Need more information about booking Property 2243145 ?
From $261 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 6 / Bathrooms 6 / Sleeps 14 / House
Bedrooms: 6  Bathrooms: 6   Sleeps: 14  Type: House

6 Unknown types

SP004-Ivey's Lair
TripAdvisor property ID 2243145

More Property Details

Book this 6 bedroom house in Duck today! A total of 14 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 6 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1825 to as high as $5045, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 19, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Outer Banks Blue
Calendar last updated:
19 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:04:00, Check out time:10:00
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Duck,-north-carolina Attractions




  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub


  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 6 Unknown types


Reviews (6)

Average – based on 6 reviews Average
6 reviews

Very Good

“Location is great, house could use some upgrades!”

Reviewed 21 Jul 2013

We had a great time at Ivey's Lair. Mostly because of the people who went. There was good and badin this house. The best is the location. A walk to the beach and town. The house was great for our dog with the fenced in yard. Unfortunately, the house needs some upgrading. The hot tub, pool filtering system, dishwashers, gas grill, basketball hoop all were broken and/or not working properly. Also where was the foosball table shown is the web pictures? The gas grill ran out of gas the first night. The master br was missing a toilet seat! It took 3 days for them to put a new one on. Come on people! The cleaning company should have called that in and that should have been fixed before we arrived. The grass was long and some parts had weeds 18 inches high. Again, it took 3 days for someone to come cut it. This house could be great but it will take an owner willing to put some money into it to bring it to its full potential. Not sure I would stay here again with all the issues we had unless things were fixed or replaced.

Response from the manager Dear Nancy, We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with "Ivey's Lair." Actually you rented the property immediately after the owners of the property enjoyed a week for their personal use. These owners do a good job of anticipating guests needs and providing appropriate amenities at their property so we are disappointed to hear of your angst. We did respond to each call we received from your party and we apologize that our efforts did not meet your expectations. We also apologize that you expected a foosball table. This home does not have that amenity. The pictures should not have shown that on any site. The home does have a pool table however. We apologize for the confusion regarding that. We look forward to serving you better in the near future. All the best from the beach!

“Ok but... I'd say save your money”

Reviewed 5 Dec 2012

We were very excited to rent Ivey's Lair for our Thanksgiving Reunion. The pictures showed a beautifully decorated and upscale house. Unfortunately the house did not live-up to our expectations & wasn't worth the money we spent. Here's a list of problems we encountered,keep in mind we were there in Nov. which I would have thought said to the rental company, prepare the house for winter rentals. 1. There were no blankets on the beds, only the bedspreads & there were only 2 extra blankets (6 bedroom house) in the house and both had to be washed by us before your could use them, the were dirty with disgusting stains. We had to call for extra blankets. They brought 3 (1 twin-there were 4 twin beds, 1 queen-there were 4 queen beds, and 1 king) 2. The king size bed had queen size sheets on it which we also had to call about & change ourselves. 3. The fireplace was out of propane. They did come and fill the tank Thursday night (we arrived on Sat), but on Friday we couldn't get it lit. The directions were followed however no dice. We left Sat - waste of time 4. We were missing remote controls for the Tv's and one didn't even have a back. You had to hold the batteries in place to change the channel. We had to continualy move remotes from one room to the other. 5. The pool was still open, filled with leaves and the lawn furniture was literally in the pool. We figured the pool people would come along but after 3 days we fished the lawn furniture out ourselves. 6. The backyard was filled with burr's that our poor dog encountered everytime he went out. So much so that the poor guy was afraid to go in the grass. We had to de-burr him 4 times a day. 7. There's something completely off about the heating and cooling. The upstairs room remained freezing while the downstairs rooms were too hot. 8. The pool table only had 1 pool cue.The other one was broken as was the trianlge & no chalk to be found. 9. The beds were horrible! The box springs must be old as the OBX Dunes.

Response from the manager Ms. Newman, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We apologize for your continued dissatisfaction with Ivey's Lair. We of course heard from you regarding the sheets, blankets, and propane. We dispatched someone to the property to rectify those issues right away and thought until this moment that they were solved. The propane was delivered on Thanksgiving night as you stated, and again we thought the issue was resolved. We did not hear anything further from you on the fireplace, nor the other items you outlined here. We would have been glad to take care of anything that we could during your stay. Relative to the value we feel like you may be mistaken. Ivey's Lair is a wonderful property. The pictures on our website are authentic, and I'm not sure you realize the value received on this rental as the cost was less than $100 per person for an 8 day stay. We hope you have a better stay next time. All the best from the beach!

“Our family had a wonderful time at Ivey's Lair”

Reviewed 21 Jul 2012

We had eigt adults and eight children from 3 months to eighteen years old. There was never a boring moment and everyone had plenty of room in the house. Whad a week that was in the high 90s, but we loved every minute of it. The 4th of July parade went right by the house, fireworks went off on the beach that were pretty prfessional for the area's private viewing and everyone did as they pleased during the day ( pool, beach, town, pool table, volleyball, or just relaxed) and we all had dinner together or went out. When we go to the house there were a few minor things that had to be taken care of: the gas grill was not there, the outside pool lights were not working, and some inside lights did not work. We called and everything was taken care within two days. The only thing that needs to be address are the two dishwashers. They do not clean the dishes. We wound up doing them by hand. I am not sure if the water is not hot enough for the machines or what. We did not report it, but they now know and I am sure it will be fixed. We can't wait to go back!!!

“Air conditioning issues”

Reviewed 27 Jun 2011

We arrived on Sunday and immediately reported that the aC was not working. Monday the unit was looked at and more freon added. It ran for about 2 hours and froze up. We called on Tues when neither unit was working. Again someone from OBB came and "unfroze" one and reset the other. The downstairs one worked for several hours but the upstairs unit never came on. On Wed. we were told that the owners Hvac person would be out to check. He came a 5 and declared the upstairs unit dead. He would replace it the next day if he got the owners approval. In the meantime I called OBB to see if they had any window units we could use since it was now 92 degrees upstairs. No they didn't so we went to Wal Mart and bought window units so that we could be upstairs. By Thurs morning, the upstairs was cooled down. We got word that the unit would be replaced that day and if not, then they would move us to another house. The unit was replaced at 7:30 p.m. We were essentially without air conditioning for 5 of the 7 days we stayed there and had to take matters in our own hands by providing our own aC. I was told by the manager of OBB that I would be getting a substantial refund for our somewhat ruined vacation. We should not have had to deal with "house" issues when we were at the Outer Banks to relax and get away from such issues. The "substantial refund" was $350 which was 20% of what we paid to stay there. The owner of the property only authorized that much and OBB should have matched it since our contract was with OBB and not the owner. The house itself was fine except for this major issue. i would rent it again since I know that it has new aC units.

Review 1-6 of 6

Also consider

Outer Banks

1,062 properties

Topsail Island

720 properties

Emerald Isle

591 properties


271 properties

Kill Devil Hills

165 properties


146 properties

Hatteras Island

86 properties

Atlantic Beach

73 properties

Kure Beach

71 properties

Indian Beach

65 properties


58 properties

Pine Knoll Shores

56 properties

Oak Island

53 properties

Sneads Ferry

49 properties

Bald Head Island

48 properties


18 properties


14 properties

New Bern

14 properties


9 properties

Holden Beach

9 properties

Start a new search