Description from manager
Description from manager
2 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 5 bedroom house in Duck today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 22 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $900 to as high as $3000, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 17, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
Outer Banks Blue
- Calendar last updated:
- 17 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- Check in time:04:00, Check out time:10:00
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Duck,-north-carolina Attractions
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Smoking allowed
- 2 Unknown types
– based on 22 reviews
- Very Good
We had a wonderful time. Now I do have some recommendations. The mattress in the bedroom by the bath down stairs was terrible. My daughter is still having problems from sleeping in a hole in the middle of bed. It just pulls you down and both people are falling to middle. It is enough of a problem that we would not consider the home next year. Also we fixed the gate. It needs a new post. It would also be nice to have a beach umbrella and some chairs available to use. The electricity was not working in half of the house and we got it fixed after the weekend. We also missed the nice coffeepot that was there the year before. All in all we had a wonderful vacation.
This was my family's first time visiting the Outer banks. We loved the house and it's location with regards to the proximity of the beach. The pool was also very nice. We've been renting vacation homes for the past 25 years, this was the first home we've rented that was really bare bones. Not even a sponge or detergent to wash the dishes. Of course you have to buy groceries and toiletries but here we had to buy everything but the kitchen sink. Another huge turn off when on vacation is having a terrible nights sleep because of the beds... the beds seriously need to be updated. There wasn't one bedroom with a comfortable bed. I don't remember the last time we rented a home that didn't have flat screen televisions. Need to upgrade. The blender didn't work, the toaster only worked on one side. It's a great house, on a great location... just need to upgrade and think about at least supplying salt & pepper. :)
Response from the manager Dear Hebecker8, Thanks for your review of Tornquist. This vacation rental home is conveniently located in Duck, and we love the pool at this house too. Sorry to hear about your comments regarding the deficiencies of the property particularly the beds and televisions. We will be sure to pass this information along to the homeowners. We do not supply anything more than the starter supply of diswash detergent, toilet paper, and paper towels. We apologize that you were unaware of this. We do of course provide all the sheets and towels (beds made too) at no extra charge, but we've just never had a demand for more than a starter supply of items. Thanks again for your feedback. We look foward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!
“We had a wonderful time in this house and it had everything we n”
We have stayed in this house for 2 years and love it. There is plenty of room in the spacious house and it has 2 great wrap around decks. It is close to the beach and a short walk to the bay and shops. The pool and hot tub were a must! The house was spotless when we arrived and the keyless entry was great. Only thing missing was a picnic table for outside.
“Great location but needs a good cleaning and some updates”
We had several problems with our stay that were unfortunate... We had an ant problem, the air conditioning broke mid-week and when we first got there the place was dirty...not how you want to start a vacation! The house was nice but in need of a major deep cleaning. Our disappointment with cleanliness was due to the fact that the cleaning service left spilled food in the fridge, dead bugs on the window sills, the bathrooms had not been cleaned and we found several things left behind from last visitors...like prescriptions in the bathroom drawers. The pool was great...bigger than most. Mixed emotions on this one...probably would't recommend unless you knew some staring changes were made with cleaners.
Response from the manager Ms. Kandel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on "Tornquist." As you can see by the other reviews on this property we are not used to seeing something less than very good regarding this property. It would seem your largest concern was with cleanliness, but unfortunately we never heard from you during your stay so these issues could not be resolved during your stay. The house did in fact have a deep clean done just a few weeks prior to your stay, but of course the houses are heavily used during guest stays and require a great deal of effort to clean properly. It is not an easy job to leave the property in a condition such that it looks like no one has ever used the property (week after week). We can assure you that the house was fully cleaned prior to your stay and the items you point out now could have been corrected in the matter of a few minutes. The ant issue was of course called in to us and we had an exterminator dispatched to the property to correct the issue the same day you called. The a/c that broke actually was just the matter of a less than 5 minute services call as the problem was a tripped circuit breaker which does happen when renting another person's home. We think in retrospect you would agree that "Tournquist" is an excellent value in a super location and your review is slightly over dramatic. Our other guests in this property have consistently said that this house is a great value and so the house rarely has openings for new guests.
“We Love Tornquist”
Tornquist is an absolutely wonderful beach house. There is so much room, a huge kitchen, the most wonderful pool...best you will ever have and a great hot tub. Our family had a wonderful time! We had a Keurig coffee maker!!! Our favorite. Reason for a couple of less than five stars is that some mattresses need updating as well as a some of the pans in the kitchen. Other than that it is perfect!!!
“The house was nice!”
The house was nice but things could have been updated and cleaned better. Good location not far from the shops and the beach.
the proximaity to beach is excellent as well as proximity to town of Duck. Liked keyless entry and beds made, towels provided. House needs a little updating but has all the necessities.
The outside of the house is mildly deceptive, but the inside is pretty good. The house is very nicely kept and labelling everything in the house was definitely a plus. The pool gave us a bit of trouble with the jets, but the pool guy came over quick to fix it in under 30 mins. Overall a great time, very short walk to the beach as well.
“We had another great vacation at this house!”
We love this house because it has plenty of room for our family of 8. The distance to the beach is fantastic, we love the location in Duck. We can walk to shopping and dinner. We also enjoy the pool because we've got young children ages 5,2, and 1. We can stroll down to the beach and come back and jump in the pool, bake in the sun, and hang out on the nice deck. We love not having a key. The keypad is great. This is our 2nd year at this house and likely will always be our house every year. We only wish we could get free internet. That is the only downside really. Oh, the price is the best we've seen. That is the main reason we choose this home. The price can't be beat by any other house or company that we've investigated and for the location and all of the amenities, nothing can compare.
“Beautiful and Spacious”
Tornquist was our best rental so far. We have stayed at others and this had to be the most spacious and well layed out so far. With a total of 4 adults and 4 kids- there was not one time where we were on top of each other. Definately considering on reserving for next year. Not a problem for the kids to walk to the beach or walking downtown shopping. The pool was tops for all of us - as it was really hot. Thank you for a very clean and cozy home.