Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 3 bedroom house in Kitty Hawk today! A total of 9 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a air conditioning, internet access, and dishwasher among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 6 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $975 to as high as $3175, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 20, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
Outer Banks Blue
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Kitty-hawk Attractions
- Air conditioning
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- CD player
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 6 reviews
- Very Good
“Great Location, but...”
My husband, two young children, and parents stayed here for a week in June 2014 and had a wonderful time. What appealed to me when I was looking for a rental was a "duneless" house on the beach with a large deck and this house was perfect. Having spent many hours researching houses, I was glad to see a house that had an unobstructed view of the beach (by dunes). A mere 20 steps off the took you to the beach. Working with Outer Bank Blue was easy. The online process was simple. The ladies I spoke with were always very pleasant even if I called with a concern. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the house could use a "deep clean". I knew the cleaning service had been here since all the beds were changed and fresh towels were rolled neatly on the freshly made beds, however I wondered just how much "cleaning" they had done. There was a large pile dead insects on each of the window sills in the upper cathedral ceiling. For one reason or another, I had to climb under the computer desk in the living room and it was like no one had moved the cables and desk to dust the baseboards and floor in a very long time. Due to the the high humidity levels (I'm guessing), the paint is severely peeling off the wall where the tape is joins each sheet of drywall. Finally, there was a slight ant problem so be sure not to leave food on the floor. Not sure if this is typical of the area or beach houses. Having traveled during the mid-high season and paid the amount we did, I would have hoped for something a little more kept up and cleaner. Having said this and walked the beach in the area, I would recommend this place to someone as the owners have taken good care of the exterior, they just need to spend some time on the interior now. TIP: Bring your own pans and (large) knives.
“Great Location, but Not Much Else”
The property's location, exterior deck, and deck furniture were fabulous. Unfortunately, the inside was very dirty and needed TLC. The home smelled awful when we arrived, so we needed to use Febrese. Vents, baseboards and carpets had thick layers of dust and grime. The sofas were filthy, stained and torn. Numerous dead bugs were visible on most window sills and ceilings. Trash was found in the master bedroom closet. Outer Banks Blue provided excellent linens and towels, but the home's blankets and area rugs were stained, torn and dirty. We have stayed in many rental homes and hotels, but this was the dirtiest property I have ever seen. It needs a massive cleaning!
Response from the manager Dear mmsbfarr, Thank you for your kind comments about the delivery of service by Outer Banks Blue, and indeed many of the aspects of this property. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with the rental of this home. The cleaning issues you outlined have been addressed with the appropriate people to ensure other guests don't experience the same. We look forward to serving you again soon. All the best from the beach!
My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and all i can say is wow! This home houses a beautiful oceanfront view which we enjoyed everyday. The amenities to the home were excellent especially the extended channels on the tv. We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone! Terrific place and terrific week thank you!!!
“Wonderful Beach front...”
Rental with Outer Banks Blue For "the Haven" was so easy, as was check in. Although we went on a out of season time after driving 13 hrs and arriving just after the 4 pm check in we were greeted by a cleaning service to tell us that the home was not clean and wouldn't be ready for some time. The home itself was comfortable and in a great location. What was lacking was cleanliness and maintenance.
Response from the manager Ms. Gordy, Thank you for posting your review of "The Haven" in Kitty Hawk. This house has a great location on the Oceanfront. We are glad you enjoyed your week there. We wanted to apologize to you for the fact the house was not ready for you when you were ready to check in. While our lease agreement does indicate that we have until 6 PM to prepare each property this was an extreme situation that does not happen often. We were frankly embarrassed by the miscommunication that took place on the day of your arrival between the homeowner who vacated the property earlier that day, and our company. Our company President has corresponded with you outside of this forum to offer my apologies and to explain the situation further, but we wanted to be sure you know what you experienced is not normal, and we hope his communication with you helps you to understand the situation better. We look foward to serving you again soon, and look foward to a less eventful stay next time. All the best from the beach!
Wow,could not have been better,great views,great to watch the Dolphins come in and play in the surf right in front of us,even better only 1 day of rain. Never really wanted to leave.