Need more information about booking Property 2117862 ?

from $107 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 2 / Cottage
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 2  Type: Cottage
THE HAYLOFT, Thirlmere
TripAdvisor property ID 2117862

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom cottage in Keswick today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 6 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $455 to as high as $806, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 25, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Cottage Holiday Group
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Keswick Attractions




  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (6)

Average – based on 6 reviews Average
6 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“not even OK”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2013

The hotel described as close by on the site was drab, unwelcoming and did not serve food or drink whilst we were there. There was no view from the windows although the website indicated there was. We will neither return nor recommend the apartment to any friends.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on The Hayloft We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at this very popular property. The views shown on our website state that they are from Dale Head Hall where this property is located. We hope that we can welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

“Great location, quiet and peaceful.”

Reviewed 30 Aug 2013

Great lakeside location and handy for Keswick and Windermere. Lovely and quiet and peaceful. Apartment was clean and comfortable, but very small with only small window and no view. Lacked some 'equipment' eg no kettle, DVD player very basic so couldn't use fast forward or 'scene selection', old microwave that doesn't 'do' seconds. No washing machine. You need to supply basics such as wiping up cloths, hand towels, detergent, toilet paper. So feel this should be cheaper to make up for above. Their other apartments at Dale Head Hall looked much better and we would book one of them next time.

“Bad - to keen to take you money, but not good on service”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2013

We were very disappointed with the booking service. When our on line attempt failed (probably my fault) we sent an e-mail with dates we wanted plus contact details. They rang back to confirm and we thought they were the dates we had put in the e-mail. On checking e-mail a few days later they had booked us in one day earlier. contact with the booking agency and the owners proved fruitless so we ended up forfeiting one day. The pub down the road is a much better option for accommodation, plus the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the food is good.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review on this property. The issues you have raised have now been investigated. We received an online web booking from you at 9.04am on 22nd May. The dates submitted on the booking were for 24th May for 3 nights. We tried to process the payment and confirm the booking but the payment details you submitted were incorrect. We tried to call you at 9.12am the same to day to discuss your payment details. There was no response so an email was sent to you asking you to contact the office urgently. An email was received from you at 10.16am on 22nd requesting availability for the same property for arrival on 25th. You were emailed back at 10.28am stating that we had a provisional booking for you arriving on 24th and requesting that you contact us as soon as possible. We finally managed to speak to you on the phone and your booking details were confirmed before payment was taken. At 11.22am a confirmation email was sent to you confirming your booking for your requested dates of 24th May. We did not hear anything from you again until 8.05pm on 23rd May. You called the office to advise us that your arrival date was for the 25th May and not the 24th May. You were advised at that time that as your booking due date was for the next day we were unable to change the booking for you. We did, however contact the owner of the property to see if we could change your booking but as previously advised this was not possible. We called you the same evening and advised you of the outcome. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during the booking process. However, when a booking is made online by the guest it is assumed that the details input are correct. We tried to contact you several times by telephone and email and the arrival details were confirmed to you at the time of payment. We hope you enjoyed your stay at this property and hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

“Great location for walkers”

Reviewed 18 Oct 2012

I went to this beautiful location in mid September with my boyfriend. As we drove up to the property we were stunned by the natural beauty surrounding it. The apartment itself is a good size. There is not much shelf space, but plenty to hang your things, as well as a separate room in the building opposite for your wet walking gear. There is a reasonable size living/dining/kitchen area, and a bathroom with shower/tub. The only downside was that the heating is not on much, and the flat was pretty cold a lot of the time(and it was pretty cold that week in Sept). As well as there is not heaps of hot water, not enough to fill the tub completely or have a longer shower/or two right after each other. The views you see over the lake are stunning, but all you can see from the window facing it, is the back of the main house, but the small window to the back of the flat looks over the garden which is nice. For those who loves walks. this was great area, from the main garden towards the lake(just around the main house) you have a path straight onto the walking paths around thirlmere lake itself. And you are within a 15min walk to helvellyn. And the owners of the property are more than happy to help, as well as serving food if you book in advance with them. Its within great distance for driving to explore more of what the north has to offer to. Would definitely come back to the area, but perhaps book one of their other suites that overlook the lake.

“very disapointed”

Reviewed 31 May 2012

we left feeling very disappointed with the accomodation at the "hay loft " the brochure indicated the hay loft was situated in the grounds of a luxury lake district hotel,the dale head hotel can not be described as luxury in our opinion. also that the hotel restaurant and bar would be available for our use, this was not the case. the bedroom had no windows as such, only two " sky lights "this was not shown in the brochure due to some " trick " sum up we feel that we have been mis-informed and to a degree mislead.

“Quiet retreat near Keswick”

Reviewed 23 May 2012

The property was exactly as described...the central heating was needed the weekend we were there and made the Hayloft very snug. Owners very helpful with getting wi-fi to work on our laptop...(don't expect 20mbs but fine for light surfing). Only concern was slight lack of cooking bits & pieces and cutlery could do with a really good clean. Idylic setting and good location. Would

Review 1-6 of 6

Also consider

Lake District

1,487 properties


82 properties


61 properties


38 properties

Kirkby Lonsdale

31 properties


27 properties


24 properties


17 properties


16 properties


15 properties


15 properties


14 properties


11 properties

Spark Bridge

10 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Kirkby in Furness

6 properties

Start a new search