from $127 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom cottage in Keswick today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 20 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $507 to as high as $871, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 26, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Cottage Holiday Group
Cottage Holiday Group
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 26 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Keswick Attractions
- Smoking allowed
– based on 20 reviews
- Very Good
“Ideally located, comfortable & modern accommodation”
Cannot fault this apartment, situated in the centre of Keswick, within walking distance of restaurants, cafe shops & pubs. Furnished to a high standard , kitchen well equipped.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of St Johns View, Keswick. We are pleased you could not fault this property, with its central location in the popular town of Keswick and the well-equipped kitchen. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to St Johns View or another Lakes Cottage Holiday property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holiday 017687 74060
“St John's View”
It was an excellent flat, so spacious and comfortable. The central location gave us a wide variety of places to eat in the evening, within walking distance. A handle for the elderly getting in and out of the bath would have been great for my elderly relatives. The trip to the car park with all the luggage was hard, since the road outside was too congested to park the car whilst unloading. It was a pity the entrance was so uninviting and the shared stairway so dirty, but once inside the flat it was great.
“Well located stay in spacious, comfortable and clean appartment”
Four adults and a dog had a lovely week in Keswick. The town is so dog friendly. Everything we required was provided at St. John's View, it's spacious, clean and the beds are very comfy, we all enjoyed our stay and would book this accommodation again. It is situated very centrally, over a convenience store, which does have some early morning deliveries but their prices were very competitive, so proved very handy for providing your provisions. You do get some traffic noise and occasional loud passers-by, but we all slept very well despite this and having to have all the windows open wide due to the heat that week. We were provided with a parking permit for the week in a nearby car park, so once unloaded our vehicle was left there and buses were used for transportation (the car driver can appreciate the views too that way) no parking fees, and free travel is available to Bus Pass holders. On collecting the keys from the office, it would have been nice for the staff there to have offered us a map so we could get our bearings on arrival but Moot Hall (ti) is just down the road, so you can pick up that and all other information there.
The apartment was well decorated with everything that you could need. It was a perfect location.
“Great location, well furnished bright property”
A little tricky to find as you enter via an entrance hall that serves two shop units (one a small grocer/deli, the other empty). No lift, stairs up to the property. Quite a spacious property inside with high ceilings and big windows and a high standard of furnishing. Both of the two double bedrooms weren't enormous but were of generous size - felt larger because of big windows etc. On weekend we were there weather was incredibly hot for Keswick (23Cish) and the windows, which took in sun, are done up in a way that you cannot open them - so felt quite hot and a bit stuffy but nothing too bad. Kitchen and bathroom well fitted out. Shower was good. Location was excellent being less than a minute's walk to main square. No immediate car parking, unless you get lucky at a few spaces up the street, although easy to briefly stop outside to drop stuff off and a voucher is provided to free park at local car parks - nearest one abt 6-7 mins walk. Property's not cheap, but would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.
“Very spacious, comfortable flat.”
We very much enjoyed our stay - the flat was very clean and comfortable. As expected there was some early morning noise from the delivery lorries delivering to the shop underneath the flat but we soon got used to it. It was very quiet during the night despite being right in the town centre. Overall we felt the disadvantages were outweighed by the advantages of being in the middle of the town and the close proximity of the lake - 5 minutes walk. The only amenity we really missed was having somewhere outside to sit for breakfast. Would definetly stay there again.
“A cost effective choice”
We chose the apartment because 4 nights was almost as cheap as 3 nights and overall presented good value for money. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.One or two things just made it less suitable for us than other apartments we rent in Keswick. 1. The curtains in the bedroom keep out very little light - no good for a light sleeper. 2. There is not one place in the living room to put down a cup or glass other than the floor - not good with children around. 3. There is no dining table and the breakfast bar stuck behind the door in the kitchen does not compensate. 4. The shop gets early deliveries - not a problem for early risers. Overall, this property offers good value for money.
Response from the manager Thank you for your recent review on St Johns View. We are sorry to read about the issues you encountered on your stay at this delightful property. The owners have taken your comments on board and have now purchased a nest of tables for the living room and are in the process of measuring up for new heavy duty curtains and carpets. We do take all comments and reviews seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to submit your review. We do hope we can welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
“This was not the best experience although we didn't let it spoil”
The service we recieved from Lakes Cottage Holidays in the booking process was excellent. We have stayed in cottages/apartments, with this agency before and they have always been very good, but our stay in St Johns View was not the best experience. There was animal hair under the breakfast bar in the kitchen and in the bathroom, also vomit stains behind the toilet and on the bath panel next to the toilet. The washing machine didn't work and the kitchen pans were unusable making self catering difficult. The location was very central. Easy to get to restaurants, shops, bars and supermarkets. There is a mini supermarket below the apartment and delivery vans arrive in the early hours, although this didn't disturb our stay. I wrote to Lakes Cottage Holidays letting them know about these problems, so that they could put it right for the next visitor. Someone from the company phoned me and said I should have let them know about the problems, but we arrived late Saturday evening and went out to eat and the next day we had already planned a long walk, so didn't pick up on all this until we got back to the apartment late Sunday afternoon. There were cleaning products and a vacuum cleaner, so I cleaned it up myself. The Lady who phoned said she would send a voucher off our next break but this hasn't materialised.
Response from the manager Further to your recent stay in St Johns View, Keswick May I firstly thank you for the letter which you have sent in to us regarding the cleanliness of the apartment and the quality of the pans. The pans have now been replaced and I have spoken to the caretaker about the cleanliness. The caretaker apologises if she missed the vomit and hairs, however, I did explain to her that you told me it was not easy to see it and you understood how she could have easily missed this. Once again thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us that we receive customer feedback regarding the cottages we let, this enables us to make the necessary changes to enable holidaymakers to have an enjoyable and trouble free holiday. I am please to see that you have made a futher booking with our company and have redeamed the voucher which we issued to you. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
After a hitch with the hot water on arriving, the rest of the stay was great.Excellent accomodation for dogs, with laminate and tiled flooring in all but the bedrooms. Downstairs shop really handy for bread, milk etc. Right in the centre of town, so easy access to shops,restaurants and the lake.Found accomodation quiet at night despite being in the town.
“Great weekend away”
The location of the flat wat fantastic and the overall upkeep of the flat was really good, one or two problems that we didnt report whilst we were there that i am hoping from their prompt reply have now been recified