Need more information about booking Property 2009295 ?
from $344 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Cottage
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 2  Type: Cottage
ULLSWATER BOATHOUSE DUKE OF PORTLAND, Pooley Bridge
TripAdvisor property ID 2009295

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom cottage in Pooley Bridge today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 60 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2354 to as high as $3160, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 17, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Pooley-bridge Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (60)

Very Good – based on 60 reviews Very Good
60 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
42
Very Good
10
Average
6
Poor
0
Terrible
2
Write a review

“Perfect location but a little tired and lacking in 5 star items”

Reviewed 4 Apr 2014

This was my second stay - special birthday treat at this gorgeous place. You cant beat the position of this property. However, It is meant to be 5* and because of this would expect a welcome note, perhaps a bottle of wine in the fridge, some flowers? The cooking facilities are lacking and no dishwasher - the kitchen really does need upgrading. The crockery was limited - some saucers and plates missing to make up sets of 4 and lots of them were chipped. There were no napkins - and no tea strainer for those who like leaf tea. The utensil and kitchen drawers were untidy and bitty. Bathrobes had seen better days and no slippers. This is a 5* property with 5* price and the above mentioned should be in place I feel. All in all - it needs some tlc. Leather sofas and chairs not too comfy and cushions kept slipping off.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Boathouse Duke of Portland, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted you have stayed at the boathouse for the second time and enjoyed the location of the property on Lake Ullswater. We have contacted the caretaker of the property to bring the comments you have raised in your review to their attention including the crockery. Lakes Cottage Holidays do not advertise the property to have a dishwasher or that slippers are provided. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Boathouse Duke of Portland in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Wow !!”

Reviewed 19 Mar 2014

Would just like to say what a beautiful place the Boathouse is - with a wooden bath that is just out of this world !! People very friendly, but local village shop lacked certain essentials

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Boathouse Duke of Portland, Pooley Bridge, Ullswater. We are delighted you found the property out of this world! We are pleased you found the people friendly and enjoyed the bath at the property. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to to Boathouse Duke of Portland soon! Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Fantastic”

Reviewed 16 Feb 2014

Duke of portland boathouse was fantastic inside and out. It is in a great location about 10 minute walk from Pooley bridge. The weather wasn't up to much but this didn't spoil it as it was lovely staying in, making the most of the log fire and under floor heating. Would definetly recommend to friends and family and we will be definetly be returning.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at the Duke of Portland Boathouse. We are delighted you thought the property was fantastic and enjoyed the wood burning stove and under floor heating. Thank you for recommending the Duke of Portland Boathouse to others! Lakes Cottage Holidays looks forward to welcoming you back to the Duke of Portland Boathouse soon! Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“5* Luxury - Amazing location”

Reviewed 6 Feb 2014

A great place for a short break. Amazing place - real luxury. Walking distance to hills and Pooley Bridge, with pubs & shops. Top Tip - Look out for last minute booking reductions.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on The Duke of Portland Boathouse We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060

“A bolt hole of tranquility”

Reviewed 27 Jan 2014

Warm, cosy, tranquil, lovely touches of detail, done to high spec. Beautiful deep wooden bath, under floor heating, very very comfortable bed. Stunning views, cosy log burner. Just what we needed to reconnect after a busy family Christmas period, perfect couples retreat. We just shut the door and enjoyed it. We didn't want to leave.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on the Duke of Portland Boathouse We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your review was a pleasure to read and thank you for sharing your lovely photographs. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060

“magical”

Reviewed 6 Dec 2013

i was a bit worried about the proximity of the boathouse to the road,and although there is some traffic noise once your in the boathouse you get lost in a world of your own! the view from the bedroom over the lake is as good as any view anywhere in the world! The Boathouse is expensive and i think it would be a nice touch to perhaps have a bottle of bubbly and a card welcoming guests by name. with having no personal contact from anyone made it feel like we were sneaking into someone elses home!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of the Boathouse Duke of Portland. We are delighted you enjoyed the view from the property on to Lake Ullswater. We are sorry you felt there was no personal contact, Lakes Cottage Holidays do wish to deliver excellent customer service. According to our records, you booked over the phone with one of our staff members in the Keswick office and we also had telephone conversation during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Boathouse Duke of Portland or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“A beautiful retreat.”

Reviewed 26 Oct 2013

A truely beautiful place to relax and getaway from the rat race. We celebrated a specual birthday and wedding anniversary in style .

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at the Boathouse Duke of Portland, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted to read you found the property a beautiful place to relax and hope to welcome you back to Boathouse Duke of Portland, Pooley Bridge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“idylic”

Reviewed 17 Sep 2013

wonderful location, right on the waterside of one of the quieter lakes. A sheer delight, perfect for a romantic break. Just wait till you wake up with the sun coming over the hills across the lake and see the light change as you breakfast on the balcony! Fabulous!

Response from the manager Thank you for your recent review on the Duke of Portland Boathouse It was a pleasure to read your review on this wonderful property and lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay and the fabulous views. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Lakes Cottage Holidays

“Arachnophobes Beware”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2013

I would like to start by saying that there is nothing really wrong with the Duke of Portland Boathouse. For us, the primary issue is value for money spent, as well as the spiders, of course (more about that later). We planned our stay in the boathouse as a relaxing time in luxury for the last few days of our six week vacation in Great Britain. The place is clean, well stocked and comfortable. However we were expecting more for the over 300 quid a night that we spent. On our vacation, we used B&Bs; and rental cottages and never paid more than 140 quid per night. Some of the places were as large as than the boathouse and included special touches such as fresh flowers, home baked cake to greet us etc. All of them were clean, well stocked and comfortable. So the issue comes down to whether the location on the water is worth more than 150 pounds per day. In our case, the answer is 'not really'. Now, the spiders: This is a boathouse on the water & as such, spiders are a given. However, what is avoidable is having windows that preclude the installation of screens. I am sure that not all the spiders come in through the windows, but when we kept all the windows closed all day and night, we did not find any spiders inside. However, who wants to keep the windows closed all day? It seems to me that with really quite minimal outlay, the problem could be significantly reduced. In a luxury rental, it should already have been done. The cute note about 'Harry the spider' and how he (and his relatives) like to come inside wasn't much help either.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of The Duke of Portland Boathouse We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay at this property. The Duke of Portland Boathouse is one of the most iconic and most photographed and painted buildings in the Lake District National Park. The fantastic scenery, perfect location and interior design are part of the main attraction for this property. The Boathouse is located on water, and as such will attract wildlife and insects. Due to the nature and design of the Boathouse, screens may not currently be appropriate. However, your comments regarding screens have been passed to the owners for their information. We do advise all guests to contact the office as soon as possible if they have any problems with their property. Had we been made aware of the issues raised above, we would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay at the Boathouse was made as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We hope that these issues did not detract from your overall enjoyment of this property and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

“Absolutely fabulous - the perfect romantic setting”

Reviewed 12 Aug 2013

My husband and I had the perfect long weekend here. The boathouse is beautifully decorated, with ample room for the 2 of us and our bikes. It was idyllic waking up with the dawn chorus to see the swallows and swifts dipping in and out of their nest in the eaves, and the sun rising on the lake. I cannot wait to come back

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on the Duke of Portland Boathouse. Your review was a pleasure to read and we are pleased to hear that you had a perfect weekend in this beautiful property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

Review 1-10 of 60

Also consider

Penrith

64 properties

Appleby

51 properties

Kirkby Stephen

33 properties

Ravenstonedale

17 properties

Orton

10 properties

Greystoke

7 properties

Pooley Bridge

7 properties

Start a new search