Need more information about booking Property 2265459 ?
Very Good

1 / 33 Big Bear Lodge

From $989 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 7 / Bathrooms 6 / Sleeps 26 / Log cabin
Bedrooms: 7  Bathrooms: 6   Sleeps: 26  Type: Log cabin

6 Unknown types

TripAdvisor property ID 2265459

More Property Details

Book this 7 bedroom log cabin in Gatlinburg today! A total of 26 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 20 reviews.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 17, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

American Patriot Getaways
Calendar last updated:
17 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.

Damage deposit: $300.00
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Gatlinburg Attractions




  • Fireplace


  • CD player


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 6 Unknown types


Reviews (20)

Very Good – based on 20 reviews Very Good
20 reviews

Very Good

“The house needs many repairs!”

Reviewed 6 Feb 2014

The area is very nice, and the overall experience was great, but the house is in desperate need of maintenance. Most of the door knobs and locks do not work, the blinds do not close or open, the main stove does not work properly, the TV in the main living room gets a bad signal, and the theater was missing the necessary wiring to work. The house does not have internet access!!! The heater in the first and second floors did not work and those floors were extremely cold. Most of the doors do not have weather stripping, and cold air blows through.The washers and dryers work sporadically. In general, the house is in bad shape and needs many repairs before it is rented again. I will not rent a house from this company again. We paid close to $4k dollars for 5 days, and this house was definitely not worth it!

Response from the manager I am sorry that you were not pleased with Big Bear Lodge. I have sent your review to the owner of the property and strongly suggested that the items you mentioned be fixed. Thank you for your input. I assure you that your review is being seen by the owner.

“Room for everyone.”

Reviewed 2 Dec 2013

As so many others have stated about finding the cabin--do not come after dark. It really is too risky a drive on such narrow, curvy, and steep roads but what a view once you get here. Kitchen is well stocked but bring your favorite dishes for serving the meal itself; this cabin needs an electric or reliable can opener! We loved the open spaces, the views, the beds were great. Family entertained nightly by "Ringo" the cabin's raccoon that comes nightly after 6pm for feedings. Very limited hanging space for clothes so pack for drawer use instead. Had problem with wasps in top bedroom and kitchen but maintenance and can of spray kept everything under control. We look forward to another large family gathering in a cabin from this company.

“Perfect accommodations for our group.”

Reviewed 6 Nov 2013

There was ample room for everyone in our group. The lodge was well equipped with all the items needed for our stay. Plenty of televisions so all could watch what they wanted. Movie screen was ideal for group time movie. Excellent view from the decks. High in the mountains with a quiet atmosphere. Would recommend to other groups.


Reviewed 19 Jul 2013

We had a Great time staying at Big Bear Lodge. We had a Children's Church here. We had 15 people to stay with us and had plenty of room for everyone. It worked Great for us as a Church group. We had a problem with a/c unit on the 5th floor and I called the office and within mins the service guy was there to fix our problem. I have never been disappointed staying with aPG. Thanks so much for a wonderful experience.

“Not very professional”

Reviewed 26 Jun 2013

The company we rented from (American Patriot Getaways) was one that we thought were professional and customer service oriented. Every time we called we got good service and help from the ladies who were helping us book cabins. Our company booked 7 large cabins from them within a 9 month period and we had Big Bear 3 times. The last time we rented it the projector was missing from the movie room and we needed it to give our business presentation during our company outing. We had just stayed at that cabin the weekend before and everything was working fine so we were not sure what went wrong. Our company was able to get their hands on another projector but the issue made things very difficult for us. The second cabin we were staying in during this same outing had 2 mice running around scaring our guests. Needless to say this weekend made our company look "cheap" with the cabins we rented. We called Patriot Getaways and asked to speak with a manager regarding a partial or complete refund before we would rent from them again. They advised us they took diligent notes and would have someone call us in the next 24 hours. 3 days later we called again to complain and were told there were no notes in the system and we had to explain everything that happened again. We were told again that someone would be in contact with us and that diligent notes were written in the system. We still have not heard from anyone and it has been weeks. They obviously only care about taking your money and renting their cabins. Do not rent from them! The cabins are not well taken care of and they do not compensate when you are inconvenienced. Big Bear looked like it had been used, abused and not well taken care of.

“Amazing place for a large group!”

Reviewed 21 Jun 2013

This rental was perfect for an extended weekend trip for a group of friends. The cabin was well stocked and had all of the dishes/cutlery/pans we needed for each meal. We especially enjoyed the views from the 4th and 5th floors- spectacular! The hot tubs were great to relax in at night. We had a few maintenance issues upon arrival but they were taken care of within 2 hours thanks to the maintenance man on call. The folks at american Patriot Getaways were very helpful and made it easy to check in and out of the cabin. We were sad to leave but excited to rent this cabin again soon!

“Wonderful Reunion!”

Reviewed 20 Jun 2013

We rented the Big Bear Lodge for our Gulf War Veteran reunion in May 2013. The place is amazing!! Everything went very smoothly with getting into the place. It was even ready early and they let us in prior to the scheduled check-in time. There is really nothing you could want that or need that isn't provided in this cabin rental. So spacious that even with our large group everyone had their own accomodations and we weren't ever crowded or cramped. It was a great backdrop for a very memorable trip with amazing people. Not much parking though for such a large unit and it shares a parking lot with another cabin.

“Don't let the bedroom count fool you.”

Reviewed 4 Jan 2013

This cabin may have a lot of space and even a theater room, but don't let that fool you into thinking any of it is nice. The floors / ceilings are a single board on top of the joists which makes for an extremely noisy experience. Every noise, every conversation, every footstep is heard by those above and below you. You can't roll over without your downstairs neighbor hearing it. The roof leaks when it rains, the plumbing backed up into the shower on the 3rd floor so we were without that bathroom for two days. The main floor dvd player / TV need to be replaced soon. The DVD player was useless. I know this is supposed to be a cabin for budget conscience travelers, but that shouldn't require a complete sacrifice of quality. The saving grace was the response from Guest Services. They had a plumber with a backhoe digging up the septic system on New Year's Eve and their cleaning crew followed up and sanitized the bathroom after the work was finished. Location: It's a great spot for ease of access to Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. You're right in between the two. The view from the deck is probably the best in the state. You could see for miles. Overall, you can tell this house was built quickly and basically ignored after construction completed. The gaps in the floor, the doors that won't shut well, the worn out equipment and the leaks in the windows are a result of deferred maintenance or ignored wear. The results of which become a problem for Patriot Getaways. I now have to assume all their properties will be just as worn and ignored as Big Bear Lodge.

“Big Bear Experience”

Reviewed 16 Aug 2012

My family and I vacationed at Big Bear lodge for a week in July of 2012. It was the the best vacation ever. When we first walked in the cabin it was so amazing. The cabin was wonderful. It was equip with more than what we thought. The theater was so nice when we had movie night. The beds was very comfortable along with the nice bathrooms. The view is breath taking during sunset. The two kithens was very nice to have when cooking for a large family. When we needed something fixed we called and they came right away and that was only once. I recommend this cabin to any family that is going on vacation. Thanks american Patriot Getaways

“The Weaver/Price Family Reunion”

Reviewed 8 Dec 2011

We had a ball, The cabin was 1st class and the service was 1st rate as usual. We will be back for the third time in 2012. Most of my family didn't even leave the cabin!! I really enjoyed the theater the 2 kitchens and the view. We also had some friendly visitors of the "Racoon" persuasion. (I'm not really sure if they came with the cabin lol)I would highly recommend Big Bear to everyone!

Review 1-10 of 20

Also consider

Sevier County

3,106 properties


141 properties


80 properties


73 properties


44 properties


26 properties


24 properties


18 properties


15 properties

Sumner County

13 properties

Tellico Plains

12 properties


8 properties

La Follette

8 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Mount Juliet

6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search