Need more information about booking Property 2148900 ?
From $143 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 4 / Bathrooms 3 / Sleeps 8 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Bathrooms: 3   Sleeps: 8  Type: House

3 Unknown types

Dunescrest East
TripAdvisor property ID 2148900

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 18 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $995 to as high as $3095, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Calendar last updated:
21 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Please contact the owner
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions




  • Linen provided


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking - Ask


  • 3 Unknown types


Reviews (18)

Average – based on 18 reviews Average
18 reviews

Very Good

“Myers Family”

Reviewed 2 Jul 2015

We were very pleased with Dunes Crest East. The wicker double chair behind the kitchen table though is unstable and my Mother sat on it and it caved in.

“Unsafe stairs in a house that could use some sprucing up!”

Reviewed 2 Sep 2013

Within 5 minutes of being there one of us fell down the stairs inside becaue they were way too narrow and a hazard. Over the next day 2 more of us slipped and fell. We then used the outside stairs as the main stair case. We also had to get a new coffee pot due to poor cleaning and have the maintenance stop by to fix the door on the top floor because it would not lock. He said "it is so far out, it hasn't locked in a long time" and that the stairs were dangerous. The house itself was poorly kept (rusting bathroom fixtures, sticky cabinets, broken chairs). All things considered, not a great place to spend your vacation.

“O.K. for the price”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2013

There were several maintenance issues such as a door that did not close or lock properly, broken window, broken dryer door. The house is a little tired & aged. The one thing that drove me nuts was in order to fit more beds, they transformed the two masters into regular rooms. That left the adults with no bathroom or T.V. stuck in smaller rooms.

“Comfortable beach house in a fabulous location!”

Reviewed 20 Jun 2013

Our family of 5 plus 2 very well behaved dogs recently stayed in Dunescrest East. We had stayed there 25 years ago when are children were babies, and found the remodeling to be very lovely and comfortable for our family of (now) adults. The kitchen is well stocked for preparing meals, the living areas adequate for our number, and the decks our very favorite places to enjoy watching the ocean. The wall colors are lovely, but in need of fresh paint in the near future. A larger recycling can is a must since recycling is picked up only once a week on the island. Toilets are a bit slow on the flush, but having 3 bathrooms was very handy and no one had to wait for a shower. Some doggie gates would have been nice, but we were able to rig up barricades so the dogs could enjoy the decks with the family. We would definitely rent Dunescrest East again!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest East and for your suggestions. I'm happy to know that you and your family were able to again enjoy vacationing at this home. Please call us when we can plan your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Quiet location with great beach access.”

Reviewed 21 Jul 2012

After unpacking our cars and taking a million steps, we discovered that the railing on the 3 floor deck was loose and unsafe. Many of the spindles were missing or loose. Lattice had been removed from the railing and the rusty screws and nails were left sticking out. We had a 3 year old in our group so this was unacceptable. After a call to Emerald Isle maintenance, the supervisor agreed with our concerns and sent a crew of 2 carpenters for 2 day to fix it. They did a great job fixing our concerns. The cottage is in need of a face lift everywhere. A good coat of paint would improve the appearance (pictures must be from quite a while ago). The kitchen was missing measuring spoons and cups and we had to buy our own. Pots and pans were very old and beat and the some of the dishes were dirty in the cupboard. All of the dishes and silverware had a white film covering them and some of our travel mugs we brought after being washed in the dishwasher are now covered with this white film that cannot be removed. I have rented many beach houses throughout the Outer Banks and this was the worse home we have had for the price. Definitely should not be rated a silver home unless upgrades are made.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest East. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the quiet location of this duplex and I agree, the beach access is simple. I am sorry to hear of your concerns and disappointments with this property. I am happy to hear that our maintenance department was quick to work to remedy the issues with the deck and I have forwarded your comments to the owner so the other things can be addressed. Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Nice home, great view, horrible stairs”

Reviewed 21 Sep 2011

6/10. Pros: view, location, pet friendly, close to shopping, enough seating, pet security fee was very reasonable. Some places want $250 per pet. Cons: stairs are very short and deep. A real killer to those in less than better shape. Small beds (but i knew that going in) decent kitchen but no blender. Well it now has one thanks to me. Someone needs to reverse the refrig door(opens wrong way). Better security gates for pets. Bring your own to keep the two sides separated. My JRT can fit through the slats. House looks tired after a long season. Needs a paint job inside, not just a touch up. I guess my biggest con though is the stairs. Remember it is a reverse floor plan so there is a lot of climbing. Would consider it again.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest East. I agree that the location of this home is wonderful. It pleases me to know that you and your family found this duplex to accommodate you nicely, except for the stairs. I have forwarded your review to the owner of this duplex. Thank you for being so thorough and detailed. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Loved the Location”

Reviewed 31 Jul 2011

This is a nice big place. We would have loved one or two queen beds. Lots of silverware and dishes. Maybe a small mixer would be good to have. Well-equipped. Outside furniture was great. We bought a small grill to use while we were there.

“Our private beach”

Reviewed 20 Jul 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Dunescrest East. Since there is not a public beach access there, it was like having our own private beach. On the hottest days, we could look down the beach and see crowded areas but ours was quiet and enjoyable. The one downfall was that we were so far at one end of the strip, that it took a long time to get to atlantic Beach and Beaufort. Arrival and departure days were a little tough with all the stairs, as the kitchen is on the top floor (great view while having meals, though). All in all, it was a great week and I would recommend this location.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest East. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at this duplex so much. As you mentioned, the location is great as you have a wide beach with little to no crowd. This duplex is on the Western most side of Bogue Banks, very convenient to Swansboro and shopping right in Emerald Isle. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will return to the Crystal Coast and allow Emerald Isle Realty the opportunity to host you and your family again. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Great deck”

Reviewed 15 Jun 2011

There are a lot of steps, but if you can manage, it is a great location. We do bring an awning for the deck.

“Great time with family at the beach despite poor conditions”

Reviewed 9 Dec 2010

My parents were the first to check in and noticed how unclean the kitchen and place was. Upon my arrival, we had to clean all of the dishes as they were very dirty as well as the counters. We discovered that there were not enough blankets to cover all of the beds which was one of the reasons we had to pay for extra nights in the 2nd beach house. My cousin reported seeing 3-5 ticks come out of her blanket. We were told that the blankets are only cleaned when they get dirty enough. But then I started to get bitten up to 10+ places. Someone said they had seen mosquitoes. That is until the day before the last day when we discovered that the beds had bed bugs on the main floor. We captured a dead one, bagged it and handed it into the Mgmt Company. The day before Thanksgiving, we put a turkey in the oven to prepare for dinner the next day. Mid way through cooking the turkey, the half of the oven stopped working. We put a call into maintenance and waited for a response. An hour or so later we called back in to see when someone would be out and the woman replied "Oh you want someone today?" The maintenance man came out that afternoon to fix the stove, was very polite and fixed the stove in a timely manner. We asked about the cushions for the outside furniture but never received a call back. The Beach house was in a beautiful location in the area and close to the Grocery Store which made it semi desirable (the location did). The railings all around the decks and too the beach were very unstable and some were completely unattached. We had a 2 year old staying with us and railings made us nervous for his safety. We had a lovely time with family and the weather was beautiful however we would not recommend staying in this house again. We are steadily watching out houses to make sure no bed bugs followed us home. We will however consider using Emerald Isle Realty for more rentals in the area as we had good communication for the most part with them.

Response from the manager I am sorry to hear that when your family arrived at Dunescrest East they were disappointed in the level of cleanliness throughout the home. We certainly don’t expect any guest to have to clean a property when they arrive and we gladly would have taken care of this if you would have let us know. We are more than willing to send a cleaning crew out to any property, even after hours, to clean more efficiently when a guest is dissatisfied with the initial cleaning which was done. I’m sorry that your family didn’t have enough blankets. Each bed within a property is supposed to have a comforter/bedspread. Also, you should find an extra blanket in each closet. We do have extra blankets at our office so we can provide additional blankets when needed. I’m not clear on why you had to rent two more nights at the other beach house due to lack of blankets. As for laundering comforters and bedspreads, we do this when needed. Because there is only a six hour window between check out at 10:00 a.m. and check in at 4:00 p.m., we don’t have time to launder these items between the departure of one guest and arrival of another. Beyond that, most of these items have to be dry cleaned and normally it takes 5 to 7 days to have this done and the blankets returned to us. If ever again you feel that your bedspread/comforter is dirty, let us know and we will exchange them for loaner blankets from our office for your use during your stay. I’m sorry that you had to call our office twice to report and inquire about the oven. I am happy that we were able to repair it in a timely manner for you and your family. You just never know when an appliance is going to stop working. Thankfully, it wasn’t on Thanksgiving day! The cushions for the outdoor furniture were taken by the owner so they can be reupholstered. I’m sorry that they were not available for your stay and that no one made you aware of the situation. I have notified our maintenance department about the railings so they can be tightened and repaired where needed. We have contacted an exterminator who is going to the property to assess and handle any pest issues which may be present. Both our maintenance and housekeeping departments are proactive in handling situations such as these when they arise. Please give us a call anytime you find something that isn’t up to your standards. We are happy to come out and take care of maintenance and housekeeping issues so they are addressed and resolved for you and don’t mar your stay with us.

Review 1-10 of 18

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

2,790 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

320 properties

Wrightsville Beach

299 properties

Carolina Beach

170 properties


68 properties

Sunset Beach

28 properties


17 properties


16 properties

Chapel Hill

14 properties


13 properties

Salter Path

10 properties


9 properties

Winston Salem

9 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties


8 properties

Southern Pines

7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search