Need more information about booking Property 2042565 ?
From $129 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 5 / Bathrooms 2 / Sleeps 12 / House
Bedrooms: 5  Bathrooms: 2   Sleeps: 12  Type: House

2 Unknown types

TripAdvisor property ID 2042565

More Property Details

Book this 5 bedroom house in Duck today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 22 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $900 to as high as $3000, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 17, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Outer Banks Blue
Calendar last updated:
17 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:04:00, Check out time:10:00
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Duck,-north-carolina Attractions




  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub


  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 2 Unknown types


Reviews (22)

Very Good – based on 22 reviews Very Good
22 reviews

Very Good

“family fun!!!”

Reviewed 19 Jul 2013

We had a wonderful time. Now I do have some recommendations. The mattress in the bedroom by the bath down stairs was terrible. My daughter is still having problems from sleeping in a hole in the middle of bed. It just pulls you down and both people are falling to middle. It is enough of a problem that we would not consider the home next year. Also we fixed the gate. It needs a new post. It would also be nice to have a beach umbrella and some chairs available to use. The electricity was not working in half of the house and we got it fixed after the weekend. We also missed the nice coffeepot that was there the year before. All in all we had a wonderful vacation.

“Great location...”

Reviewed 18 Jul 2013

This was my family's first time visiting the Outer banks. We loved the house and it's location with regards to the proximity of the beach. The pool was also very nice. We've been renting vacation homes for the past 25 years, this was the first home we've rented that was really bare bones. Not even a sponge or detergent to wash the dishes. Of course you have to buy groceries and toiletries but here we had to buy everything but the kitchen sink. Another huge turn off when on vacation is having a terrible nights sleep because of the beds... the beds seriously need to be updated. There wasn't one bedroom with a comfortable bed. I don't remember the last time we rented a home that didn't have flat screen televisions. Need to upgrade. The blender didn't work, the toaster only worked on one side. It's a great house, on a great location... just need to upgrade and think about at least supplying salt & pepper. :)

Response from the manager Dear Hebecker8, Thanks for your review of Tornquist. This vacation rental home is conveniently located in Duck, and we love the pool at this house too. Sorry to hear about your comments regarding the deficiencies of the property particularly the beds and televisions. We will be sure to pass this information along to the homeowners. We do not supply anything more than the starter supply of diswash detergent, toilet paper, and paper towels. We apologize that you were unaware of this. We do of course provide all the sheets and towels (beds made too) at no extra charge, but we've just never had a demand for more than a starter supply of items. Thanks again for your feedback. We look foward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!

“We had a wonderful time in this house and it had everything we n”

Reviewed 27 Aug 2012

We have stayed in this house for 2 years and love it. There is plenty of room in the spacious house and it has 2 great wrap around decks. It is close to the beach and a short walk to the bay and shops. The pool and hot tub were a must! The house was spotless when we arrived and the keyless entry was great. Only thing missing was a picnic table for outside.

“Great location but needs a good cleaning and some updates”

Reviewed 5 Aug 2012

We had several problems with our stay that were unfortunate... We had an ant problem, the air conditioning broke mid-week and when we first got there the place was dirty...not how you want to start a vacation! The house was nice but in need of a major deep cleaning. Our disappointment with cleanliness was due to the fact that the cleaning service left spilled food in the fridge, dead bugs on the window sills, the bathrooms had not been cleaned and we found several things left behind from last prescriptions in the bathroom drawers. The pool was great...bigger than most. Mixed emotions on this one...probably would't recommend unless you knew some staring changes were made with cleaners.

Response from the manager Ms. Kandel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on "Tornquist." As you can see by the other reviews on this property we are not used to seeing something less than very good regarding this property. It would seem your largest concern was with cleanliness, but unfortunately we never heard from you during your stay so these issues could not be resolved during your stay. The house did in fact have a deep clean done just a few weeks prior to your stay, but of course the houses are heavily used during guest stays and require a great deal of effort to clean properly. It is not an easy job to leave the property in a condition such that it looks like no one has ever used the property (week after week). We can assure you that the house was fully cleaned prior to your stay and the items you point out now could have been corrected in the matter of a few minutes. The ant issue was of course called in to us and we had an exterminator dispatched to the property to correct the issue the same day you called. The a/c that broke actually was just the matter of a less than 5 minute services call as the problem was a tripped circuit breaker which does happen when renting another person's home. We think in retrospect you would agree that "Tournquist" is an excellent value in a super location and your review is slightly over dramatic. Our other guests in this property have consistently said that this house is a great value and so the house rarely has openings for new guests.

“We Love Tornquist”

Reviewed 28 Sep 2011

Tornquist is an absolutely wonderful beach house. There is so much room, a huge kitchen, the most wonderful you will ever have and a great hot tub. Our family had a wonderful time! We had a Keurig coffee maker!!! Our favorite. Reason for a couple of less than five stars is that some mattresses need updating as well as a some of the pans in the kitchen. Other than that it is perfect!!!

“The house was nice!”

Reviewed 18 Aug 2011

The house was nice but things could have been updated and cleaned better. Good location not far from the shops and the beach.

“great location”

Reviewed 11 Aug 2011

the proximaity to beach is excellent as well as proximity to town of Duck. Liked keyless entry and beds made, towels provided. House needs a little updating but has all the necessities.

“Great House”

Reviewed 10 Aug 2011

The outside of the house is mildly deceptive, but the inside is pretty good. The house is very nicely kept and labelling everything in the house was definitely a plus. The pool gave us a bit of trouble with the jets, but the pool guy came over quick to fix it in under 30 mins. Overall a great time, very short walk to the beach as well.

“We had another great vacation at this house!”

Reviewed 12 Jul 2010

We love this house because it has plenty of room for our family of 8. The distance to the beach is fantastic, we love the location in Duck. We can walk to shopping and dinner. We also enjoy the pool because we've got young children ages 5,2, and 1. We can stroll down to the beach and come back and jump in the pool, bake in the sun, and hang out on the nice deck. We love not having a key. The keypad is great. This is our 2nd year at this house and likely will always be our house every year. We only wish we could get free internet. That is the only downside really. Oh, the price is the best we've seen. That is the main reason we choose this home. The price can't be beat by any other house or company that we've investigated and for the location and all of the amenities, nothing can compare.

“Beautiful and Spacious”

Reviewed 11 Sep 2009

Tornquist was our best rental so far. We have stayed at others and this had to be the most spacious and well layed out so far. With a total of 4 adults and 4 kids- there was not one time where we were on top of each other. Definately considering on reserving for next year. Not a problem for the kids to walk to the beach or walking downtown shopping. The pool was tops for all of us - as it was really hot. Thank you for a very clean and cozy home.

Review 1-10 of 22

Also consider

Outer Banks

1,269 properties

Topsail Island

724 properties

Emerald Isle

590 properties


477 properties

Kill Devil Hills

165 properties


147 properties

Hatteras Island

86 properties

Atlantic Beach

73 properties

Kure Beach

71 properties

Indian Beach

65 properties


58 properties

Pine Knoll Shores

56 properties

Oak Island

53 properties

Sneads Ferry

50 properties

Bald Head Island

47 properties


18 properties


14 properties

New Bern

14 properties


9 properties

Holden Beach

9 properties

Start a new search