from $299 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Montreat today! A total of 11 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a deck, air conditioning, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 10 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1495, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 24, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 24 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Montreat Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Ceiling Fans
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Smoking allowed
– based on 10 reviews
- Very Good
Thank you very much Greybeard Rental for the visit in North Carolina for my niece's wedding and for the bridesmaid. The Masseys Cottage was beautiful as well as the town. We also loved the store in Black Mountain. We would recommend you to anybody and would love to book with you again. Thank you again for such an awesome stay! Sincerely, Dena Donnelly
“Wonderful Cottage with beautiful Mountain Views”
Wonderful, spacious Cottage with beautiful Mountain Views. Wonderful, gig screened porch. Great for a family get away yet close to Towns of Black Mountain & Ashville. Montreat area is quaint and the Chapel of the Prodigal, shops & Lake are wonderful area to explore. Found great Breakfast served all day at " the breakfast spot" in Swannoa & also don't miss "The Red Rocker Inn" for a fabulous meal. Great comfortable Cottage and great access to many areas or can just get away & relax. Steep driveway, recommend 4 wheel drive, but once up driveway entry to home is easy access from both levels. Will be back and hope to bring our family the next time. Wonderful Getaway Thank You The Roberts St augustine, Florida
Once we were in the house all was well. However, we had various family and friends who wanted to stop by. No way could they get up the driveway. Had our children not been in a rental car they would not have been able to get up the driveway (and they paid half the rent). Even in their rental car, with little children on that hill, trying to get in and out of the car was trecherous. When a friend came over we had to leave her car at the assembly grounds and drive her up. Furthermore, we did not know that we woudln't have the house we originally rented until the week before we came. When we looked at other houses you offered closer in and with less steep driveways, they were dirty (food under dining room table at one of them)or poorly furnished, not the right sized beds, etc. I guess we felt cheated out of what was to be a vacation for our children and grandchildren that turned out to be a chore. No place for the children to play outside either. The screened porch was nice, but unfortunately anything I say positive is offset by the driveway terrors. Please encourage these owners to spend money and put a lower level drive in to avoid these kinds of reviews.
Response from the manager Another person from your party also reviewed the house...this was the response from the owner. "I read your review on Flipkey. I am very sorry you had such a bad experience with Greybeard Realty. We thought your original house was going to be finished much earlier than it was finished. I hate construction projects. I regret we had to move you to a different house. You are correct that we owe you money. The person that made the transfer to the new house failed to change the rental rate. I wish you had said something sooner because we would have mailed the refund to you. I am putting a check in the mail to you today! It is $100 plus tax. About the driveway, I am sorry you didn't have adequate notice about the steep driveway. We do have that in the description and try to match renters accordingly. Again, I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to respond on Flipkey otherwise we would have never known. If you have any other feedback please let me know. Thank you. Chip Craig Owner GreyBeard Realty"
“Awful - bait and switch”
The house we rented we were told three days before leaving was not available due to construction not being completed. We were shifted to this house - up an impassible driveway (unless you have 4 wheel drive). The steepness of the drive was so bad we couldn't get up sometimes; burning rubber, etc. Please don't rent a house and then not have it ready. As for this place, anyone with children or without a 4 wheel drive should forget it. Plus the house we rented was more expensive than this one and the rental company didn't refund our money.
Response from the manager John, I read your review on Flipkey. I am very sorry you had such a bad experience with Greybeard Realty. We thought your original house was going to be finished much earlier that it was finished. I hate construction projects. I regret we had to move you to a different house. You are correct that we owe you money. The person that made the transfer to the new house failed to change the rental rate. I wish you had said something sooner because we would have mailed the refund to you. I am putting a check in the mail to you today! It is $100 plus tax. About the driveway, I am sorry you didn't have adequate notice about the steep driveway. We do have that in the description and try to match renters accordingly. Again, I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to respond on Flipkey otherwise we would have never known. If you have any other feedback please let me know. Thank you. Chip Craig Owner GreyBeard Realty
“beautiful and relaxing”
What a gorgeous house with amazing views. We loved the screened in porch, it was a fabulous place to let the kids eat and have their own space...as well as cut down on clean up a bit! The house is very practically layed out and was perfect for our needs. Our only complaint was that we couldn't walk to clubs and what not, but it was still worth it.
“Kick back and enjoy the view.”
Our family of 2 teens, 2 20 somethings and parents enjoyed relaxing on the screened porch, dining outdoors and taking in the view. Once we mastered the driveway, our time there was very pleasant. We were close to hiking trails and golf courses. People who are agile enough to climb a steep driveway and stairs would enjoy this place.
We had a blast! The house was beautiful and had everything you could think of. We only have one disadvantage and that is the drive way is very very steep. Also it is very hard to turn a truck into the drive way also! But do not take cars low to the ground cause u will scrap! Other than that the stay was wonderful and we all would stay again! Thanks
“Very comfortable home for our family group and great views!!”
We loved the screened porch off the kitchen,the great view from the living room, the comfortable beds and new appliances. Kitchen is fully and thoughtfully stocked with dishes and cook ware. The children in our group were 5, 1 and 7 months so playing on the screened porch was ideal, but not a lot of outside play space for school age children. The drive way is a challlenge but our 4 wheel drive vehicles did fine with it. We had a great week and hope to stay here again.
Our family of six enjoyed several days in this new home. The fourplan is open and includes a terrific small screened in side porch with a beautiful view. The home is very accomodating with a full kitchen with all the tools a great chef would need. The master bedroom is comfortable with a private bath. The bedrooms below are decorated with a style any Montreater would enjoy. If you have the chance, stay at the Massey Cottage, one of the best in Montreat.