Need more information about booking Property 2117124 ?
from $136 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Cottage
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 2  Type: Cottage
TripAdvisor property ID 2117124

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom cottage in Pooley Bridge today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 22 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $541 to as high as $928, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Pooley-bridge Attractions




  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (22)

Very Good – based on 22 reviews Very Good
22 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Beautiful cottage”

Reviewed 16 Mar 2014

Such a lovely cottage - beautifully furnished throughout. And such a peaceful little spot - hardly any traffic passing throughout the day so perfect for long lie-ins!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage. We are pleased you thought the property was beautifully furnished and you enjoyed the location of the property. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Blacksmiths Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060


Reviewed 22 Nov 2013

The hot water broke - it did get fixed however we never got a single apology. No welcome pack - there is some information which is very dated that is shut away in a draw. No bin bags provided. The cottage is rather cold - only has storage heaters which you can not alter and there is not one in the bedroom. Nothing terrible about the cottage but overall not a great one (and we have stayed at a few). We had a brilliant week but that was largely down to the splendid Lakes!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Blacksmiths Cottage. We are very sorry that there was an unforeseen circumstance whilst you were at the property that the hot water system was not producing hot water. According to our notes, you called us in the morning and the hot water system was fixed by approximately 2pm the same day. Points raised in reviews are very important to Lakes Cottage Holidays and we have passed on your comments to the owner of the property. The owner lit the fire in the living room for your arrival and there is a radiator in the wardrobe in the bedroom for guest's use for additional heating. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to one of our cottages in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Cosy, comfortable and luxurious”

Reviewed 14 Nov 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this beautifully decorated cottage and very cosy cottage. Views of the fields and hills and fantastic location just a couple of minutes walk from Ullswater. Thoroughly recommended!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Blacksmiths Cottage. We are delighted you have had a fantastic time at the property, enjoyed the views and location that the cottage has to offer. Thank you for recommending this property! Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Blacksmiths Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays properties in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“A charming cottage in an ideal location”

Reviewed 30 Sep 2013

We loved the cottage, it was very cosy downstairs with everything we needed.Upstairs,the bedroom was a nice surprise as it was extremely spacious.The decor throughout was tasteful and it was a pleasure to stay there.The location was great for getting round the lakes,we even ventured into Scotland.It would have been nice to have had a small welcome pack with at least tea,coffee and milk.

Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at the property including the location and the bedroom. We hope to welcome you back to Blacksmiths Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Romantic honeymoon location”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2013

Blacksmiths Cottage is positioned on the edge of Pooley Bridge with views out across open countryside. Although directly adjacent to the road it has it's own private garden, a lovely cottage style garden to the side. Parking is also accommodated for a short distance away. The property appointed internally to a high specification with good quality fixtures and fittings ( John Lewis, Laura ashley ) Blacksmiths Cottage has been well laid out internally and is spacious for two people, with all the comforts of home. For those visiting in the winter months there is also a wood burning stove to ensure warm evenings. All local amenities are within a very short walking distance away ( inclusive of 3 Pubs ) and of course the beautiful Ullswater Lake itself. We would highly recommend Blacksmiths Cottage for couples. We had a great stay and will be sure to return in the future.

“Amazing cottage”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2013

We had a great week at Blacksmiths Cottage, it was so relaxing and the cottage was furnished to a high standard. The location was excellent and we cant wait to go back!


Reviewed 31 Mar 2013

Very cosy cottage,very well equipped and beautifully presented. Excellent location only 10 minutes from Penrith, perfect for walking and access to the steamer and a perfect base for exploring the rest of the Lakes. Good food available in the village. Would definitely go back.

“Cosy cottage in a lovely little town and very accessible to stea”

Reviewed 23 Dec 2012

Very cosy cottage with extrembly comfortable bed, double shower and log burner fire. Arrived on a very cold day and the owners had kindly put fire on and heaters but took a day for the cottage to warm up as been vacant for a week. Plus no hot water but owner did sort out temporary fix. Sofa not so comfortable and missed washing machine especially with cold wet weather and somewhere to store ice for drinks but small points as loved this cottage. Location very accessible for steamer across Ullswater and gateway to stunning walks. Pooley Bridge hotel served amazing food. Everyone extrembly friendly. First experience in the Lakes and very memorable.

“Home from Home”

Reviewed 24 Oct 2012

Lovely Cottage,just right for exploring the lakes,warm and cosy to come home to. Also Pooley bridge not crowded this time of year.

“Realaxing, romantic stay in beautiful cottage in tranquil lakesi”

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were impressed with the business like approach regarding arrangements for our arrival at the cottage. The cottage was beautiful - decorated to a very high standard with a very comfortable bed and a modern bathroom which was clean and well presented. It was lovely looking out of the window at breakfast each morning and seeing the lambs in the field next to the cottage. The only challenges we had were with the heating and hot water as these were pre-programmed and the storage heaters didn't give out very much heat. However, there was wood and coal for the fire and throws in the living room plus a bedspread which meant we were able to stay warm. For those who truly want to self cater the kitchen was small and could benefit from some better quality pots, pans and utensils. Parking was very conveniently located and the village had no shortage of local amenities plus there was a steam boat down to Ullswater only a short walk away. Overall a very enjoyable stay and somewhere we would definitely go again.

Review 1-10 of 22

Also consider


64 properties


51 properties

Kirkby Stephen

33 properties


17 properties


10 properties


7 properties

Pooley Bridge

7 properties

Start a new search