Need more information about booking Property 2242767 ?
from $515 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 6 / Sleeps 16 / House
Bedrooms: 6  Sleeps: 16  Type: House
Pelican's Reef
TripAdvisor property ID 2242767

More Property Details

Book this 6 bedroom house in Duck today! A total of 16 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 25 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1275 to as high as $3800, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 17, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Outer Banks Blue
Calendar last updated:
17 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Duck,-north-carolina Attractions




  • Air conditioning

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)


  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave


  • CD player
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (25)

Average – based on 25 reviews Average
25 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Lovely Space with Rockin' Pool and Hot Tub”

Reviewed 6 Sep 2012

The house is well laid out for a reasonably large crowd (ours was 14 ranging in age from 18 months to 80 years) and has an instantly comfortable, family-friendly feeling. The top-floor kitchen was well-stocked (oddly, with the exception of teaspoons) to include baby/child dishes, which really came in handy. Having the pool, hot tub, outside shower and large selection of pool toys and seating on-site really made the entire week a party! After inspecting the house there were quite a few problems we felt needed to be reported/addressed, and maintenance responded in good time; the maintenance man did a fabulous job, returning several times to ensure he did everything he could to take care of our issues (if it weren't for Jason we'd be giving this only three stars). Better than half the beds had serious problems: Two squeaked so loudly it was hard to sleep and one was so hard we had to swap rooms to avoid paralyzing our elderly couple. We all agreed that if this had been an hotel we would have asked to be moved to different rooms because the beds were so bad. It appeared that the cleaning crew didn't waste a lot of time on the top/great room level; the bed wasn't made and on our first full day I swept up enough long black dog hair to make a whole 'nuther dog. The bottom shelf of the fridge was missing altogether, rendering half the fridge almost unusable - a bad situation when 4 cooks had brought items for our friendly cooking competition. The walls on the middle/main sleeping floor were very thin (reorienting the beds where headboards aren't sharing walls would likely help correct this!) One expects a certain amount of bugs at the beach, but the bottom floor was infested with centipedes. Overall the house was a reasonable value - as long as the family kept their sense of humor about squeaking beds and thin walls being a "sharing experience."

“Not very happy...”

Reviewed 25 Jun 2012

When we arrived for our vacation we found that the property was not very clean. There were cobwebs and spider webs all over the walls and ceiling. We had to clean a lot to make things comfortable. Bugs were also a major issue. We killed numerous spiders and roaches in this house. I think it's time for an exterminator. Cleaning was not made much easier, since the vacuum cleaner had very little suction. There was also a foul smell coming from one of the downstairs bedroom closets. Overall, the house felt very dirty and not very well cleaned. The hot tub, pool and distance to the beach were nice, but I'd likely stay elsewhere next year. We come to OuterBanks every year and this is the first year we have used OuterBanks Blue. I hope this house isn't indicative of the type of houses we can expect. If so, we would not use them again.

“Two weeks of relaxation and family”

Reviewed 24 Jun 2012

The service from Outer Banks Blue was outstanding, not having to check in was really nice. We came from 8 hours away and could not predict when we would arrive. The area around the home was so convenient and quiet.We could walk to the beach and into town easily. The pool was absolutely perfect, crystal clear and just the right size, we got to meet the pool people, because there was a storm where we lost power for about 15 minutes and they came over just to make sure the filters were working. If I had a pool at home I would hire them to care for it. The hot tub was great too a real treat. Bringing my dogs was a deal breaker for me so the fact that the house allowed dogs and had a fenced yard was my main reason for renting the house. Pros: Allows Dogs, fenced yard, pool, hot tub, location and set up of the house. There are alot of steps but it was worth it to have separation areas. We enjoyed the location in Duck not real close to town but close enough. We had a few issues that were addressed almost immediately things the company could not control but the addressed it anyway. Having a washer and dryer was so helpful. Cons: As much as I loved this house, it was not cleaned well. It was passable but there were cobwebs on the stairs and the vents were not attended to the furniture needs to be cleaned or slip covered. It wasn't unlivable but after the spectacular service I got from the office I expected the details of the house to be attended too. It is a rental beach house that allows dogs so I think you have to accept that not everyone is as conscientious as you are. All of the outdoor furniture on the upper deck is broken not bad enough not to use but just not as nice as it could be. These were very minor things to me and not at all a reason not to rent the house again if we come back to the Outer Banks. It was one of the best vacations I ever had and a memory I will have forever.

Response from the manager Dear lvaccrn, Thanks for your review on Pelican's Reef. It sounds like you had a wonderful time at the property. We really appreciate the kudos as well! We do apologize that you found the property in less than perfect condition upon arrival. Unfortunately you were the first person in the house for this season, and we believe that the fact the house sat empty for a few weeks between the spring clean and your arrival caused some of the cob web issues and we will change our inspection process as a result. By the way, next time you are with us please don't hesitate to contact us on something like this...we would have been glad to get everything squared away for you right away. Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!


Reviewed 2 Dec 2011

I am sorry to say that we were very disappointed with this property. We have stayed in Outer Banks Blue properties previously and thought that this property would be similar or better in quality because the price was slightly higher. Sadly, it was not. There was a broken bed in one room and broken outside chairs. The sofa was so badly stained that we had to cover it with blankets in order to feel comfortable on it. The bedding was also stained, as well as the carpet. There was a broken lock on the second floor sliding glass door and the microwave had a broken piece that would fall off when we were using the stove below it. There was a general lack of cleanliness throughout the house and a smell of sewage. Also, the toilets backed up a few times while we were there. There was also a problem with ants. We were disappointed in the house as well as the rental company for renting a house in this condition. We had expected a phone call from the rental agency during our visit to check with us about our rental. That never happened. In conclusion, our trip was not as comfortable as we would have hoped for, but we also would give Outer Banks Blue the benefit of doubt since it was towards the end of the high season. Perhaps the house had been abused by many visitors. We hope that Outer Banks Blue will make amends for this visit. At this point, we doubt that we will ever rent from them again.

Response from the manager Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the "Pelican's reef" property in Duck. We apologize for your discontent, and hope that your previous experiences with Outer Banks Blue will outweigh the negatives you experienced during your stay. We value our guests' experience at our properties and are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with this rental. We strive to make our guests' experience trouble free with our check in by mail program, the fact sheets and towels (beds made too) at no extra charge, and our simple all inclusive pricing without those maddening nickle and dime extra charges that irritate. We look forward to serving you better on your next stay and again apologize for your disappointment. All the best from the beach!

“The area was great”

Reviewed 20 Oct 2011

I thought the house was nice. Somethings we thought need attention: Check in was supposed to be at 4:00 but the cleaning people did not leave till almost 5:00. The carpet on the bottom and second floor was very stained and old and needed to be replaced. The pool table was falling apart. The things we liked about the house were; the top floor was amazing. We loved the floor and the open area. The deck going around the upper and middle levels were very nice. The pool was good but we wish it could have been heated. The location was good. Short walk to the beach and close to shopping. It was nice that most of the bedrooms had there own bathrooms. For the price I think it was a good value.


Reviewed 29 Sep 2011

Good overall but needs some updating. Kitchen missing any kind of baking dish/corningwear, etc. Pump was broken on swimming pool, but was addressed fairly quickly by pool maint. company. Toilet in bottom level has leaky seal, caused some flooding, so we didn't use it further. Cleaners were to report it to outer banks blue. As a realty company, you are the best with whom we've dealt on the Outer Banks, and we've been regulars for 11 years. Plan to rent again with you, but probably not this house.

“The rental was very spacious and private.”

Reviewed 30 Jun 2011

We utilized all the rooms with the exception of the one with the double bed and twin bed on top. The mattress on the double bed was awful. We had to have some family members stay with family at a different rental. All the other rooms were fine. The rental is beginning to show wear on the furnishings. I would also suggest blinds to help with cooling. We had the bedroom on the third floor and could not filter out the bright sunlight in the early morning. The kitchen was well furnished. We loved having access to the pool and hot tub.

“Very happy with the house.”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2010

Was very impressed with the house and the service. Then location was excellent.

“8/2010 OBX Vaca!”

Reviewed 6 Sep 2010

Rental was great overall. Plenty of space for everyone. It was high tide/rough surf most of the week so it was great to be able to go back to the house and lounge in the pool. Fenced in yard was great for the dogs. There were 3 grills. Only 1 worked and it was terrible. We love Outer Banks Blue, their service, and the keyless entry!! We will definitely use Outer Banks Blue again and would absolutely stay in this house again!

“Week at the beach”

Reviewed 5 Sep 2010

While all had a good time there were three things that bothered me. the trash was not picked up prior to our arrival after several calls, someone just dragged it out to the street where it still was not picked up. We had TTO pass it every time we went to the beach. i am afraid that it smelled awful! The bunk beds downstairs Squeeked. The children were there and while children can usually sleep through anything, these were pretty nosy and we actually had to put two Matresses on the floor. Minor point, there could have been more towels, but we just washed a little more. I probably just did not read the materials thoroughly, but we went to your office to check in as we had to with Twiddy last year, but it turns out we did not need to do this. Could have been Great-probably my fault.

Review 1-10 of 25

Also consider

Outer Banks

1,697 properties

Topsail Island

807 properties


747 properties

Emerald Isle

613 properties


212 properties

Holden Beach

206 properties

Kill Devil Hills

174 properties

Atlantic Beach

139 properties

Hatteras Island

105 properties

Pine Knoll Shores

71 properties

Indian Beach

68 properties


57 properties

Kure Beach

57 properties

Bald Head Island

50 properties

Sneads Ferry

50 properties

Oak Island

26 properties

New Bern

13 properties


11 properties


11 properties


9 properties

Start a new search