Need more information about booking Property 2117787 ?

from $121 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 3 / Sleeps 6 / Cottage
Bedrooms: 3  Sleeps: 6  Type: Cottage
ROWAN COTTAGE, Grasmere
TripAdvisor property ID 2117787

More Property Details

Book this 3 bedroom cottage in Grasmere today! A total of 6 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $602 to as high as $1165, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 20, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Grasmere Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (13)

Very Good – based on 13 reviews Very Good
13 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
3
Very Good
6
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Beautiful cottage in an excellent location”

Reviewed 24 Mar 2014

We had a wonderful time staying in Rowan Cottage. The cottage itself is warm and cosy with a lovely lounge and comfortable bedrooms. The location is excellent and we were able to walk straight out of the door into the hills or to fantastic pubs and cafes.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Rowan Cottage We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found this property warm and cosy. We hope that we can welcome you back to Rowan Cottage again in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060

“Great location in the centre of Grasmere village”

Reviewed 12 Sep 2013

Spacious and well fitted our, quality accommodation, ideal lake district cottage. We booked it for two adults, two teenagers and their Grandmother and it was perfect. Great to be restful after a good long walk, the walk to the tarn is a good start for those our of practice fell walkers too! The local co-op provides a good range of essentials and enough for meals when you,re not eating out. There are a number of good places to eat our, the small and homely bistro being just next door. We managed to see Wordsworth,s house, took a few long (and dry) walks , went to ambleside and Kendal and took a boat ride on Windermere. All in all a great place, great accommodation and a good holiday

“Excellent upgrade”

Reviewed 19 Jul 2013

We were upgraded to this cottage after the one we had booked in Bowness developed a leak. We certainly got lucky! Rowan Cottage is in a beautiful location and is furnished to a very high standard. I'm not sure I would want to pay the full price as that is very expensive in high season. The one thing the cottage is missing is an outside seating area, that would have made it absolutely perfect.

“comfortable, warm, clean, tasteful and fabulous location.”

Reviewed 21 Apr 2013

Comfortable, warm and clean accommodation in a fabulous part of the lakes. we stayed in low season so didn't experience any noise from local pubs, restaurants or public. It was snowing and the cottage was lovely and warm. the double room with the en-suite is the smallest room and there's no loo in the en-esuite. the other rooms were lovely. lounge was comfy, cosey and tasteful..Great walks from the door, good selection of eating places and lovely gift shops. We will return.Not many places accommodate six adults at these prices

“Strange layout”

Reviewed 24 Oct 2012

The service as usual from Cottage Holiday Group was perfect. The location Grasmere is fantastic, central for good food, shopping and extensive walking. Brilliant scenery and welcoming locals. Unfortunately, for us, the main bedroom was on street level, and not far from a pub which meant noise every night and one night vomiting on the doorstep. Cars starting engines outside may as well have been in the bedroom. The living room and kitchen are upstairs which we never got used to. The main bedroom and living room should really be swapped to provide a more relaxing holiday. The fact that car parking is 200m away, was another thing, but that was easily acceptable. The only other snag was that the upstairs toilet was a bit smelly so we avoided it. All in all, a nice holiday but could have easily been so much nicer. It's too busy a place to have the bedroom downstairs.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on this property. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at this property and for any issues you had during your stay. We do advise guests to contact the office as soon as possible with regards to any problems or issues you may have on your arrival or during your stay. Had we been made aware of your concerns we would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay was made as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The design of "upside down" properties is mainly to take advantage of the scenery/views from the upstairs rooms. We are sorry to hear that this was not to your liking. We are, unfortunately, unable to do anything about any traffic issues you may have had. This property is located away from the centre of Grasmere which should limit any passing traffic noise or disturbance. We hope that the issues you raised above did not detract from your enjoyment of the Lake District and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

“Strange layout”

Reviewed 24 Oct 2012

The service as usual from Cottage Holiday Group was perfect. The location Grasmere is fantastic, central for good food, shopping and extensive walking. Brilliant scenery and welcoming locals. Unfortunately, for us, the main bedroom was on street level, and not far from a pub which meant noise every night and one night vomiting on the doorstep. Cars starting engines outside may as well have been in the bedroom. The living room and kitchen are upstairs which we never got used to. The main bedroom and living room should really be swapped to provide a more relaxing holiday. The fact that car parking is 200m away, was another thing, but that was easily acceptable. The only other snag was that the upstairs toilet was a bit smelly so we avoided it. All in all, a nice holiday but could have easily been so much nicer. It's too busy a place to have the bedroom downstairs.

“Slightly disappointed”

Reviewed 17 Sep 2012

Slightly disappointed given it was supposed to be four star. Property smelled musty and was quite dark inside. Front door opens directly onto a road which is a bit worry with kids, and no outside space. Didnt get off to a good start when key wasn't in the drop box, but company rectified that quickly. Even though we didn't pay full price think here is better value to be had elsewhere.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of this property. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Rowan Cottage. A full description with internal and external photographs of this property can be found on our website. Our office is open 7 days a week and we are also available on live chat should you have any questions or queries regarding any of our properties. Very popular with large families and groups, Rowan Cottage is situated a stones throw from the centre of Grasmere. It forms part of a terrace of substantial mid 19th Century stone built properties with views towards Silver How and Helm Crag. This cottage has been well equipped and renovated with comfortable furnishings and characterful features. We hope that the issues raised in your review did not detract from the enjoyment of your break and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

“nice comfy house, convenient location.”

Reviewed 5 Sep 2011

This was a quaint cottage, very comforatble, in a lovely (quiet)village location,central and convenient for exploring the area.Only a small co-op tho for groceries, but lots of eating places around.It wasn't spotlessly clean - we left it cleaner than we found it. Quite expensive - I expected better for the money. The wi-fi wasn't at all reliable and no hub in the house that we could find (in order to sit next to it...)Only one parking permit was supplied,so some concern over a second car, but for £30 a week you can park in a coucil carpark, or in the school playground outside termtime.A nice cottage tho, just a few things would have made it so much better.

Review 1-10 of 13

Also consider

Lake District

1,489 properties

Bowness-on-Windermere

82 properties

Ulverston

62 properties

Carlisle

39 properties

Kirkby Lonsdale

31 properties

Alston

27 properties

Brampton

24 properties

Silloth

17 properties

Wigton

16 properties

Milnthorpe

15 properties

Allonby

15 properties

Cark

14 properties

Arnside

11 properties

Spark Bridge

10 properties

Mungrisdale

7 properties

Lupton

7 properties

Burton-in-Kendal

7 properties

Allithwaite

6 properties

Kirkby in Furness

6 properties

Start a new search