Need more information about booking Property 2149629 ?
From $309 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 5 / Bathrooms 3 / Sleeps 10 / House
Bedrooms: 5  Bathrooms: 3   Sleeps: 10  Type: House

3 Unknown types

Sea & Sound
TripAdvisor property ID 2149629

More Property Details

Book this 5 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1135 to as high as $3205, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 24, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Calendar last updated:
24 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Please contact the owner
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions




  • Linen provided


  • Grill


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking - Ask


  • 3 Unknown types


Reviews (13)

Average – based on 13 reviews Average
13 reviews

Very Good

“Great vacation on the Crystal Coast”

Reviewed 1 Sep 2014

Very comfortable, good location. Even though it is across the street from the ocean, there is a public access walkway over to the beach right in front of this cottage. The wraparound porch and screened porch was very enjoyable with an unobstructed view of the ocean.

“Ground floor dungeon”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2014

Nice upstairs, awfully spartan down, and both showers were very small. Good view, good access, needs disposal and laundry, and real upgrades below deck.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea & Sound Up and Down. This cottage does hold a bronze rating and is a great value for travelers looking for a nice place at the beach. The bronze rating does indicate that a home will be absent of upgrades, but I have submitted your feedback to our refurbishment team so they will assess the property and make recommendations to the owner. Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you're ready to plan your next vacation to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.


Reviewed 5 Jul 2014

If we only needed the upstairs, it would have been fine. It was not the most updated of places, which was expected, but the upstairs was rustic and welcoming. The outdoor furniture to sit on the patios is limited to the uncomfortable plastic patio chairs, so I'd recommend bringing something else. All of the quilts on the beds upstairs and downstairs were dusty and grimy. We needed the two downstairs bedrooms and bathroom for the number of people staying with us.The downstairs was dirty and wet with many of the roly-poly type bugs. There was puddling of water on the downstairs floors throughout the week that we stayed there. It's like sleeping in a very damp basement, if you have to use the downstairs. Anything dropped on the floor, which kids do frequently with clothes/swimsuits, were wet, gross and dirty. I wouldn't walk on the floors without flipflops on my feet. We complained to the realty office the second day that we were there, and we did not receive a return call; therefore we had to make a trip to the office to get attention for our complaint. Not exactly what we wanted to do on vacation...Then we were told that it was probably overlooked in being cleaned, and they would send an exterminator, housekeeping, and HVAC maintenance....Housekeeping came and cleaned things up, but an exterminator never came, so the bugs were an ongoing problem. The AC maintenance came and said that they didn't know what the problem was. Everyone wanted to tell us the problem was ours that we had the window open and AC on, which we made sure that we weren't doing early in the week to try to prevent this problem; however this did not remedy the situation. They need a dehumidifier. We were credited $60 for housekeeping and given a $100 credit for another rental, if we would decide to come back. I don't believe we'll use this, because the response we received from the realty office was extremely disappointing. I also felt the the description of the accommodations was inaccurate, as I don't think that the downstairs rooms should be listed the same as other bedrooms. We tried not to let this ruin our vacation, but the accommodations in the downstairs were extremely unpleasant.

“Family beach vacation”

Reviewed 28 Aug 2013

This rental has a great ocean view and we really enjoyed the screened in porch. The proximity to the beach is fantastic! The house had enough room for everyone to spread out. Great rental for pets.

“Loved it!”

Reviewed 6 Sep 2012

We had a great week at Sea & Sound Up and Down. It is an older house and we were prepared for that. It had tons of character, my whole family loved it! The only issue we had were the showers, they were small. It is a duplex - you have to go outside to get downstairs. It worked perfectly for a large family get away.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea & Sound Up and Down. This duplex is spacious and provides great places for family groups to gather, but also affords privacy when desired. I'm happy to hear that the layout of this property met the needs and desires of your group so nicely. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Wonderful view”

Reviewed 13 Sep 2011

Sea and sound up was great.We loved the screened deck and there isn't a house on the ocean side to block the view.The beach access was just across the road making for a very short walk to the beach. Sea and sound down could have been decorated a little better but with teenage boys staying down there they did not mind.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea and Sound Up and Down. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed this house and the amenities it offers. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.

“vacation home”

Reviewed 17 Aug 2011

Realty staff was great... Home had a great view... A dishwasher would be nice... will stay again in the future...

“Okay, but...”

Reviewed 10 Sep 2010

We've rented from Emerald Isle Realty for at least 25 years. This house is by far the shabbiest we've stayed in. It was our fault for not noticing what was not in the house description. but finding no dishwasher and no laundry facilities was an ugly surprise. Both shower stalls were moldy, and there were several cobwebby/dusty places. Too much of the furniture was vinyl covered. Lighting throughout the house was inadequate. However, the floor plan worked well, we were delighted to have enough space and chairs at the table for 12 people. The house was a very short walk to the beach, the beach was perfect, and Emerald Isle Realty was its usual professional self. How about changing the amenities list so that it is easier to notice what is not included, and adding a fourth category. We've stayed in Bronze houses before. This was 'way below them.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Sea and Sound Up and Down. It pleases me to know that you and your family did enjoy your Emerald Isle vacation and the layout and size of this home served you well. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment when you arrived and didn't find a dishwasher or washer and dryer. We have changed our 2012 brochure so it states what is not included so such things will be more clear. Thank you again for your feedback and your great suggestion. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“the most relaxing vacation in years”

Reviewed 17 Jul 2009

This was actually our 2nd stay at Sea and Sound. Everything was great, and we only had some minor issues, one being the air conditioning which died. Service came out very quickly and got it up and running again. Other issues were already given at the time of check out and were very minor. We're looking forward to future stays there.


Reviewed 24 Jun 2009

In the opinion of the 9 adults that stayed this week at Sea and Sound, we all agree that the house is fine other than the following issues. We went by the Emerald Isle Realtor office a 3pm and were told our house wasnt ready come back by 4pm to pick up key. We left and went shopping and came back at 430. Upon arrival at the house we found dirt and sand on the floors, the sink had food still in it, remains of the last tennants were left inside the toilet upstairs and we all noticed later that the baseboard molding was extremely nasty like it had never been cleaned. The faucet in the upstairs shower kept falling off all week even after I got a screw driver and tightned it. The cleaning inspection lady came and she noticed some of these issues herself and called in several people to clean while we were waiting to take kids to the beach. Finally they left. Other small things existed but these were the most memorable and I would like to forget them all so I refuse to continue. We also had alot of splinters to pull out of kids fingers, may want to look into replacing some handrails/deck. Obviously this was not our best trip but we managed but all in all we were not very happy and at this point would not recommed your properties to anyone. We have rented from you guys for 20+ years and have noticed a decline each year, maybe its the norm for all beaches now, not sure but if you ask the cleaning inspecting lady she will tell you most of the same things as I did. Not sure if I wasted my time typing this but if you do indeed read this I hope it helps you in the future but we were very disapointed. Thanks

Response from the manager Thank you Tim for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback, your time was not wasted. We encourage good communication from our guests to us, after all how can we continue to get better if we are not told what we need to improve on? I can see that your check in experience was not what we hoped it would be. I see that an inspector did come by and I'm glad that she was able to call a team in to help clean the home for you and your family. In the future feel free to continue on with your vacation, no need to wait on us. We come and go pretty swiftly to avoid any disruption in our guests stay. I looked over our housekeeping and maintenance requests and I don't see any reports the week you were here or upon your departure about the faucet, handrails or any other issues you encountered during your stay. With out your valuable feedback while you are here on the island we are unable to correct or rectify any situation for you and your family so that everyone could have a more enjoyable vacation. I also took a look at your extensive guest history with Emerald Isle Realty, I see that you have vacationed with since 1999. Thank you so much for your loyalty, it means a lot to us! In the past you have stayed at homes that are in the silver rating of our quality rating scale. This year you stayed in a bronze which would explain why you didn't feel the home had good upkeep. The last home you rented through us was in 2007, and paid about $550 more than you did for this rental, the extra money does make a difference in the quality of a home. I would recommend that you stay with silver or gold rated homes in the future. We can help find those homes for you to make sure you know that you're getting a good quality home the next time you vacation with us here on beautiful Emerald Isle. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out this Flip Key review. We look forward to hearing from you soon to make your next vacation plans!

Review 1-10 of 13

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

2,212 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

320 properties

Wrightsville Beach

299 properties

Carolina Beach

169 properties


69 properties

Sunset Beach

29 properties


17 properties


16 properties

Chapel Hill

15 properties


13 properties


10 properties

Winston Salem

9 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties


8 properties


7 properties


7 properties

Southern Pines

7 properties


7 properties


6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search