Need more information about booking Property 2009274 ?
from $105 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Cottage
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 2  Type: Cottage
TripAdvisor property ID 2009274

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom cottage in Keswick today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 15 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $451 to as high as $799, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 20, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Keswick Attractions




  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (15)

Very Good – based on 15 reviews Very Good
15 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Tranquillity in wonderful surroundings.”

Reviewed 18 Apr 2014

Well appointed and gloriously located cottage. Mountains on 3 sides, and sits in Newlands Valley. Lovely walks available from straight from the door, including the ascent of Catbells for wonderful views of Skiddaw and over Derwentwater. The charming market town of Keswick is just 4 miles away. Many birds frequent the garden, and there is a good chance of seeing at least one of the pair of red squirrels that reside in the garden - throwing some hazelnuts outon the lawn in front of the big fir tree certainly rewarded us with great close views of a red squirrel eating a few hazelnuts, and then burying well over a dozen. he bed, bath and shower were all faultless, and cleanliness was fine. It is a delight,even on a wet day, sitting in the bay window looking out over the garden, river and towards the hills. T

Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Clairgarth, Stair. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay at the property, particularily the location of the cottage and took advantage of the surrounding walks and views. We are also pleased you found the bed, bath and shower faultless. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Clairgarth very soon! Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Cute cottage in a great location but a few minor details needing”

Reviewed 3 Apr 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is in a lovely location with loads of walks from the door etc and the birds & squirrel in the garden were a real bonus. It is well equipped for cooking and the bath in the bedroom is a novel feature. We didn't eat at the nearby Swinside Inn but did walk up there for a drink a couple of evenings - decent beer, nice pub. However, there were a few things which collectively have led to me only giving a rating on 3 (a bit harsh and I would really say 3.5!). None of them in any way prevented us enjoying our stay and we would even go back to the cottage again but feel it's important to feed them back: 1.) The main thing was cleanliness on arrival. The cottage clearly had been given a bit of a clean and certainly was not dirty enough to warrant ringing up to insist someone came back to do it again or anything but (compared to some rental cottages we have had where the place is positively sparkling clean when you go in) it was a bit lacking. Specifically, it felt that the kitchen floor & surfaces & sitting area carpet had only been given a quick run over, there was a toe-nail left in the shower and there were quite a few old cobwebs along the beam above the bed (a 1 minute job with a feather duster I would have thought...?). 2.) the dial you turn on the sink to open the plughole is very loose and needs repairing. 3.) (A very minor thing) the key for the back door was not left in the cottage so we had to ring up the agency to get a spare one. However, they were most helpful and provided the key that afternoon, which we picked up from the office. However, all of the above notwithstanding we had a very enjoyable week.

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback of your stay at Clairgarth. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the property, especially the surrounding walks. Thank you for raising the comments above. We do state on our confirmations, "We try our best to ensure your accommodation is ready for your arrival, but occasionally things do break down, please report any problems as soon as you arrive or as they happen to either the cottage owner or our office during opening hours on 017687 74060." This is so we can rectify any problems during your stay. However, we have passed on your comments to the cleaner and the Keswick office to bring this to their attention. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Clairgarth or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Great Location”

Reviewed 26 Jan 2014

Fascinating little cottage with walks from the door. Nicely decorated and equipped. A little chilly for us soft southerns.

Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Clairgarth. We are delighted you enjoyed the decor of the property and found it well equipped for your stay. The heating at the property is as advertised with electric storage heaters. There is also a stone effect electric fire in the lounge area. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Clairgarth or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Intimate and comfortable cottage”

Reviewed 21 Oct 2013

Homely cottage with all mod cons, some good walks direct from the cottage including Causey Pike. Keswick nearby with a good selection of both mountain and gift/craft shops. The cottage provided a good base, somwehere warm and comfortable to return to after a hard days walking. Interesting feature the bath being in the bedroom but actually works well.

Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Clairgarth. We are pleased to find you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and found it homely and well-equipped for your holiday. We hope to welcome you back to Clairgarth or another Lakes Cottage Holidays properties in the near future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Perfect Cottage”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2013

Excellent location, great views of Catbells from the front...lovely garden area at the back with wonderful wildlife including Red Squirrals, Nut Hatches and Woodpeckers. Facilities in the Coattage were great, everything you could need and great decor too. Swinside Pub fantastic and only a 10 min walk good and views from garden amazing. Fab place to stay!


Reviewed 8 Oct 2012

Great location, sadly inside was only surface clean,felt as though it needed a thorough clean. Hot water tank leaked. Did not use water heater as switches too close to leaking water. Towel rail thermostat faulty, got extremely hot and broken connection exposed bare wires. Left note for management as these are both safety issues.Hopefully these will be rectified. However, would not stay there again.

Response from the manager Thank you for your recent review on this property. We have now fully investigated the issues you have raised concerning this property. We do advise all guests to contact the office immediately if there are any issues/problems at their property. Unfortunately we did not receive any calls during your stay regarding the issues you have raised above. Had this information been forthcoming, we would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay was made a s pleasurable and comfortable as possible. We did not become aware of these issues until the cleaner entered the property on the day of your departure. As both of these complaints present potential health and safety issues, a plumber and electrician were contacted and attended the property immediately. A new Water tank has now been fitted and the electrical issues have been rectified. This property is very well maintained and was deep cleaned approximately 2 weeks prior to your stay. Again, had we been made aware of any cleaning problems, we would have arranged for a cleaner to attend immediately. This is a wonderful property and we want to make sure your holiday or short break is uninhibited. If you have any queries or concerns, please contact us and we will be happy to address your questions.

“Great Scenic Holiday”

Reviewed 26 Jul 2012

Ideal location peaceful and quiet amenities were excellent everything you could need for your stay

“Delightful location and a delightful cottage”

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have stayed here before so knew what to expect. The standard of cleanliness was not great but did not detract from our enjoyment. We were surprised at the absence of an adequate information folder e.g. location of recycling; use of immersion; location of key etc. The cottage and the location is wonderful however. If you want to cover the North Western Wainrwright fells this cottage is ideal

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on Clairgarth, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry to hear that the information folder provided in the cottage no longer has instructions for the use of the immersion heater. We will ensure that this information is replaced immediately. Key collection information is provided at the time of booking. This information can be found as an attachement to your booking confirmation email along with directions to the property. We do advise all guests to contact the office as soon as possible regarding any issues with their property on their arrival. Had we been made aware of any cleanliness issues we would have ensured that a cleaner returned to the cottage to rectify any issues you may have had. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

“Fantastic cottage, great location”

Reviewed 21 Jan 2012

Would recommend this to any friends looking for great accomidation in a fantastic location

“We got away from it all”

Reviewed 23 Aug 2011

We hired a couple of bikes to get in and out of Keswick with. The ride takes about 30 minutes if you get off and walk up the hills, 15 if you don't. So, this place is right out in a quiet valley. There are other people around, but you don't really hear them. It's so peaceful. Inside, it's well turned out and spacious, and has everything you need for a relaxing break in the country.

Review 1-10 of 15

Also consider

Lake District

1,196 properties


60 properties


59 properties

Kirkby Lonsdale

30 properties

Troutbeck Bridge

28 properties


26 properties


23 properties


23 properties

Newby Bridge

17 properties


15 properties


15 properties


14 properties


14 properties


12 properties


9 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Start a new search