Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 3 bedroom house in Big Bear Region today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a dishwasher among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 12 reviews.
The manager responds to 90% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 23, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Big Bear Vacations
Big Bear Vacations
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 23 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Big-bear-reg Attractions
- Satellite TV
- Smoking allowed
– based on 12 reviews
- Very Good
“Oh what a vacation:))”
We really enjoyed our stay. My family & I go to big bear at least twice a year. Not so much for the skiing but just to get away & enjoy the mountains and fresh air. For the most part our cabin & vacation was very nice. The accomendations were plenty for a group of 8. A few items do need to be addressed in this cabin such as window coverings, the majority of blinds don't work so that prevents you from enjoying the view. Housekeeping "must" get in there and take care of all the spider Webbs!!(ugh) don't expect to have use of the hot tub because it's falling apart & there is a very very small noticed posted by the back door that informs: "not for guest use".(Bigbear vacations should disclose that when booking cabin). Other than that I would recommend this cabin only if the following items were to be taken care of.
Response from the manager We appreciate your input on Starview Chalet. Unfortunately, it is common during the winter here in the San Bernardino National Forest to experience difficulties with spider webs. This is simply because spiders will hide while people are cleaning removing spider webs. Though once house keeping leaves a home, they are less inhibited and will come back out to create more webs. Additionally, the spa that is in the home is not one of the advertised amenities, which is why the notice is posted. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and hope to help you with your future vacation plans.
“My family and I had a great time at the Starview Chalet!”
I decided to rent the Starview Chalet over the Labor Day weekend to spend some time with my family in California. It was a beautiful cabin with plenty of room for all of us and our three dogs, and a nice break from the arizona heat! We had a wonderful stay, though the back yard was a little messy and the hot tub was closed. All in all, it was a great time, and I would love to do it again!
Our family loved the Starview Chalet! The pictures on internet do not do the property justice! The cabin was so cute, we loved the way it was decorated. The living room was big with two couches, kitchen was good size. Although we did not venture out, the back yard was a large and fenced in. The master bedroom had a queen size bed with an attached bathroom. The other two bedrooms were good sized, easily sleeping a couple each. The "loft" area is up above the garage and the garage is detached from the house with no bathroom, so that was a bit of an inconvenience but workable. The only "complaints" was that the bedrooms walls were dirty and appeared to be smeared with something from little children's noses and the floors were "creaky"-but hey it's a rental! Our family loved it. We had 6 adults and three children stay for the weekend and had a great time. Would absolutely stay here again! Very happy with the service provided by the staff, one night the heater was not working, they came right out and fixed it with no problems whatsoever!!!
Response from the manager Tahnk you for responding to our survey. We will definitely check the kids room walls. We are glad we got the heater working for you quickly. We want you to come back again.
“Looks can be deceiving.”
The house itself was cute.The size was perfect for our group.We enjoyed our stay for the most part.We did have concerns.Hate to complain,but,we have rented cabins before for a lot less price wise that were much more equip as far as the kitchen was concerned.The twin beds above the garage in the game room were much to be desired.If two teenage boys can't even sleep in them because they springs were jabbing them and woke up sore and stiff,you know the beds are bad.The master bedroom's was not much better,it was extremely firm.The house needed some maintenance big time.The blinds throughout the house, if you could open them without pieces falling off,were tough to adjust.Fear of breaking them any further,the ones that we got opened and pulled up,we left.The curtain rod in the master bedroom was broke and the curtains were hanging off,when I went to try and lift them up the valance fell on me.The towel rod in the master bathroom was broken.The master bathroom door did not close nor did the bedroom door.We had to call the office to find out how to turn on the showers.One of the panel that covers the lights in the kitchen were MIa,kind of tacky looking.The floors,oh man, anytime someone had to use the rest room at night it woke the whole house up,no joke.The cleanliness wasn't much better.There were cobwebs hanging from the bedroom lamps(which one of the lamps was burnt out)as well as the lamp in the living room.Cobwebs lived in the corners throughout the house.We had to wash dishes we pulled out of the cupboards.We were informed before we arrived that the spa was broke and the owner chose not to fix it,which was kind of a bummer,but after staying there,they need to focus on other issues as well if they want to charge the prices they are charging.If these things were to be taken care of,it maybe worth a stay again.But as it was when we got there, no,it was not worth it.
Response from the manager Thank you for responding to our survey. We will replace the florscent light cover in the kitchen. We will recheck all the lamps and blinds. we have labeled the bathrooms on how to turn on the shower. Traverse rods do bend easily and we replaced the one in th Master bedroom. We have made sure the house is clean. We will bring any mattress issues to owner if they can't be corrected. We are sorry for any inconveience this issues caused you.
The cabin was just as advertised. The staff at check in were very helpful We had a great time and would love to come visit again.
“great from start to finish”
first of all let me start by saying i knew i was on vacation when i met the freindly staff when i first checked in, great bunch of kids kudos verrrry helpfull kudos to them!!! for the home i rented could not be better clean very well maintained plenty of towels and of course very quiet , & restfull will definetly go there again
The service provided by Big Bear Vacations was very good. Jackie (I didn't get her last name) was very helpful in finding a home for us. The three bedroom (and a loft) was enough room for the 11 people in the group (adults and kids included). It was very clean and with all the essentials working (heating, water, lights, etc.) The fridge was very clean, the pots, pans, plates were all very clean and complete. Though our stay was really short, we had a very relaxing stay at Starview. We highly recommend the home.
Just okay stay for us. We had 5 adults, three who skied and two who just wanted to hang out with the dog by the fire. We stayed for 3 days during the holiday break. Many of the things we didn't like are probably a moot point in the summer time. Description of house on website was not complete. The garage is detached and not available for use by renters (our misunderstanding). Above the garage there is pool table and some beds but we did not end up using it much. We were under impression everything was under one roof so that was a disappointment. Also, "full kitchen" does not mean they have every sized pan or cooking essential. Many of the kitchen items needed replacement. If you are planning a family reunion with cooked meals at the cabin, bring your own basic essentials. House condition - It must have snowed after previous reviewer. Walkways and driveways were not plowed thoroughly, walkway/deck to Jacuzzi not shoveled so couldn't get to it without walking on 2 ft of ice/snow. Driveway was supposed to allow three cars and could barely fit two because of the snow. Floors (carpeted) creaked very loudly in all parts of house. Carpet on bathroom floors is a pet peeve, sorry, hygiene issue. Water temperature control was issue. You either burned yourself on hot water or it was icy cold. Master shower knob was broken. I agree with other review that tv/dvd equipment could have been simplified. Positives-bedrooms were large and comfortable, fireplace was nice and flow of house was good. Fenced backyard was bonus when traveling with a dog. Central heating a blessing, room heaters too. Overall feeling - had towels and small bottles of shampoo and soap but it lacked the feeling of a home. Place was void of small things that would have made me feel welcome - basics of paper towels, facial tissues, spices (you get the idea). We left paper towels, tissues, some pantry items etc for the next guest. We probably would not rent again.
Our family had a four night stay over the Christmas holiday. There was snow on the ground but not enough to be concerned about shoveling or plowing. The backyard was fenced for our dogs, and the living room was large enough for all members to relax in. The heating system worked perfectly, the beds were comfortable, and all the plumbing functioned as required. We didn't have the opportunity/need for the hot tub or the washer/dryer so I cannot comment on those items. There were a couple items that could have been addressed, but they were minor. There were a few light bulbs that needed replacing, the shower curtains are ready for a good cleaning (mildew present), a problem foot rest on one of the recliners, and using the TV/DVD requires more understanding than I was willing to devote-even with the instructions. I'd suggest simplifying the wiring and amount of equipment as well as provide a larger TV. But all in all the house was perfect for our needs.
This was a great place the only problem was the plumbing was too loud and we would have like the neighborhood to be more secluded. On the map it didn't appear to be a busy street, but we still enjoyed the stay.