Need more information about booking Property 2263002 ?
From $522 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 5 / Bathrooms 5 / Sleeps 12 / House
Bedrooms: 5  Bathrooms: 5   Sleeps: 12  Type: House

5 Unknown types

Marsh Hen
TripAdvisor property ID 2263002

More Property Details

Book this 5 bedroom house in Pawleys Island today! A total of 12 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 15 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2255 to as high as $6310, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 24, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Litchfield Real Estate
Calendar last updated:
24 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Pawleys-island Attractions




  • Air conditioning

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub


  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave


  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 5 Unknown types


Reviews (15)

Very Good – based on 15 reviews Very Good
15 reviews

Very Good

“Fantastic Family Vacation Rental”

Reviewed 22 Aug 2013

This house felt like we'd borrowed a friend's beloved beach house for the week, not a generic rental. It's not in pristine condition (just like any other personal home), but that was a relief since we had three boys. It is in very good condition---very comfortable---only negative that comes to mind was that downstairs bedrooms were a bit warm. Fabulous location. Friendly, helpful rental company. Would definitely rent again or recommend to others.

Response from the manager Sounds like your family enjoyed their vacation at this beach house as much as the owner's family enjoys their vacation stays! Thank you for sharing. We look forward to having you back on the beach soon!


Reviewed 15 Aug 2013

We really enjoyed the ocean front views. The house was very dated (older furniture both inside and out). There were only 3 tvs in the house with very uncomfortable couches in the main room. The kitchen wasn't very well-equipped (e.g., measuring cups and spoons not available).

Response from the manager Marsh Hen has Old Pawleys Charm that is attractive to many guests. Please remember for next time, we cater to guests' needs during their stay. Thanks to your comments in this review, we will be sure this kitchen is equipped with the missing items mentioned. Thank you for sharing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beach soon!

“Pawleys is Lovely”

Reviewed 20 Sep 2012

My family certainly enjoyed our visit to Pawleys Island. We have been coming here for years and always have a wonderful time. The house was a little off the beach but certainly beach accessible. No Problem. We enjoyed the house and its comfort. Please make sure you ask that the stove top has been fixed and the dishwasher has been fixed. Just things you want to work totally and not make a lot of noise. Otherwise a very nice home.

“Wonderful week @ oceanfront property with soft white sand and pe”

Reviewed 30 Aug 2012

Our first time @ Pawleys Island will hold a lifetime of great memories. Upon arrival after an 8 hour drive, Marsh Hen was a welcoming site to behold. The back porch seemed to always have a breeze you can enjoy from the rocking chairs or hammock. The cozy house was ready on time and was in order as expected. The property management was very helpful for two minor glitches we had during our stay. They fixed both problems within hours of being advised of our concerns and followed up to be certain we were satisfied. The house itself sits back from the beach a little more than I expected. The short walk down your own private pier brings you to an amazing white beach. The sand is soft and clean. The few days we had a brief rain shower, we left our umbrellas @ the beach only to come back an hour later and enjoy the rest of the day. The convenience to many great restaurants, local gardens, pirate shows in Myrtle Beach and Charleston only an hour away leaves us planning our next vacation back @ Pawleys Island. The only negative feedback I would say is some of the furniture is rather worn, and the bathrooms are rather small. You do however, have more bathrooms available than any other house I have stayed in. The 3 outdoor showers really helped prior to entering house. Also, some nights the noise from the pool @ the condos next door would get rather loud.

Response from the manager We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Marsh Hen and that we were able to fix the "glitches" in short order. We hope to see you again very soon!

“Family retreat to celebrate our 40th anniversery”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2012

Our stay aug. 18 thru 25 was excellent. It was perfect for the ten of us. Six adults and four children. Plenty of space. Great beach and location. Plenty of good restaurants and grocery stores close. Hope to come back in two years when the twins are four years old. Working with Litchfield Real Estate was excellent through out the whole process.

Response from the manager We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Marsh Hen! We look forward to seeing you in a couple of years! BTW - you might want to keep an eye on the bookings next summer so you can get your preferred week for 2014! As you know, guests have first option for the same week the following year but if they don't "re-up" we can get you guys in there! Thanks!

“Homey, Relaxing, Restful a real family place.”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2012

Our stay was great. The house was just as pictured on line and it had a very inviting feel. Bedrooms with ajoining baths was great and offered privacy. The view and the beach were so close that it made coming & going so easy. The beach felt almost private.We truly enjoyed our stay and would strongly consider renting the house again.Some negatives are outdoor spaces need some repair and better maintenance. Some more detailed cleaning of hard wood floors.Outdoor showers were fabulous to use but needed some repair.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Marsh Hen - we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We will look into the repair on some of the outdoor places and outdoor showers. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

“Pawleys Paradise”

Reviewed 21 Jun 2012

Marsh Hen offered a beautiful and spacious setting for our college friends' reunion. With a game room upstairs, a large living/dining area downstairs, a covered side porch, a screened porch and open deck with ocean view and a scenic boardwalk right out to the beach, we were able to visit, read, sunbathe, walk, relax . . . . and nap, to our hearts' delight. Although we felt 'away from it all' we were moments away from wonderful dining, shopping at the Hammock Shop, book browsing at Litchfield Books and the spectacular Brookgreen Gardens. The worst thing about our stay? It was over way too quickly.

Response from the manager Then come back again very soon! As you know, the owner has removed the screening from the porch to allow ocean breezes to flow through. Marsh Hen is a wonderful beach house and we're so glad you enjoyed it and all our area has to offer!

“Perfect low-country relaxing in our favorite vacation spot”

Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was the 3rd year we've stayed at Marsh Hen and we hope to keep the tradition alive for years to come. It's a roomy, fun beach house with a great deck and an unpretentious vibe - perfect for our family of 5 and our friend's family of 3 to enjoy one another's company, without being on top of each other. The outdoor showers are a favorite and catching small lizards down the long, private driveway covered by a canopy of low-country flora was a highlight for my 4-year-old. The beach in front of the house is absolutely incredible - huge during low tide with great sand for relaxing or playing - stretching out endlessly north and south. The breeze is consistent and helps keep the temperature from ever feeling to hot, which was a blessing for us coming from dry, cool Colorado. We had an amazing dinner at Frank's Outback just across the causeway and enjoyed daily walks on the beach and also to the old hardware store down the road - our kids would pick out a treat and we'd get a little bit of exercise and see what fish people were catching on the small bridge linking the island to the mainland. You can also pick up great fresh shrimp from a vendor in front of the hardware store during certain times of year. Some of the best moments of the trip were spent on the big deck (both covered and uncovered) in the classic Pawley's hammock rocking to the waves in clear view with a nice breeze and a fresh daquiri in hand (thank goodness they had a blender!). See you next year Marsh Hen!

Response from the manager Thank you for sharing with us your stay in Marsh Hen! It is a wonderful Pawleys house, lovingly cared for by the owners. We look forward to seeing you back for years to come!

“very , very dissapointing.”

Reviewed 27 Oct 2011

The first floor of the home had not been cleaned, both bath mats had not been washed,Dead bug & ants in master bath.No screen on screen porch.Light out in second bedroom 1st floor.2nd floor appeared to haave had cleaning service. No soap in ist floor baths.Dirty golf towel left onback on mbr bath door.The two tall windows in the great room with out paynes were open a inch or so and the night of the storm we kept putting down towels to soak it up for fear of the ardwood floors being ruined.The biggest dissapointment was the walk way to the beach , there was a 3 to 3hlf foot drop to the sand. When I booked the reservation I explained two of us had walking problems, so there was no way for 2 of us to get to the beach, as we could jump down that distance.I would like to say Kay was very professinal in every way and most helpfull getting someone to unload our cars.The two plastic lounge chairs on the deck are broken.The chairs around the card table are broken , they have had repair attemps but the wheels still fall out.The decor ,fabrics and antique touches were most attractive but the house was not in good dhape of clean, the white slipcovers on the couches need a good washing.Sorry to be so negative but I was very dissaointe.

Response from the manager We are so sorry you were disappointed. Wow, were we surprised when we got your negative review as Marsh Hen is a very well-reviewed property! A staff member inspected the property just before your check-in and it was approved. We ask our guests to call us if they are not 100% satisfied, and we never heard from you the entire week! Kay and the entire Litchfield Real Estate rental department are here to ensure our guests have a wonderful time and when we don't hear anything, we assume all is wonderful! With regards to the walkway to the beach – we inspected it to make sure all is safe and that walkway ends at the high water mark and isn’t on the homeowner’s property. The “drop-off” is only about two feet of sloping sand – not unusual for the beach. And, just like the sea, the sand ebbs and flows constantly - we can't control Mother Nature.

“Felt like a guest in a friends home.”

Reviewed 21 Sep 2011

This is a great house and well cared for by the owners! Plenty of room to spread out and kitchen supplies were better than most rentals. The only negative is that you can't see the ocean from the deck because of plant growth. The ocean is visible from the porch. Private walkway to ocean is very convenient.

Response from the manager That is exactly how we want you to feel - like you're a valued guest in a friend's home! Marsh Hen is a wonderful beach house and we're glad you enjoyed it. We'll mention to the owner about the growth - thanks!

Review 1-10 of 15