Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Guerneville today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a deck, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 16 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1152 to as high as $1368, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Russian River Vacation Homes
Russian River Vacation Homes
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 18 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Guerneville Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Central heating
- Clothes dryer
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Washing machine
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
- CD player
- DVD player
- Boat available
- Smoking allowed
– based on 16 reviews
- Very Good
“Nice Perch on the Russian River”
Great accommodations high up on the bank of the Russian River. Very comfortable and relaxing as an escape from the east coast summer humidity. One suggestion is a few ceiling fans to create air circulation during the heat of the afternoons so the air-conditioning isn't needed. The cracked concrete dock was a concern, but it didn't bother us as we just used it to launch the kayaks we rented locally.
Response from the manager Hello and thank you for the review! I love the ceiling fan suggestion and will pass it along to the owners. Just so everyone knows, the concrete platform/dock is very sturdy! It has survived floods and incredible forces of nature, but it's showing its age a bit. In the summer, there's a pool ladder mounted for getting in and out of the river. We take it off the rest of the year for guest safety. I hope we'll see you again! Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Relaxing & fun”
Service was very good. We had one small issue with the key which was solved quickly. Home was very comfortable; may be a bit noisy for some people as it's right on River Rd., but we live in SF and are accustomed to street noise. There are a lot of steps down to the river, which would have been nice to know. I'm not a fan of the inflatable kayaks so we used the inner tubes. The "dock" isn't really a dock but we took blankets down and made it comfy. There is a shady spot so you get some sun protection. There is no ladder and it's tricky getting in and out of the water because of this. It would also be nice to have a closer place (under the house?) to store the kayaks etc. because it's quite a schlep to carry them back up to the house every night. The deck and grill are great for viewing the river, reading, evening cocktails. Beds were very comfortable as was bathroom. It's close to the town of Guerneville. We were not able to find the nozzle for the hand pump, so we had to carry our kayaks etc. up to the house to re-inflate. That was inconvenient.
“Beatiful view of the Russian River!”
Check-in went very smoothly. The cabin was wonderful, with a wonderful view from the balcony. Beds were comfortable, too, with room for everyone. We had our dog with us, and even a bed was furnished for her. Did not know it would be such a steep hill down to the river. My husband and I weren't able to make it down. And the kayaks were blow up (pump was provided), but expected actual hard case ones. The small boat was good. Our adult children enjoyed very much. The kitchen was well supplied. Only other drawback was there was no cable to watch tv, and there was an important golf game on that weekend. Oh well. We caught up with it on Saturday. All in all, a very good experience for the family.
“Perfect home for two couples for the week!”
Great location, close to town and walking distance to Stumptown brewery. River access was perfect. The house is completely on stilts (Not a problem, and better than flooding of course!) so the slight rocking was fine once you are used to it. The hot tub and gas grill sealed the deal, both worked great and were used a ton. Deposit was returned promptly after my stay.
Response from the manager Hello! Thank you for sharing such a great review of Dock Calm! We love that both bedrooms have awesome views of the river... Being up high certainly helps with the views. We know it's odd for folks that aren't used to "lifted" houses to be up on stilts, but it's very safe and we're all pretty darn used to it here. It is better than the very wet alternative when the river comes up to kiss us goodnight! We're glad you enjoyed the house so much - it's very well located to get out and explore the area... :) Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Great view of the river.”
This is a lovely home right on the river. The view is fantastic. The home is well stocked and comfortable. On the down side, there were several spiders outside the front door and in the house. The home is surrounded by foliage and needs to be routinely sprayed. Although the home appeared clean there was dog hair on the hardwood floors. Also, it's important to remember the home is on the main road and it's noisy when the windows are open; not really a big deal but good to know.
Response from the manager Hello! Thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate the feedback and try to address it as quickly as possible. We wish we could move it just a bit further from River Road, but it just isn't an option. We have inspectors and cleaners sweep down the front of the house for spiders and cobwebs before guests arrive, but under the redwood trees spiders come back very, very quickly. And some of them are beneficial insects, so pest companies won't spray for them. We're sorry they made it into the house! Anytime you stay in a house, if the cleaning is not up to par, please give us a call! We'll send a cleaner over to touch up!!! :) Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Adequate, not special.”
I cannot imagine more than two people staying here at one time, unless you're only here to sleep. The livingroom is tiny,with only a loveseat and a couple chairs around a relatively small TV and gas fireplace. The location is central but not terribly relaxing, as it's right on the road. The hot tub is just steps from the road, accesible only after walking out the front door, and the jets didn't work. The bed we slept in was comortable and warm. The bathroom & kitchen were clean and adequatly stocked. In good weather the back deck overlooking the river is undoubtedly a great place to hang out. Overall, not the ideal cold-weather, stay-in kinda place.
Response from the manager Hello - Thank you for sharing a review for your stay at Dock Calm... I'm sorry you didn't love it! We try to explain the location to folks before they book (and fully on our website) so it's not a surprise. This very well decorated home is cozy and well stocked and is situated on River Road in Rio Nido/Guerneville. It is oriented so almost all of the windows face the river and not the road - this greatly reduces the impact of road noise. The owners have done a great job making the house dog-friendly with all kinds of extras (treats, toys, etc) to make it a lovely stay for folks with dogs. And in the summer the deck, dock and river access make it an ideal place for playing at the river - and in the winter for folks intent on fishing. Lots of love and care have gone into this home and I hope folks will read other reviews too! I'd love to stay snugged in this house on a rainy day or use it as home base for wine tasting and sight-seeing around Sonoma County. The hot tub location is tucked along the side of the house and is separated from the road by a tall fence (no one can see through). Unfortunately, there just isn't another place on the property to put a hot tub. And we'll have some one look at the jets - guests can always call our office to let us know if something isn't working and we'll get someone out to the house to address it! Thank you again, Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Birthday weekend by the river”
As a surprise I booked Dock Calm for my husband's 39th birthday. I had some friends meet us up there to add to the surprise and we canoed the Russian River on Saturday all day! We loved the view and comfort at Dock Calm. Even though the house sits right on the main road into Guerneville, you really don't hear much of the traffic noise from inside or the back porch. The hot tub was the only thing that was a bit disappointing. While I was aware that it was on the fence line next to the road, I was not aware that it sits immediately inside a gate and there are no stairs to get in or out. There was a collapsible step-stool which was rather precarious. Also the display for the temperature is broken so it was difficult to discern how to get the temp above warm. It was not set at the temp the manual stated and was not hot enough for use on the first night! Once we pressed the up temp button enough to get it up to the 100's we could see the middle digit was damaged and that's why it was so hard to know where it was before. Overall we had a great experience. The house is well stocked with kitchen essentials and the beds were very comfortable! There were lots of river toys in the storage closet that we did not get to use since we had the canoe trip, but would have loved to if we had more time. Good price for what you get overall.
Response from the manager Thank you for the info and Happy Birthday! The hot tub information is new to the office - I wish we'd heard about it right away so we could have it repaired for you and the following guests too... Any time there's something a miss at a house to let us know so we can have it fixed right away! We're calling the spa folks right away to have it checked out now... We're glad you had a good time though and hope we'll see you again! :) Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Wine Tasting with Friends”
5 of us rented the house for a week. In a previous trip we had rented a home in Calistoga so wanted to have our base in Sonoma this time. The view of the river is fabulous, we ended most days sitting on the deck drinking wine. There is some noise from the road but otherwise it's pretty peaceful. The house was nicely stocked and beds were comfy. The size was fine for 5 of us.
“Lacation! Lacation! Close to down town Guerneville is a plus!”
This was a nice home and we loved being by the river, although the steps and walk down to the water would not be recommended for those with leg difficulties. The railing broke off when my older mother was walking down once. There is everything that you need in the kitchen for cooking, and we are thankful that this rental accepts dogs and has everything for them also. I am hoping that it will be easier to enter and exit into the water the next time we go!
Response from the manager Hi! Thanks for the review! Immediately after your stay, a handy man repaired the railing - so thank you for reporting it promptly! There are lots of steps down to the river, but the house doesn't flood! We love dogs! And the owners of Dock Calm leave extra treats for our canine buddies too! :) Megan Perkins Russian River Vacation Homes
“Overall a very nice spot”
The outside is unassuming; the interior is very comfortable and livable with excellent views of the river in the kitchen, dining area, the living room, and, of course, the deck. The bedrooms feel warm and luxurious at the same time. The hot tub is oddly-placed (but for understandable reason) and is still quite enjoyable. The proximity to the town is nice. The only place you hear traffic noise is in the hot tub, and after a bit you can let it just be "white noise."