Description from manager
Description from manager
2 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 12 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $950 to as high as $2475, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 17, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 17 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- Please contact the owner
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Children - Ask
- Smoking - Ask
- 2 Unknown types
– based on 12 reviews
- Very Good
Though Slingshot was not our original booking, it turned out to be the best place for us. A must do!
Loved the cottage. Very bad customer service from E.I. Rental company. Scheduled contractors came by the house three times unannounced. One instance removing furniture from the house while we were out to lunch. We came back to find things missing, we thought the house had been broken into. Emerald Island realty never let us know anything about any of this in advance or after. Do not recommend.
Response from the manager I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at this cottage, but very sorry to hear of the disruptions to your vacation. It is my understanding that a scheduled, preventative extermination of this home took place during your stay. This, like other outside work, isn't something for which we would notify you. I am glad the broken furniture was reported prior to your arrival so it could be taken out of your way, but apologize that you weren’t made aware of someone coming to remove it. While we don’t want our guests to ever have to waste vacation time to wait around for us, it is our typical practice to make contact with you should we have a need to enter a home where you are staying. Again, I am sorry this happened. I do hope you will revisit the Crystal Coast for future vacations. If we can be assistance in planning, please call us – 1-888-832-0140.
“The beach was great; the cottage OK”
We've been going to Emerald Isle for over 40 years, and the beach is wonderful, the people are very nice, and there must be a reason why we keep returning. The cottage, Slingshot, is one that we've rented twice now. It's pretty basic, and one of the less expensive rentals on EI. It is not at all luxurious, which is fine by us (why would you want a pool, like some places have, when you have the ocean right in front of you? I know that some people want a TV in every room, but I don't see the need for that. On the other hand, I wouldn't mind having internet access.). The place is showing some signs of wear and tear (the popcorn ceilings are starting to peel, for example; the mattresses could use replacing at this point), but in general it is fine for 6-7 people who don't want to overspend on a high-end rental. One thing we were less than pleased about this time, and which has less to do with the cottage than with the realty agency, was that it was not well cleaned upon our arrival. The floor could have used a more thorough vacuuming, and there was animal hair on the living room pillows.
“We have rented Slingshot for the last 24 yrs. & look forward to”
I have vacation on EI for the last 28 yrs. in Sept. & 24 yrs. of those we have rented Slingshot. The big picture window looking @ ocean & beach is cleaned thoroughly after we unload cars. Their are 4 couples that go & for the last 4 yrs. have extended it two wk stay. Slingshot is home, relaxing, & perfect for what we want @ beach.
Response from the manager Slingshot is a fantastic beach cottage and I'm pleased to know that it is home away from home for your group. We look forward to your stay each year and hope to be part of your vacation tradition for years to come. Please call us to plan your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“Life @ the beach is Slingshot”
I have stayed @ Slingshot for 22 yrs. & there is no other place that I would rather be for 2 wks on Emerald Isle. I have stayed @ other properties, but nothing compares to view, location, homey feeling, & good owners. We have already registered for 2012 & hope within the next 2 yrs. to rent it for a month @ a time when the wife retires.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Slingshot. It pleases me to know that you and your family have found your home away from home in Slingshot and enjoy returning year after year. Please let me know if we can assist as you continue to plan your 2012 stay at this home - 1-888-832-0140.
“Just what we were looking for”
Slingshot is the old-time NC beach house which is what we love. It is almost 30 years old and doesn't look like much from the front. However it is a gem. It has a wonderfully appointed kitchen, fantastic views of the beach inside & out, a terrific back deck, new comfortable beds plus bedding, new windows, freshly painted, and an owner who leaves a guest book because she wants to keep in touch with her guests. It was the cleanest place we have stayed in that allows dogs. Not everyone who stays brings a pet however. What it doesn't have is high-fashion decor, lots of fancy TVs (1 flat screen in the great room is "it"), a hot tub, the washer/dryer are very old (but work fine) or a hot outside shower (cold yes). Since those aren't our priority, we absolutely loved it from the moment we arrived. We stayed 2 weeks. The photos of this house do not do it justice. It is bigger than it looks, and the back deck has much more than is shown.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Slingshot. It pleases me to know that you have found a home which fits yours and your family's needs and desires so perfectly. I noticed that you will be revisiting this home for an extended stay in 2012. Please call us if we can further assist in planning your vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Slingshot was clean and well-furnished, but certainly not lavish; no frills--cable TV package was minimal, no internet connection. It was pretty pricey for the size and style. Still, we had a great time as we always do at Emerald Isle.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Slingshot. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed a great Emerald Isle vacation. I agree, this home is very well furnished. Please call us when you begin planning your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“We had great weather & this is my 20th yr. @ this cottage.”
We had a great time. The beds needed to be better, but overall, we could have not ordered better weather for the 2 wks. we were there. Emerald Isle Reality offered us complimentary maid service, but we took care of what little cleaning, etc had to be done.
“Cozy, Relaxing Home Away From Home”
Slingshot is a great beach home. We've stayed in pricier places with 'professional decor' and more modern fixtures, not worth it. They felt like 'vacation houses' - Slingshot felt like a home. Cons: Needs a little maintenance and repair; but everything worked fine, none of this interfered with our stay or enjoyment. The owner is working on these issues (she left personal messages in the guest books). Washer/dryer in room below house, ground level, kind of dismal - but worked fine. Pros: Inviting and homey. Very clean. Personal touches, like photos on the walls, a box of photos of the building of the home, and guest books with personal messages from the owner were a nice touch. Lots of games, puzzles and books (general, and local interest, like local ghost stories and history, seashell ID book, etc). FANTASTIC ocean view from large picture window with window seat / bench. FANTASTIC deck, roomy, built-in table and umbrellas, built-in benches, plus a lower deck. The dune is low in this area so your view is uninterrupted. Favorite part: the deck is VERY dog friendly. Completely enclosed, with a gate, so my dog (small, 20 lbs) could be loose on the deck without having to be tied up - loved it! Though the house looks small, it's quite roomy - large, open living room merging into well-equipped kitchen and dining area with large table, plenty of seating everywhere, 4 nice bedrooms with lots of beds, 2 baths (great shower water pressure & heat). At one point we had about 12 people visiting, and did not feel crowded. Emerald Isle Realty's pictures don't do the place justice, it feels much roomier in person. E.I. Realty is great to work with, too. This home will give you a wonderful ocean experience with it's views and the beach just being "right there," and it's cozy and inviting to return to after a day of shopping or sightseeing. Comfy, pet-friendly, relaxing, home. Enjoy it!
this is a great house for the money, great beach front,beautiful picture window(poodle loved looking out(and in) house is well laid out, for the space. previous renters journal is very interesting to read (since 1981)enclosing the outside shower would sure help with the sand in the swimsuit problem. but you can't have it all!