from $325 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 5 bedroom house in McHenry today! A total of 14 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 12 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2273 to as high as $6638, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Jul 16, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
- Calendar last updated:
- 16 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Mchenry,-maryland Attractions
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Smoking allowed
– based on 12 reviews
- Very Good
“had a Damm good time”
I have been comeing to Deep Creek for the last four years,and I will keep coming,I have time to relax, have fun, eat good, and enjoy my family and friends. thanks Deep Creek see you next year
Choosing and reserving a house through Railey is a breeze. Their website has every piece of information you could need when looking for a vacation rental in Deep Creek, and the agents are friendly and helpful. Big Sky is conveniently located on Wisp Mountain, and for winter skiiers, just a short walk from the slopes. In the fall, while the view is limited, you can still get a good view of the foliage, but no lake view. This house is on the corner of the main road leading up the mountain and one of the entrances to the neighborhood, which makes for less privacy than we prefer with busy weekend traffic constantly coming and going by. The main level LR & DR sliders have no drapes, so at night, car headlights shine in, and in the morning, so does the bright rising sun. We enjoyed the 4 master suites, perfect for 4 couples, and the beds were very comfortable with quality comforters. The showers were good, and newer kitchen appliances, but was lacked adequate flatware and food prep utensils. The LR furniture provided lots of comfy seating, however, the LR TV was an obsolete tube tv on its last breath which was disappointing when you want to relax with a movie. (Hopefully, by the time you read this it will have been replaced with a new flat screen!)In all, with a few tweaks, this very nice house could be great, particularly for ski season.
Breathtaking!!!i'm not kidding, the view from up on the mountain,the walk & the bike ride up as well.We enjoyed the entire stay at Big sky.The check in & a few minor maintainance issues went smooth.The house has an open floor plan which we really liked,bedrooms were spacious for everyone.We all agreed the house, the corner lot with no other houses next to it gave us privacy we like. It was easy to find, top of the hill & it's on the right.There is a lot to do if you want,or you can chill at the house and play pool,cards,relax in the hot tub or whatever.We enjoyed everything about Big sky & Deep Creek,it's only 2.5 hour drive for us and it has everything we like to do on a vacation.This was our first time to Deep Creek and we plan to make another trip down soon, maybe in October... we bet the fall is really nice.
“met our expectations”
Great location...nice and cozy home. The only complaint is concerning the heat on 3rd floor. Guests that resided on the 3rd floor were uncomfortable at night due to lack of heat that made its way to this level. Even after putting out the fireplace thinking this may have been the culprit, no such luck. Because of this I can't give an excellent rating.
“Nice House, but some things were very disappointing”
Big Sky is a nice home that needs some work on its kitchen. The range and oven worked only sporadically, the flatware and pots and pans were barely enough and/or unusable. The toaster did not work. The kitchen was not very clean. There was a lot of dust in various areas of the home. The fireplaces both had something wrong with the flue hinges so the home filled up with smoke even though the flues were open. Fortunately, your service person came quickly, twice for both fireplaces, and fixed the problem immediately. The cable for the televisions was disappointing, as were the televisions themselves. We picked the home primarily because of its size and because it said "big screen tvs with extended cable." Well, there were no big screen tvs and no extended cable, which was disappointing on Thanksgiving with the crowd we had (loves football). That being said, many aspects of the home were perfect and enjoyable. I think the view is a little easy to misinterpret from your photos. The view was obsured by the homes across the street. Also, the hot tub is in the front of the house with no privacy screen or any type of separation from the street, which was very odd and caused people not to want to use it. Thank you for this opportunity to share our experience. We would not return to Big Sky again.
Response from the manager Thank you for staying with us and letting us know about your experience at Big Sky. We apologize that you experienced issues with the home. After checking our description of the home on our website and past rental brochures, we were unable to find that Big Sky listed big screen TVs as an amenity. The home did switch from extended cable to basic cable before your arrival, and our website was updated immediately to reflect the change. We are sorry Big Sky was not the experience you were looking for in a vacation home and hope that you will return and stay with us again. Our reservation specialists would be more than happy to match you to a home that meets your needs.
“I've had much better”
Big Sky was a nice house overall; however, it could use some updating. I personally would not re-rent this property. Cudos to the staff that cleans the property :)...this just was not the house for me.
“We will definately rent Big Sky again!”
Great layout, view and accessibilty to fun stuff on the moutain. Quiet and fun with kids. Would rent again.
We have been staying at Big Sky for the past 3 tears. Overall the house is very nice, however this year there were a few issues 1) The pots and pans really need to be updated. We found them to be warped and had old food still on most of the pots and pans. 2) There was no firewood in the house and it took a while for Railey to respond. We were told they were short staffed and would get to it as soon as they could. Overall neither one of these things adversely affected our stay. The property is still very nice and it is close to the slopes.
“Ants in the kitchen!”
Big Sky is a very nice home, good lay-out, two car garage. We traveled with a 7 month old baby who was just learning to crawl. Needless to say, the ant problem in the kitchen/dining area caused us some anxious moments. The problem was addressed by Railey Mountain Lake Vacations in a timely manner, but the ants remained with us until Thursday of our one week stay.
“Beautiful, spacious home”
I have rented many homes from Railey over the years and I have enjoyed every home we have stayed in thus far. Big Sky was tastefully decorated and centrally located to all the lake activities. The only thing we disliked was the house wasn't very clean. The floors, bathrooms and kitchen countertops were very dirty.