Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Monte Rio today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool, internet access, and dishwasher among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 19 reviews.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Russian River Getaways
Russian River Getaways
- Calendar last updated:
- 18 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Monte-rio Attractions
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- CD player
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 19 reviews
- Very Good
“Very Private - Best Property on the Street”
Overall this property was very enjoyable. The best part was the upstairs main living spaces (inside and out) as well as the grassy yard down below. Private river access and kayaks was definitely a plus. The kitchen was well stocked - even had a waffle iron. Criticisms - the river access was a muddy, steep trail, with no dock or beach. The downstairs bedrooms were musty and the outside cottage was very rustic. Maybe this is just the price of living on the river, but there were a lot of large spiders.
Response from the manager Thanks for your review,and we're glad you enjoyed Como Estate. We do try to keep ahead of them, but the spiders can be persistent in this wooded area. Those downstairs rooms are partially sub-grade, but the owners does have measures in place to take care of any mustiness, so we'll check to make sure those are up and running. The access to the beach, and even the beach itself, changes throughout the year, especially after the dams come out in September. There is typically a beach at Como for the summer. -Rachel
“Perfect spot for relaxation”
From the begining everyone at RR getaways was very friendly and patient while helping me find the perfect house for my friends (10 people and 4 dogs) and I. We had many specifications. This spot met all of our needs perfectly,from the fully stocked kitchen to the private beach with kayaks. There were enough beds for 5 couples, unfortunately the downstairs rooms were still cold and musty in September. There is a dehumidifier and a space heater which helps somewhat. With that being said, that was really the only negative thing I can think of. We all enjoyed spending time among the redwoods on the deck overlooking the river. The private beach was perfect, especially picking blackberries on the walk down. The kayaks were all well maintained, the only tricky thing was the lock. Honestly, my friends came up from Santa Cruz but my husband and I live 20 minutes from this location and both agree this vacation was well worth every penny. All of us agree to do it again next year, except stay longer.
Response from the manager Thanks for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed Como, and we hope you do come back this year. -Rachel
We will be back again next year! Everything was lovely again. We love this house for our group of friends and small children. It is charming and comfortable. The patio, yard and beach are the best - unbeatable! Only thing we are really not happy about is the Mon-Mon rental vs Sun-Sun like last year.
Response from the manager We're so glad you enjoyed Como and welcome you back. Thanks for the review. -Rachel
“Love the Russian River area!”
Sorry I didn't respond earlier. The ant problem in the kitchen was very bad until we realized we could not leave even one crumb lying around. We especially rented Como Estate because of the guest house for more members of the family but at the last minute they all couldn't come. Therefore we had an added unnecessary expense, of course no fault of the Como Estate owners. It rained a lot while we were there so we had a real muddy shoe problem, again no fault of the owners. We loved the huge trees growing right through the deck. However, because of the rain we didn't really use the deck much or the hot tub either. With better weather it would be great. Since we all live in Southern California I don't know if we will get up your way again soon but if we plan a trip we may contact you for accommodations. If you need the date of our stay please look it up in your records - the Butcher family last spring a year ago I believe. I just guessed at the date below. Sue butcher
“End of the Road”
This is the second year we stayed at Como Estate. We love the house at the end of the road. It accommodates our whole family (three generations) and even though it rained the first two days, we all found plenty to do. The only disappointment was the lack of a beach and lugging the boats up and down the hill. Last year there was a beach, and the boats were locked up on it, and it made for an easy ride. All-in-all, will return again and again.
Response from the manager Thank your for your review of Como Estate, and we're glad the house worked out so well for you and hope it continues to do so. The River changes every year, and the beach situation changes along with it, even throughout the season with the varying water levels. There is typically a beach at Como, but at times, there may be less or more of one. The reason the boats are not on the beach is that there have been some recent thefts of items from beaches in that area. Anyway, we'll be glad to have you back. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways
“Unforgettable experience -50th birthday party”
I spent weeks and weeks doing research, touring and making sure that the vacation rental I needed met my vision for my 3 day birthday celebration. Everyone at Rrgetaways was fabulous, super friendly, cordial, professional and handled all my questions and goofy requests expertly. Once my friends arrived, they too were completely enamored with the house, the setting and the natural beauty of the Monte Rio area. We made frequent trips to Goat Rock, to hike, run, take photos and catch the sunset -truly magical and unforgettable. Back at the house, we cooked several big meals -the kitchen had everything we needed- it made for a super easy and comfortable experience. Just one tip if coming out in January: bring extra blankets and make sure that the space heaters in the lower level and the outside cottage are turned on with enough time to make the space comfortably warm for you. But overall, we all agreed that we want to come back to the Como Estate and make this an annual retreat. Thank you again Rrgetaways for an excellent, first-time vacation rental experience.
The Como Estate lived up the other review I'd read. We were a group of 2 families with some little kids. We did have to be careful about the stairs inside and out with the little guys, as we didn't want a long fall to spoil the incredible venue and all it had to offer. The place is comfortable, the beach and little islands on the river were too cool. Weather you want to hang out and relax the entire time or get out and enjoy all of the things the area has to offer, this place is ideal. Not cheap, but well worth it.
“The family loved this place”
Como Estate was the perfect place for our family week. We range in age from 76 to 2 and this home was great for whatever we wanted to do. Rr Getaways service was friendly and efficient from the reservation through check in and check out. The kayaks had been reported to have leaks and someone came out the check them on our first day. Replacements arrived the next morning. The home and grounds allowed all of us spaces to enjoy together or guietly read or do yoga alone. The kitchen was fully equiped for making dinners for our large group. The grounds were beautiful with many interesting plantings. Since the property is located at the end of the street it was very private and quiet. The only thing I would change is to have a screen on at least one window or door in the master bedroom.
Response from the manager We so glad these folks liked Como so much. All windows that can have screens have them, however, several of the window are old style pushing out which doesn't allow for screens. -rkl
“Good spot for annual friends get together”
We've been coming to Monte Rio for 12 years and have stayed at a number of properties. This is the best for outdoor areas/beach access. Basement rooms are musty and the cottage is a bit funky, but we'll deal with the issues and rent this place again.
Response from the manager The basement rooms are sub-grade and there can be a little odor sometimes, although many people don't notice it at all. We have a de-humidifier/air filter running down there, which takes care of it most of the time. The cottage is very cool, built around a tree, so it is rustic. -rkl
“Mostly great with lots of space to get away”
We really enjoyed our stay at Como Estate. The view from the deck and lawn was beautiful, and there were dozens of nooks where small groups or individuals could be away from the group. We only had three criticisms worth mentioning: 1. The steps down to the half-silt beach were difficult for the small children and older members of our group. (But the water around the beach was shallow and great for our 3 and 6 year olds to splash in!) 2. The kitchen was small, and there is no room in any cabinets to store food or supplies we brought. (But it does have a great refrigerator) 3. The bath, trash bag and toilet paper supplies were pretty stingy. One set of towels per person with no extras, a bathroom rug that actually had holes in it, no bath soap, and not quite enough toilet paper and trash bags to make us feel comfortable that we wouldn't run out. But don't get me wrong - we might very well return to rent this house. It was charming, fairly comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay a lot...wished we could've stayed longer.
Response from the manager We're so glad these guests enjoyed this home. We've ordered new bathroom rugs, and will have the housekeeper leave more supplies out in the future. We provide one set of towels per person because housekeeping needs to be able to wash all the linens in a four hour window; there is a washer and dryer at the house. We supply liquid hand soap, but not bath bars to avoid waste. We've also cleared out some space in the kitchen cabinets for guest supplies. -rkl