Need more information about booking Property 2050656 ?
from $118 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Sleeps 4 / Cottage
Bedrooms: 2  Sleeps: 4  Type: Cottage
TripAdvisor property ID 2050656

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom cottage in Ambleside today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 39 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $503 to as high as $864, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 19, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Ambleside Attractions




  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (39)

Very Good – based on 39 reviews Very Good
39 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Enjoyable stay”

Reviewed 12 Apr 2014

The cottage was lovely, well situated within ambleside. Facilities were good, all you would need in a kitchen. The shower and bathrooms were excellent, having two toilets is a bonus if you have a full house. One of the mattresses is a bit soft(if you have a bad back)but we just chose the other room. The welcome pack was a thoughtful touch and the scones were delicious. People have mentioned the signs in the house but did not bother us (as we had read the reviews). Visitors need to look after the cottage, and if a small minority are not respectful and break stuff then the owners are entitled to put a few notices up. The clock being padlocked to the wall made us laugh but if someone is sleeping downstairs then can understand why someone would want to remove it- as it ticks very loudly- the battery is easy to pop out careful without removing it from the wall. Parking in ambleside is a nightmare generally, the parking permit was great but it is a bit like cat and mouse trying to park in the street it is valid for . We went in March, heaven knows what it would be like in summer (parking)!!! Would come back and stay in the future, but probably not the summer as the price would go up quite a lot.

Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to tell us your feedback of your stay at Church Cottage, Ambleside. We are pleased you liked the location of the property, found the kitchen to be well equipped for your stay and enjoyed the welcome pack provided. Lakes Cottage Holidays are delighted to hear you would return to Church Cottage, Ambleside and Lakes Cottage Holidays looks forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Delightful & Homely, Cosy & Comfortable, Just Perfect for us! Hi”

Reviewed 15 Feb 2014

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and was greeted by a lovely cosy Cottage. A basket of wood to make the fire up and a Hamper with essentials and treats waiting for us.The Cottage was clean and had everything we could possibly need. The Bedrooms were comfortable and the Bathrooms quite modern.We felt we were in the heart of ambleside with everything around us Shops,Cafe's Restaurants,Cinema, Pubs and the most delightful location for some wondrous walks!We were Lucky to be able to bring with us our Dog and despite this being a Dog Friendly Cottage We couldn't find a trace of Dogs ever being there!We had everything on our Doorstop and everything provided for, to make our stay one to remember and We can't wait to come back.!! Can not Fault the Location Service and the Cottage!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Church Cottage. We are delighted you found the property clean, cosy and comfortable for your stay. We are glad to hear you took advantage of the location of the cottage within Ambleside. Lakes Cottage Holidays looks forward to welcoming you back to Church Cottage! Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Great location but cottage a little tired.”

Reviewed 18 Dec 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to re visit. This cottage is in an excellent location but we found that nothing had changed at all in two years. The cottage is in need of a little TLC and needs a bit of updating. Otherwise a great stay

Response from the manager Thank you of your review of your stay at Church Cottage, Ambleside. We are pleased you decided to return to Church Cottage and enjoyed the location of the property. Lakes Cottage Holidays would like to welcome you to one of Lakes Cottage Holidays properties in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“looks nicer in the photos than reality”

Reviewed 7 Dec 2013

the positives the cottage has a lovely log fire is dog friendly and is central to all of amblesides amenities and is comfortable. however it is in need of a really good clean and paint.the tiles and cooker in the kitchen are greasy the skirting boards where dirty and walls where scuffed the heating is locked on a timer so you cannot have the heating on when you want and until you get the fire going the cottage was cold.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Church Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wood burning stove and the location of the property in Ambleside. Regarding the other issues, according to Lakes Cottage Holidays records, we were not contacted during your stay regarding the cleanliness of the property or the heating so we were unable to try and rectify any issues during your stay. I have passed on your comments to the owner and they have advised that the property is cleaned thoroughly after every guest. The heating is not locked on timed and there is an instruction booklet in the property telling guests how to use the heating should they want to change the timer. The owners telephone numbers are also provided in the property should any guest have a problem or any issues with the property on arrival or during their stay. On this occasion they were not informed of any issues. The owners redecorate the property at the start of every year and this will be carried out again in early 2014. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“great location, could be cleaner!”

Reviewed 18 Nov 2013

great location for a holiday cottage in the centre of ambleside. Perhaps the interior (kitchen especially) is getting a "tired". cleanliness was average (could have been better. A hamper was provided on arrival which was a nice surprise!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Church Cottage, Ambleside. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of the property and the welcome pack provided by the owner. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Church Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“A lovely cosy well equiped cottage”

Reviewed 27 Sep 2013

I recently stayed in Church Cottage with my daughter, son-in-law, grandson and two dogs and found it most comfortable, cosy and well equiped. It is centrally placed in ambleside which means it is easy to walk to the local shops, restaurants and cinemas. One minor problem was the key safe which I wasn't able to close. The staff were most helpful when my daughter and family arrived a little early.

Response from the manager Thank you for feedback for your recent stay at Church Cottage, Ambleside. We are pleased you have found the property well-equipped for your needs and enjoyed the location of Church Cottage during your holiday. We hope to welcome you back to Church Cottage or another of Lakes Cottage Holidays properties in the near future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays. 017687 74060

“Great Location , very well equiped cottage. Love it !!”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2013

We have stayed here 3 times now, Could not be better located , right in the centre of ambleside, literally 2 minutes walk to all the shops, pubs and restaurants . Cottage is very well equiped and the extra shower room is a welcome additon the shower is a really good one. All towels were provided and thee is always a wonderful welcome basket on arrival. Love the fact it has a seperate washer and dryer, if you are walkers you will appreciate the facilities of this little cottage has to offer and as dog lovers its nice to find a cottage of this standard that excepts dogs. ,Ambleside is a gorgeous little village , my favourite in all of the lakes, its a perfect base for walkers and tourists alike, this little village is full of pubs and has some very good eateries so you dont have to drive out, Lucys, Sheilas, and the Jitranta Thai are paticulary good. Little Gem this one !!!

“A week in Church Cottage in ambleside”

Reviewed 22 Jun 2013

The location of Church Cottage was excellent being so close to the shops and restaurants.Our stay at Church Cottage was very good and felt very cottage like in a very friendly location but for a couple niggling points. There was a very poor selection of cooking utentils and the only frying pan had a very loose handle which made using it hazardous and it was not very clean. The bottom sheets on both beds were ill-fitting and became unattached from the mattresses during the night which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep which meant both beds had to be stripped each morning to make sure the beds were made properly, Other than these issues we had a very pleasabt week in ambleside,

“Everything you need for a perfect holiday”

Reviewed 21 Jun 2013

My husband and I have been going to amblesude for the past 16 years, staying in many different venues with this being by far one of the best. When we arrived we were met by the lovely friendly owners who made us so welcome. The cottage had everything you could wish for, washer, tumble dryer and dishwasher, even tablets for the dishwasher!! The welcome pack was such a lovely gesture with milk, eggs, bread, scones, chocolate cake and tunnocks. It's right smack bang in the middle of town but surprisingly quiet. We went Sat 1st June and were blessed with amazing weather so the fab south facing garden was brilliant, lovely to sit with a glass of wine on an evening. So in short would we go back - yes in an instant , would we reccomend it to you - most definitely.

“Excellence in the Lakes”

Reviewed 14 Jun 2013

Classic well appointed period cottage, centrally located for everything all at the right price. The owners could not be more helpful, a pleasure to deal with such nice people. Wi-Fi available across the road at the cafe belonging to the owners.

Review 1-10 of 39

Also consider

Lake District

1,199 properties


60 properties


59 properties

Kirkby Lonsdale

30 properties

Troutbeck Bridge

28 properties


26 properties


23 properties


23 properties

Newby Bridge

17 properties


15 properties


15 properties


14 properties


14 properties


12 properties


9 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Start a new search