Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom villa in St. John today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $6000 to as high as $10500, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 60% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 21, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Catered To Vacation Homes
Catered To Vacation Homes
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top St-john-island Attractions
- Air conditioning
Pool / Spa
- Private outdoor pool (unheated)
- Smoking allowed
– based on 13 reviews
- Very Good
This was our second time to stay at Mango Bay. The house is still as lovely as ever. A previous reviewer had said the outside furniture was in poor condition, but we found it to be in excellent shape. It is all teak, and has the natural weathered look, but still very solid. The rest of the house is still immaculate. Other than losing power a couple of nights, late at night, we had no problems with the house. Just an FYI, the only cell service available up on that side of the island appears to be with at&T.; Neither Verizon or T-Mobile worked, except down in Cruz Bay. Our biggest problem was transportation. We booked at the last moment, and got a jeep rental from a group I had not used before. I had to change a flat tire on the first vehicle we got, after it went flat over the first night at the house. The second vehicle was in pretty rough shape, but got us around. The road up to Catherineburg from the main Centerline road is much rougher that I remember from our last two stays up there. Definitely requires a jeep vehicle. I did not dare to drive down to the north beach road, as that has always been a much rougher drive. But the view from the house every day, and the wonderful breezes up there make everything else worth it.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Mango Bay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay there. We are also happy to say that the teak furniture that you mentioned is all new as of summer 2012. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Mango Bay in the future.
“A stellar view marred by inadequate a/C”
First, the view from this villa is stellar, and the 4WD access made for very little traffic or noise. We felt secluded but not remote. Beaches and dinners were a short 20 minute drive away. Perfect! However, with a late-May rental date, we knew a/C was a must, so it we did not even consider villas without a/C for sleeping. This villa advertised a/C in the bedrooms only (not a problem) but they were portable units (not a problem) being used in a space that was not designed to be air conditioned (big problem). The high ceilings, louvered doors, and basic not-air-tightness of the bedrooms meant they never really got cool. The furnishings and fixtures were top shelf, but the main floor locks are broken, and the guest bedrooms do not connect to the main house. The deck and deck furniture were very nice. Beach chairs, cooler, beach towels were provided. The washer and dryer were brand new. This villa was newer, cleaner, more contemporary, but not quite up to its billing. Next time I would bump up in price (and expectations) or bump down and anticipate some imperfections.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Mango Bay. We are sorry that you did not feel that the villa air conditioning units were adequate. As the villa is specifically advertised as having portable air conditioning units as opposed to the larger split units the bedrooms we have hoped to make guests aware that the bedrooms will not get as cold as with larger units. Since the villa is at an altitude of 800 feet air conditioning is rarely required. The portable units were installed specifically to cool the rooms so that the evenings may be more comfortable in the summer months. We hope to welcome you back to St. John in the future. We would also be happy to advise on the difference between the various units and guide you toward villas that have powerful air conditioning units.
“We had a great Time as always”
We have rented from Catered To many times, and have always been happy with the homes and the service. This is the second time our group has stayed at Mango Bay. The house was just as nice as 12 years ago. We believe it has the best view on the island! We will be back! The only improvement we would ask, is new outdoor furniture. The pieces are rather worn, and several are about to break.
“Remote location with fabulous view”
We stayed at this location for Christmas 2010 - myself, my husband, my daughter (age 8), my mother, and my brother. There was plenty of space for everyone and the view was amazing. The pool deck didn't get that much sun at this time of the year, so that was a bit disappointing. The location was remote (you had to take a very rough dirt road to reach it, yet there were still other homes very close to it. There was adequate privacy but you could definitely hear your neighbors. Also, due to the rough road, we really thought twice about going out at night. Overall, liked the home, but would probably choose another location next time.
Our family is verfy happy with the property and location. Great views, comfortable rooms,plenty of space, Catered to is a trustworthy company. We will use them again.
“Nice View But That's All”
The view was great,but we couldn't lock the house up due to a broken door lock and the fact that 3 of the four bedrooms only had screens on the bathrooms, so 7 passports, watches, wallets and jewelry had to be locked in one safe. Effectively there was no AC and horrible humidity when it rained and if you were in the main room when it rained you had to go out in the rain to get to a bathroom. It was very buggy since doors didn't close tightly and several persons including a 3 year old had mulitiple bites. Really needs updating.
Response from the manager We are very sorry to hear that you had a difficult experience at Mango Bay. Unfortunately the unusually large amount of rain that fell prior to and during your stay led to a very high level of mosquito activity and humidity. We are afraid that there is little one can do to avoid mosquitoes when they are that prevalent, even in villas that are fully screened as Mango Bay is. We would like to apologize for the broken lock on one of the sliding glass doors in the great room. The lock required a part that is not readily available in St. John and needed to be ordered on short notice. Please note that regardless of a villas door and screen configuration we always strongly encourage guests to use the safes provided at every villa to store the items that you mentioned above, and we are happy to know that you were using the safe. We are also sorry that the layout of the villa was not to your liking. The layout of Mango Bay is very common on St. John and the Caribbean in general. As villas are often designed to allow each bedroom to have a view, most bedrooms may only be accessed from the outside. This exterior access does require guest to walk outside to get to their bedroom and can result in exposure to moisture if it is raining. Please note that each villa that we manage has a detailed floor plan on each web page and our agents are always happy to recommend villas that have interior access if this detail is of concern to you. It should be noted that every villa web page on our website clearly indicates if the home has air conditioning or not. Most of the villas located where Mango Bay is do not have and do not require air conditioning due to the elevated altitude of the homes in the area. Mango Bay is provided with portable air conditioning units that do cool however perhaps not as well as the larger split and window units. If this is a concern we would always suggest that a guest consider another villa with larger units. Again, we apologize for your difficult stay. We do hope that your next stay in St. John will be in a villa that is more suitable for your groups needs.
“Cousins playing all day at Mango Bay!”
We had a lovely stay here, spending time with lots and lots of cousins from my mother's house (Robes.... Pie in the Sky). We were back and forth a lot. Mango Bay was very easy and comfortable. There was a dead animal smell in the wall of the main floor when we arrived, but that faded through the week. We also had a friendly rat visit us each evening to gnaw on the soap in our bathroom window sill. It never came in further than the sill. The bottom of the showere window screen is not attached (in the lower main bedroom on the left (facing the view/pool)). It should be an easy fix. Also, he dishwasher flooded on our last day and made a mess of the kitchen and the middle bedroom downstairs before we came back and discovered it. Otherwise, everything was perfect! My mother said something about slippery bricks by the pool. I am not sure what she means, but the kids did notice some loose pool tiles on the floor of the pool, which they picked up and put in a pile on the edge. The bathrooms at this home are gorgeous!!! And the heated pool was a big plus, especially for the kids, who never wanted to get out! Thank you so much!!! Kate Harrison (Martha Robes' daughter)
Mango Bay was beautiful. The house is lovely and the views are fabulous. Well maintained inside and out. The laundry room is much needed if you are bringing children. The only issue was that it is a little buggy. Might have been the time of year.
“Truly a wonderful escape. View paradise from a villa atop St. J”
From reservation to arrangements to meet & greet to follow up, Catered To did exactly what the name implies. Once you get up the mountain (a good 20 minutes) it's easy access to bring in luggage and groceries. This very private and comfortable home is the perfect get-away for 4 people (or 4 couples, or whatever) since the design incorporates 4 Master Suites with king or queen beds, one on the upper level, three that open out to the pool level. The large kitchen accommodates several cooks at once and there was an adequate assortment of kitchen tools to whip up a great meal for a crowd. Al fresco dining on the upper terrace near the gas grill was easy and at night the stars overhead seem close enough to reach out and grab a few. Huge great room with fireplace and full walls of floor to ceiling folding window-doors with screens and ceiling fans. Didn't ever turn on the AC. Huge double shower bathrooms with windows that have the most incredible views ever! It's like taking a shower in the middle of a tropical rain forest. Good size infinity pool (heated if needed) with rafts and deck chairs on which afternoons just seem to float by. Washer and dryer downstairs and below carport. If you want to take excursions, it will take you some time to get there so plan accordingly. Or better yet, just relax.... Get acclimated first day (grab a bite in town before you drive up to the house for the night or make sure you order in some food before you arrive). Lay in supplies for the duration and don't plan on leaving the villa very often. Note: no internet connection. Maybe that's why it was so relaxing! Phone service and cable TV, lots of games and puzzles and cards.
Response from the manager Than you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to report that Mango Bay now offers internet access.
The view and pool were great. the bathrooms were great with the windows inside them viewing the ocean. The porch area was peaceful. garage was nice for the cars. enough room to be alone if you wanted to be. kitchen was equipped enough and updated. The furniture indoors and outdoors was a little worn and not kept up very good. also bed spreads were a little worn. needed to cut down some of the big trees that were obstructing the view!!