Need more information about booking Property 1987644 ?
From $426 / night help
Total guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 4 / Bathrooms 4 / Sleeps 10 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Bathrooms: 4   Sleeps: 10  Type: House

4 Unknown types

ARTISAN HOUSE: Hot Tub | Woodstove | Walk to Town
TripAdvisor property ID 1987644

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Monte Rio today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 28 reviews.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 22, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Russian River Getaways
Calendar last updated:
22 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:15:00, Check out time:11:00
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Please contact the owner
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Monte-rio Attractions




  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub


  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave


  • CD player
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Grill


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking - Ask


  • 4 Unknown types


Reviews (28)

Very Good – based on 28 reviews Very Good
28 reviews

Very Good

“Beautiful house, very poor maintenance.”

Reviewed 15 Nov 2016

This is a beautiful house with lots of unique features but it is on the downward slide in terms of maintenance and unless corrected soon will not be worth staying in at all. The apartment on the side of the house is in particularly bad shape with the bathrooms in desperate need of remodeling and some TLC. I slept on that side. The hot tube was in good shape and we used it but the outdoor grill we had to take apart and clean it and then only two burners worked. There was also propane leaking from one of the small portable tanks so certainly a safety issue. The heating issue was marginal for this time of year and probably not a problem in the summer but it was difficult to get house up to a reasonable temperature very quickly. All and all this house has the potential to be one of the best but it will take a lot of work to get it up to standards.

“Artisan Compound”

Reviewed 31 Aug 2014

This house was great! The location was perfect. We could walk to everything in Monte Rio, the theater, the beach, Barlett's. Great neighborhood to walk in as well. It seemed like previous renters were concerned with the traffic noise because it is at the base of Bohemian Hwy but it really was not bad at all. The neighbors were nice and the house and property were big enough for our crew. It was a joy to stay there and we would stay there again. The only thing that was lacking was the amenities in the granny unit. The kitchen was not stocked with cookware and dishes and the tv had no cable so you could only watch DVDs but these seem to be simple things to fix. The beds were pretty comfortable which is important and there were enough bathrooms.

Response from the manager We're glad you enjoyed Artisan House, and thank you for your review. We'll look into the stocking of the granny unit kitchen. Often guests move things from one kitchen to the other.

“Great Summer Home for Large Family”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2013

This house is wonderful and the master suite is incredible. Five total bedrooms but the ability to sleep a few extra on futons. Great location which is walking distance to a small market and the Monte Rio beach where they have canoes, kayaks and a great lunch option. 10 mile drive to the beach in Jenner and 4 miles to Guerneville.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review. Artisan House is indeed a great summer home for a large family, and we're so glad you enjoyed it. Do come back soon!

“Restful, peaceful, cozy, warm.”

Reviewed 9 Aug 2013

Special place for large family and friend gatherings. Spacious living area. Quite neighborhood. This home is really a comfortable warm welcoming place.

Response from the manager We're so happy that you enjoyed Artisan. It is a wonderful vintage home. Thanks for the review, and we do hope you'll come back. -Rachel

“Too hot for comfort”

Reviewed 4 Jul 2013

We have just returned from our week at artisan House, and enjoyed it, with an enormous caveat. The house is not properly set up for the heat wave we endured (last week in June, 2013). Although it has no air conditioning, screens should have been installed for the windows that open upstairs. (And...not all of them are even able to open). The house heats up during the day, and is trapped in the upstairs bedrooms. The fact that we rented the house to celebrate my mother's 93rd birthday, and she was staying in one of these bedrooms was extremely nerve-wracking. I had requested a partial rebate of our rent due to these sleepless nights...and no response from the Russian River Getaways management company.(Not even the courtesy of a negative reply). No doubt, the company will say that we should have notified them immediately about the problem, but we had no idea of the issue until the first day of the heat wave (Friday) that the house was ill-prepared to handle this. Other than this major factor, the house was well-equipped and charming (although they need to replace a non-working toaster). If roiling hot weather is not a factor, you most certainly will enjoy your stay. But one more thing to note, the house is not as isolated as one espects (there are very nearby neighbors, whom one can easily spot from the deck), and is extremely unimpressive from the outside, which leads to dismay when one first spots it. Go inside, and be assured.

Response from the manager We have never had the kind of heat that you had to endure here on the Russian River and we learned a great deal from the perspective of our guests. We apologize if you received no response from our management team and I will be sure to pass your complaint along to our Services Manager. Although we are in a country setting it's almost impossible to not have neighbors anywhere you go. We do have more remote and isolated homes and you just need to ask our booking agents and they will guide you to something more to your liking next time you book with us. Thank you for your observations and we will look into your concerns. Russian River Getaways

“Rustic and very Roomy”

Reviewed 25 Apr 2013

I loved my experience here. The Master Bedroom was amazing and the Granny Flat was huge. The house was well stocked and clean. I hope to visit again. I will say that the neighbors are very close and if you have a large group you need to go inside early to avoid calls about the noise.

Response from the manager Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Artisan House is located in a residential neighborhood, and Sonoma County does have rules for vacation rentals regarding not disturbing neighbors, so we do have to respond. We appreciate your patience and the fact that you had a great time anyway!

“Beautiful and functional space for a small getaway”

Reviewed 23 Apr 2013

This was a delightful house that worked out perfectly except for the size of our party. For my 30th birthday I invited 13 friends up to the cabin because the max occupancy says 14. It's a good thing that someone brought an inflatable king sized air mattress though, because there were definitely not enough spots for 14 - the ad said something about additional futons but the couches were not pull out couches at all so the house really slept 11 comfortably, not 14. Otherwise, it was an amazing space - great kitchen, open living room and dining areas; the deck was awesome to hang out on, and the hot tub was a hit, though we had to take turns as it could only hold 6 people at a time. There were plenty of towels and blankets, as well as fire wood. It's very close to a beach area of russian river where we went to play frisbee and skip rocks - a nice relaxing addition to the area. The house is fully fenced in so you feel like you have privacy. The internet also worked well. All in all we had a great trip and I would do it again, though with fewer people due to space constraints (for sleeping purposes; the house easily entertains more than 14 people though).

Response from the manager We're so glad you enjoyed Artisan House and hope you'll be back. There were large floor futons to help accommodate 14 people, but now the house has scaled back occupancy to 12.

“Fabulous time; great place”

Reviewed 14 Mar 2013

Customer service was great. When I called to request an extended check-out it was easy. The house was grand and cozy. There wasn't really anything negative I could complain about. There were enough space heaters to keep us warm. The hot tub was nice. We enjoyed Bbqing one afternoon too. Walking distance to the beach and 10 minute into town.

Response from the manager Thanks for your review and sharing your experience at Artisan House. We hope you'll be back soon!

“I'll be back”

Reviewed 10 Jan 2013

This was a wonderful location, and an excellent house. The main unit has great ambiance. The granny unit is functional, but not as charming. There are two simple things that hopefully the maintenance guy takes care of before I come back, both are in the showers of the main unit. One shower has a terribly oriented showerhead, which only points straight down, right next to the wall. The other shower has unweighted curtains in a wrap-around. Since there are no weights or magnets on the shower curtain, the convection caused when running hot water in the shower sucks the curtain in. It touches you while you're trying to shower, and that's gross. The deck was fabulous. The hot tub is well screened from the road, and with the huge square footage of the deck and yard, it still has a very open feeling.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the house. We've corrected the bathroom problems.

“A very happy Family reunion”

Reviewed 18 Jul 2012

The booking went well and rapidly, we appreciated the rapid response we had although the complexity of links on the booking form was overwhelming. Response to queries at the office when we were there was equally good.The house and granny apartment were perfect in size for the 14 who stayed there. The location and amenities were perfect for us with 6 young people and we were especially happy to have such convenient access to the river. It was excessively noisy with traffic from 5am but the gem of a housekeeper you have, told us about the start of the Bohemian club event. (By the way , you are very lucky to have such an excellent housekeeper who is also a charming person and chatted to us as we left which added a warm feeling to a sad goodbye for us as we joined together from the 4 corners of the USa.) The Plum tree was shedding many many plums on the entrance steps which got tracked into cars and house. The garden was a big asset and we used it a lot for games. This possibility was not mentioned in the description. We particularly liked the space both inside and on the deck . Thank you

Response from the manager We're so glad you enjoyed the house and yard at Artisan. Booking is much easier with our new website, so we hope you'll check it out and come stay with us again.

Review 1-10 of 28

Also consider

Big Bear Region

1,440 properties

Beverly Hills

161 properties


151 properties


43 properties


32 properties


25 properties


24 properties

Bass Lake

19 properties


18 properties


17 properties

Angels Camp

11 properties


11 properties

Chula Vista

10 properties

Citrus Heights

10 properties

Carmel Valley

9 properties


9 properties


8 properties


6 properties


6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search