Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 6 bedroom house in Southern Shores today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 12 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1950 to as high as $6100, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 19, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
Outer Banks Blue
- Calendar last updated:
- 19 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Southern-shores Attractions
- Air conditioning
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- CD player
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 12 reviews
- Very Good
We loved the Klein Cottage! Loved the cottage itself, loved the location in Southern Shores, and loved how we were right on the beach! Sadly, the elevator was not unlocked when we arrived on Saturday and the hot tub was not filled either. It was not filled until Monday and did not even 'warm' up until Wednesday. We were missing the 'welcome information' and package that our friends had received through Outer Banks Blue in that we didn't know how to secure the elevator at night when they did unlock it. Despite the frustrations of the elevator, the hot tub, and the missing welcome package/instructions...we had a fabulous time at the Klein Cottage!:-) We have seven kids ages 8 - 15 and we certainly made lots of memories!:-)
“Gorgeous House in a Great Location !”
This house was really beautiful, especially the great room which is just breathtaking. Loved the simplicity of check in (which consisted of just arriving at the house and waiting for 4PM when the lock code would re-set to the code that had been provided to us) and check out (which consisted of leaving :) We had a "furniture malfunction" on our last day there, but OBB just came and picked it up to take it for repair, no questions asked. The only downsides to the house are: #1)the hot tub (which, frankly, shouldn't even be advertised as an amenity because it's just one of those "temporary" kinds (but looks like it's been there a long time) This was not a real issue for us, however, as we are not big hot-tub users. #2) Food storage area...there's no real pantry. We moved pots and pans around to make some room for food. #3) The thermostat for the bedrooms on the main (great room) floor are outside of the bedrooms and, thus, regulates based on the temp in the great room rather than the bedrooms themselves. No big deal once you figure out how you need to "offset" the temp. After the first night we knew what to do and it wasn't a problem. None of those three problems were deal breakers for us, though, because the house is just so gorgeous, the beach in front of the house is uncrowded (in early august,prime season, we didn't have any other people set up on the beach closer than maybe 50 feet from us) and the location is great with regards to proximity to grocery store, the walking/biking trail to Duck, etc. There is also an elevator that actually works, not that we used it for anything other than groceries. We hope to rent this house again next year !
“Our Pot of Gold!”
Klein Cottage was the ideal beach home for our 15 member family reunion! This very large home offers everything you can think of with its very spacious kitchen, multiple appliances and living areas, etc., etc. Nothing could top the unbelievable areas of decks and porches... except the large beachfront at our disposal! The location was perfect - secluded but with easy access to dining/shopping - but who would want to leave this "end of the rainbow?" Not us!
“It is a roomy home which can accomodate a large group.”
The home was very nice. The kitchen needed some additional supplies for example large bowls and platters for serving. The gas grill was missing when we arrived and since we planned to grill out that night it was a problem. Outer Banks delivered a new grill the next day. The hot tub was the one part of the home that was unsatisfactory and Outer Banks Blue's handling of the issue was less than satisfactory as well. We found that the hot tub was not hot and reported this the first day we were there. Thereafter, we called each day to inquire about the status of the repair. We never received a return call and the hot tub was never repaired. I also asked for a refund of part of our rental amount but received no return call on that either.
“Overall OK, with a few problems”
Need instruction manuals for all equipment. Bathrooms showed signs of mold in showers, on shower curtain. Some lamps missing light bulbs Difficult to control temperature for the upstairs master bedrooms - too cold. One master bedroom had non-matching bed linens. Floors very sandy; rug in master bedroom full of sand. Location excellent, books and games available.
Response from the manager Dear Holtzmans, Thanks for your review of the Klein Cottage. We appreciate your feedback. We work very hard under tight time lines to prepare the properties for our next guests, and sometimes a few things are missed from time to time, we apologize that the bed linens were not placed on the one bed properly, and that you found some sand on the floors. Just so you are aware we do have housekeeping staff standing by on check in day until late in the evening to ensure that these types of things are taken care of right away. Our records she that we sent a cleaning inspector by your house on the day of your arrival to ensure everything was to your satisfaction. Unfortunately the person that our inspector spoke to said everything was fine or we would have rectified these items right away. On your next visit please don't feel like you need to settle for less...give us a shout and let us know what's wrong so we can correct it right away! All the best from the beach!
“We thought Klein Cottage was just beautiful and had a great stay”
We are 3 familes that rent on the Outer Banks every summer and until now had not found a house we wanted to return to. Klein Cottage changed that -- we loved it and have already booked for next summer. Unlike some of the previous houses we have stayed at the decor was understated and lovely, the kitchen well-appointed and the views spectacular. If we could change anything it would just be that each person got a hand towel too and not just a facecloth and bath towel. But minor in the scheme of things.
“Good family time”
Really liked the early check in. But the outside furniture was very dirty(had to scrub most chairs before we could use them) and fingerprints were all over glass doors as well as sand in the lower level main room. Kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. Had not left enough towels(only had 2 hand towels) and only two of the pillows in the whole place had pillowcases on them. These things were taken care of the next day after we called but it was not pleasant sleeping with pillows with no cases the first night. Also the internet did not work and was not even addressed until 3 days after we arrived even though we called many times about it. One person had to go to Starbucks(twice) to use the computer for business that he had hoped to do from the house--bummer. Even after an attempt was made to correct the internet problem, only one of the 3 computers that were brought could get any kind of signal. One of the tvs did not work at all and one controller was missing. Loved having 2 dishwashers and the configuration of the upstairs was really great. Loved all of the counter space. The views of the ocean were great and location of house could not be better. All bathrooms were well equipt and we did not miss having individual bathrooms with each bedroom as much as we thought we would. Cute hot tub--very adequate. Plenty of parking space and great driveway for the kids to ride their bikes. Beds were comfortable and the location is a very quiet one-can not hear any road noise.
I have to say that we were very pleased with the house and the town of Southern Shores. We had not rented there before. It had a great view of the ocean and easy access to the beach. The staff at Outer Banks Blue was always there to help us if we needed anyhting. We definitely plan to rent this house again.
“Rain and angry seas did not deter our fun.”
I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the home with this new rental agency. Problems were few and were addressed quickly. This is the first time the elevator worked on arrival day... when there is so much to move, so that was a real plus. My family and I have stayed here for three years now, and love it. It is perfect for us. With small grandchildren in tow, the location is ideal, for getting to the beach with a minimum of "stuff". The kitchen is very well thought out... two sinks, two dishwashers, two refrigerators, to name a few. Larger pots and pans were noticed this year. We enjoy greeting the day, on the deck with coffee in hand, looking for porpoises. We are soon joined by the little ones, excited at the prospect of getting to the beach... who cares if it's only 7 AM!! Naturally, our least favorite part is the leaving, but, it's always nice to get back home!
“I don't want to tell anyone how great this house is!”
What a fantastic house the Klein "Cottage" is. My husband and I rented this house for a week and invited 8 other "empter nesters" so we'd have playmates. One couple arrived before we did so, via cell phones, we were able to give them the code to get in. When all arrived we kicked off the week on the front portion of the upstairs wrap-around porch with cocktails while watching the sun set. The insulated welcome bag was indeed, welcomed. DW soap, paper towel roll, TP etc. came in handy immediately. One couple brought a Honey-Baked Ham, another stopped at the veggie stands on the way down and another did an "express lane" run at the conveniently located grocery store. Many chefs were able to cook without getting in each others' way and the rest of us kept in the conversation around the breakfast bar surrounding the "action" part of the very efficiently designed, well equipped kitchen. Every morning, several of us got up to have our coffee and watch the sunrise on the dune deck. My 87 year old father and his girlfriend were also able to see dolphins swim, jump and ride waves from the beach side of the upstairs wrap-around porch. Having such comfortable bedrooms with plenty of bathrooms, an assortment of beach gear (you might think about replacing the beach chairs), a hot tub, outside showers, downstairs rec room, dune deck and a variety of books to read provided entertainment to satisfy us all. Being right on the ocean is the greatest feature of this "cottage" but we also found the elevator incredibly useful for getting groceries, luggage and my father & girlfriend up to the third floor. What I liked least was that the house was not as clean as it was last year. There was a full trash can in the master bedroom, a full recycle can next to the sink and dirt along the perimeter of the walls.