Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom villa in Cruz Bay today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 26 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $5200 to as high as $9000, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 40% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 21, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Catered To Vacation Homes
Catered To Vacation Homes
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Cruz-bay Attractions
- Air conditioning
Pool / Spa
- Private outdoor pool (unheated)
- Smoking allowed
– based on 26 reviews
- Very Good
“Best experience, ever!”
From the moment we started our search, through booking and then our stay, this was the best experience! The villa is spectacular. The location is perfect. Not far at all from the main downtown area of Cruz Bay, past the market and up a hill you arrive at the most incredible view! From every bedroom and the numerous porches, you have views of water, ST Thomas and Cruz Bay. You have your choice of sunset, sunrise and lights of ST Thomas all day and night. The villa is well-maintained, the furniture is in great shape, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen lacks for nothing! The pool is perfect and the grounds provide amazing flowers and birds. Catered To was prompt, kind, thoughtful and always ready to help from my search through booking and our stay. They called to make sure we wanted for nothing! The only thing potential renters need to know is that the railings on the porches are not suitable for small children as they slats are far apart. I will use Catered To again and again and hope to stay at aurora in the future!
The house was perfect for our family. Well planned out so that some people could sleep while others could play cards on the decks and not disturb anyone. Great living space. Great outdoor space. Very well equipped kitchen. Great outdoor showers. Great location. Close enough to walk to Cruz Bay. Short cab ride. All in all a wonderful experience. Plumbing a little outdated. Kitchen faucet had no pressure but we managed. Overall a wonderful experience.
“Nice, but not the nicest villa we've stayed in.”
The pictures on the web site are a bit misleading. Although it was a nice place, it is a bit older than it looks. It is a 30 year old villa and could use a few cosmetic updates (light falling off wall by pool, paint peeling, etc.).
“Great Week at aurora!”
I would highly recommend staying at aurora! There were 9 of us (two families) and we had a tremendous week on St. John, and aurora was the cornerstone of our great experience. The location was ideal - only a 5 minute drive to the Starfish Market complex (groceries, beer, rum, etc.), and then another couple of minutes to the town of Cruz Bay (restaurants, shopping). The view from aurora was spectacular, looking out over the bay and facing St. Thomas. All of the bedrooms were great, and the main room was a wonderful place to gather in the evenings. And of course the pool was really fun. The folks at 'Catered To' (the folks who handle booking, plus any other issues) were tremendous. Someone met us at the ferry when we arrived, gave us a tour of the house, and gave us an overall lay of the land. And as questions came up during our stay, Catered To was always available and very responsive. You can't go wrong with aurora!
Stayed with 4 couples. Everyone has lots of space in this large, 4 bedroom villa. Views were super. We ate in for several meals and the setup for this was good. Easy, short drive to market and all locations on the island. Layout of the villa is wonderful with views from all angles. We would stay here again.
“Return Visit to aurora”
My wife and I and our 3 kids (8,5,and 1) stayed at aurora for the 4th time. We love the house! However, it was a bit less kid friendly than we remembered. The railings surrounding the house have openings 10 inches wide which meant we could not let our 1 year old out of our sight for a second. The refridgerator stopped working the last two days of our stay, and some of our groceries spoiled. When I let Catered To know about this, the only comment I got was I'm sorry. I have used Catered To to rent houses on St. John 15 times, and have always been very happy. However, the service We received on our last stay was a little disappointing!
Response from the manager As a long time guest of Catered To we would never have wanted to leave you feeling as if we did not care about any challenges you were having at a villa. Since refrigerators are an appliance that we occasionally have challenges with in this difficult climate our policy has always been to reimburse guests for spoiled groceries whenever it is required. We are sorry that we dropped the ball and did not follow through with you to make sure you were reimbursed. We will be forwarding a reimbursement immediately.
“Our stay at aurora was exactly what we'd hoped for.”
Catered To made this vacation very easy for us. We were happy to have arranged for a meal to be delivered our first night there, and from then on, it was simple to shop in town for whatever we needed. Aurora's perch on the hill meant we had a gorgeous view, and we were not daunted by the climb from town ... in fact, we sometimes opted to walk rather than drive. The layout of the house worked very well for our family (husband and wife, three young adult "kids", and one fit grandma.) The pool was pleasant and refreshing, although the fantastic beaches beckoned, and we spent most of our days walking and running on the many rocky trails that we accessed behind the Visitors Center in town, hanging out at beaches, and shopping and eating in town. We all had a fantastic time. Highlights included jet skiing, which we arranged at the Weston Resort, and a sailing/snorkeling trip on the Calypso. Baked in the Sun was a great bakery stop. The market in town is super. We had many great dinners; our favorite restaurant was the Waterfront Bistro. Morgan's Mango was another wonderful place, and we had a terrific dinner at ZoZo's,too. We spent a total of nine days in Cruz Bay, heading home to frigid New Hampshire on the day after Christmas. Thanks to Catered To for this great stay!
“What a great vacation experience/”
We had a very high level of expectation of what to find at aurora but it managed to exceed our expectations. The location was ideal - scenic, remote and yet close enough to town to make things convenient. The facility was great, very comfortable, spacious enough for the 6 of us to be together yet not in each other's way. We are already looking forward to our return trip!
“Our wonderful stay at aurora”
As usual, our stay in St. John was superb. It made for a wonderful celebration of my 70th birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary. The weather was great. Aurora was a beautiful place to stay, and everything was in order as we have grown to expect from Catered To. The only issue was the door locks. The locks to the twin bedroom and the living area, coming from the arched walkway, are broken. The bedroom lock works but the door latch was misaligned allowing anybody to open it when actually locked. The door to the living area required patience and a lot of "fiddling" to get the lock open. Overall, we found this to be the nicest villa we have rented. There was always an area to sit in the shade or sun. The view is fantastic and the flowers and landscaping were well maintained. The company you arranged for our car rental was the one negative of our trip. The back window was missing, so the car could not be locked totally. Fortunately, nothing was ever stolen. The drivers seat belt was defective and alarms kept going off on the dash. I would not use that company the next time we visit. One funny story. We left the villa to go to Maho Bay one day. After spending a few hours at the beach, I opened the driver's door to sit and clean the sand from my feet. I happened to see something move under the seat. I got out and looked closer only to find that a rooster was hiding under the seat. He came out and sat on the gear shift lever. He then hopped out the door and ran away. We don't know if the chicken got in the car at the villa or at the beach. We were hoping it was from the villa because there was a rooster there that sounded off early every morning. Evidently, it was not the same rooster because we continued to get our early morning wakeup calls.
Overall our stay was good. We had a few glitched beyond your control. A rat ate a hole in the screen of the main house and ate through some closed bags of snacks. One of our guests killed a scorpion in their room. The ice maker did not work. It is great that the weather was fantastic and the views always bring me back.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to St. John. We would like to apologize about the issues that you mentioned. We would like to assure you that every villa is on a monthly extermination program however from time to time additional measures are required. In the future please feel free to contact the office and report any similar incidents and we would be happy to send someone out immediately to address the issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to St. John in the future.