a young family. We had a WiFi internet connection - fab - especially when you have no other means of contacting the outside world. Not so great when the staff in the café want to use it (when they were open that is) and take it off you. This is a new cottage site and there were other small problems too. The largest saucepan was only big enough to boil an egg, hardly suitable for a family staying self-catering for a week. We had no seasonings, oil or other sundries and a dishwasher but no tablets. When we have been on holiday abroad we have had a welcome pack with such things, or they have been in the house already. This isn't a major issue but the cost soon adds up when you need to buy all your household basics and you didn't expect it. To be honest we were disappointed. Exmoor, which I had never visited before, is a real delight, Lorna Doone Cottage though was a letdown.

Response from the manager Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can improve for future guests. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed Exmoor but of course very sorry that you found the cottage disappointing. We try to make the information and photos on our website as clear as possible so that guests know what they are getting when they book it. I am sorry if you feel that we have failed to let you know there wasn't a bath in this property, I will make sure the information on the website is made more clear. With regards to the power cut, I am so sorry that this happened during your stay, and as you say incredibly unfortunate that it should occur on the day that the staff had a day off. In an emergency we would always try to help if we could, we are usually on the end of an email and in this instance could have alerted the housekeeper to your distress. I'm not sure what you mean by the staff taking the internet off you, but I will also raise this so that we can ensure wifi is available for guests' use. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and bringing these points to our attention. We hope that you will return to Exmoor again.

“Last minute lucky break!”

Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was a last minute idea to go to Devon for a few days. Best of Exmoor were quick to organise our booking and were very helpful with information and ideas about the area. Lorna Doone Cottage is clean and nicely finished - the three of us had a very comfortable stay there in its two double rooms. Set in a picture postcard position right by the ford and bridge and there are great walking options right from the front door. The cafe next door that shares the grounds with the cottage is a nice convenience and there are good restaurant and pub options in the surrounding villages. We'd go again.

Review 1-10 of 14

Also consider

Cornwall

4,527 properties

Devon

3,118 properties

East Anglia

2,205 properties

Cumbria

1,505 properties

Dorset

1,010 properties

East Sussex

923 properties

Cotswolds

795 properties

Hampshire

504 properties

Derbyshire

449 properties

Durham

282 properties

Herefordshire

271 properties

Gloucestershire

246 properties

Cambridgeshire

227 properties

Essex

214 properties

Cheshire

209 properties

Hertfordshire

94 properties

Buckinghamshire

74 properties

Bristol

74 properties

Bedfordshire

70 properties

Rutland

41 properties

Start a new search