Need more information about booking Property 2232684 ?
from $255 / night help Estimated Price for guests, Nights

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 5 / Sleeps 12 / House
Bedrooms: 5  Sleeps: 12  Type: House
Whimsey
TripAdvisor property ID 2232684

More Property Details

Book this 5 bedroom house in Montreat today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a deck, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 7 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1275 to as high as $1595, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 90% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 23, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Greybeard Rentals
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
23 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Montreat Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

General


  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet


  • Internet access

Kitchen


  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster

Entertainment


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV

Outdoor


  • Deck
  • Patio

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (7)

Very Good – based on 7 reviews Very Good
7 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
4
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0
Write a review

“This home is a wonderful rental ..a home tucked away in the wood”

Reviewed 19 Sep 2012

A cozy,spacious home in Montreat. I loved being in the area of Black Mountain/Asheville even though I was there to work. I found the people very friendly. The closeness to the hiking trails, waterfalls and lake made my walk with my yorkie fun. The lights on the walkway needed more bulbs since it was difficult to navigate in the night time.

“The house was wonderful and Greybeard's service was super - as u”

Reviewed 18 Jul 2012

Greybeard does a great job concerning customer service!!! The house was large enough for our group and had so much personality! We will definitely stay here again!!!

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Reviewed 10 Aug 2011

Had a difficult time checking in and then received the incorrect keys once I was able to access the keys. The only problem with the Whimsey rental was that there was a bad ant problem in the kitchen. The house is very comfortable, beautiful and peaceful. We would definitely rent this house again in the future.

Response from the manager We are truly sorry about the key issue...that is an unusual happening for us, but glad you enjoyed your stay once you were in. We have sent pest control to the house and the ant issue should be remedied. Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Greybeard Staff

“A great place to stay with kids!”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2010

We loved staying at Whimsey Cottage. The lofts were perfect for my 4 and 7 year old boys. They loved climbing up the ladders and playing up high. It was a little hard to keep my 20 month old from trying to climb up as well, but we managed. There was plenty of space for everyone, and the beds were very comfortable. The floors were not clean when we arrived, the only thing that was less than stellar about our stay. The house is located very near the Montreat gate, which makes it a good long walk to the playground and Lake Susan. With three small boys we chose to drive to these locations. Overall, the home was great and I would stay here again.

“Relax”

Reviewed 22 Jul 2009

Reserving the house was easy and Greybeard helped every step of the way. The location was pleasantly tucked into a wooded lot which gave plenty of shade. The house was appointed in a way which made the title "Whimsey" obvious! The linens provided were not the thin, cheap ones but nice and newer. This was the kind of house I'd rent for my family.

“House offered flexible sleeping arrangements & a beautiful sett”

Reviewed 9 Jul 2009

Bedrooms were spacious and the lofts were great use of space and "fun" for the kids! Kitchen offered all the comforts of home plus having two fridges was wonderful!

“Whimsey”

Reviewed 9 Jul 2009

The house itself was cute as could be, and the upper parts were fine. The bed linens could have been better. The down stairs however left a lot to be derired. There were fleas and we had to have someone come and spray. The power kept shorting out when the lights were turned on and the dehumidifier was running at the same time. Response to ours problems was quick and helpful but the problems with the power continued for the whole stay. We turned the dehumi. off so we could see our way around .

Response from the manager Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, in a house that allows pets, there will occasionally be fleas. Thank you for your patience while we handled the problem. As for the electrical issues at Whimsey, I think we assumed they had been taken care of with the first repair. Please never hesitate to contact us if there is a recurring problem. We want you to have a great stay and are sorry you had to spend part of that time in the dark!

Review 1-7 of 7

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

3,275 properties

North Carolina Mountains

2,576 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

490 properties

Wrightsville Beach

155 properties

Carolina Beach

144 properties

Charlotte

52 properties

Almond

29 properties

Lake Norman

28 properties

Sunset Beach

28 properties

Raleigh

19 properties

Cherokee

18 properties

Pinehurst

15 properties

Greensboro

12 properties

Chimney Rock

11 properties

Albemarle

9 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties

Chapel Hill

7 properties

Newport

7 properties

Elkin

7 properties

Dobson

6 properties

Start a new search