Description from manager
Description from manager
2 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 23 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $575 to as high as $1025, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 23, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 23 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- Yes, smoking allowed
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Children - Ask
- Smoking allowed
- 2 Unknown types
– based on 23 reviews
- Very Good
“Several SAFETY ISSUES and needs lots of remodeling”
The staff was very friendly and very professional. The express check-in is a great time saver. Self West is in need of lots of remodeling: 1. SAFETY ISSUE -- Many of the light switch cover plates were loose and/or not flush with the wall. 2. SAFETY ISSUE -- The breaker was tripped when we arrived. Had to reset the breaker to get things working. 3. SAFETY ISSUE -- The back deck slopes toward the house causing a major puddle when it rains. If it rains a lot, the water runs over the threshold into the kitchen from under the back door, causing a major slip hazard. 4. SAFETY ISSUE -- The back storm door does not close properly. When it rains, water is blown onto the wooden door which runs into the kitchen causing a major slip hazard. 5. SAFETY ISSUE -- Oven door coming apart. Needs to be repaired. 6. Master bathroom medicine cabinet door does not close properly. 7. Master bathroom toilet paper holder needs to be repaired. 8. NO WI-FI !! BIG LET DOWN !! NEEDS WI-FI !!
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback. Your concerns were forwarded to our maintenance department so they could be addressed. Self West is one of our rustic beach cottages and offers affordable accommodations to vacationing families. What it lacks in modern furnishings and appointments, it makes up for in charm. Thank you for letting us know about the items of concern and please come again.
“Emerald Isle, NC”
The staff was very polite and professional* The house was super clean** But i did not like the exterior look of the house... and i think that paying additional charge for linens it's extremely ridiculous!
“Don't get too excited.”
The location and layout of this property are great. Unfortunately it is "shop worn" and in need of a serious upgrade. Couches are dirty and sagging and the property looks like it needs maintenance both inside and out. Just replacing the couches would make a big difference. The TV in the living room is too small and needs to be larger. It is an inexpensive property to rent but I would recommend finding a property that costs more because you would likely have a more enjoyable stay.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. Self West is an older beach home that is perfect for the thrifty beach-goer. The Self quadraplex provides the basic comforts one needs to enjoy a trip to the beach, but it does lack the frills of some of our other offerings. This is reflected in the price, making Self West a great value with wonderful ocean views. Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you are ready to plan your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Needs a new back door - screen is busted out - and the back deck floods when it rains. Needs new furniture. There is no wifi and no laundry facility.
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback. Self West is the perfect place to plan a quick getaway to the beach. It isn't packed with all of the frills of a more modern vacation home, but is a fantastic value and boasts great views from its second row location.
Not the prettiest bungalow on the beach, but a great rental. Plenty of room for the four of us. This rental had everything we needed and it was clean.
“No so good”
Place was ok the furniture was terrible. Chairs were broken and couches smelled & had holes in the cushions. I the owners do not have standards, you should. We depend on you guys to make sure we have a good place to stay. We travel 5 hr to get there and you give us a dump. Rember Bluewater is just down the street. I have not had this problem using them.
“I would stay here again!”
Self West is the side we stayed in during our vacation. It was a little out of date but it was clean and functional. Most of all its very dog friendly. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants a nice vacation but doesn't want to break the bank on a place to stay.
“Self West Thoughts”
First time to Emerald Isle-- very pleasant. Re: Self West: pros: Great location (across street from beach; easy beach access; hear the ocean @ night!) Pet-friendly! Our dog is better-behaved than most people; it is a shame that no many owners have a no-pets policy. Cons: Apt. was fine with the exception of: uncomfortable beds and living room furniture. Only comfortable chairs were the kitchen chairs! Suggestion: Hooks on backs of doors (cheap & easy to install) would provide more space for towels etc. in bathrooms.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the location of this home and the ambiance it provides. Thank you also for your suggestions. Please call us when you're ready to plan your next Emerald Isle vacation or getaway - 1-888-832-0140.
Old Laundry not picked up. Barking dogs next door. Bugs in Kitchen area. Vaccum cleaner works very poorly even with new Bag. Couch has springs sticking thru cover. Couch cushion needs Repair. Be prepared for an expensive experience ...
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Self West. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at this property, but I hope you were able to enjoy Emerald Isle and all that our area has to offer. Our area is prone to various species of insects because of our warm climate and dense vegetation, but you shouldn't see these in the home. I have asked our housekeeping department to have this property sprayed to alleviate any pests. Plesae report issues such as this during your stay and we'll happily work to remedy it for you. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty to serve as your host again. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
“Overall a great vacation”
The property was fine but I spent most of my time on the beach. There was a nice porch with plenty of seating which was great and a grill that we could use for outdoor cooking. We had ordered the Island Club Linen Service because our hectic travel itinerary left no room for sheets and towels, but when we arrived there were no linens to be found and since it was after hours we had to sleep without sheets the first night. Emerald Isle Realty Company came through with the sheets the next day.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Self West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle while staying at this property. I am sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced because linens weren't delivered to you. Both Emerald Isle Realty and Island Essentials has an after hours pager service and we're always happy to get you linens if a delivery was overlooked. I am glad this matter was addressed and resolved quickly the following morning. Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.