Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Galveston today! A total of 14 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a air conditioning, internet access, and DVD among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 7 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2029 to as high as $3144, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 85% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 25, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Ryson Vacation Rentals
Ryson Vacation Rentals
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 25 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Galveston,-texas Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Ceiling Fans
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 7 reviews
- Very Good
“Pirate Stole Gem”
The house need some basic maintenance: AC/Heat Filter was extremely dirty, the mattresses were very dirty with bed bugs and other bugs, Lights in the kitchen had missing covers, there was not TV in the Master Bedroom, many kitchen utensils were rusty and many basic utensils were not available. One chair in the dinning room was broken. The carpet was very dirty; it needs a new carpet. It had close access to the beach.
Response from the manager Thank you for taking the time to review Pirate's Gem in Galveston. Our maintenance department has addressed the a/c filter by adding to a rotating change schedule, the house was professional check for insects by a pest control company and nothing was uncovered by them. We have repaired the dining room chair, and notified the owner about the need for carpet replacement. Again, we depend on feedback from our guests so that we can address any issues in our properties. We hope you will stay with us again and enjoy a loyalty discount! -Christine
“Disappointed in the ambience!”
The home was well structured and the layout was perfect for our girlfriends' weekend. The beds were extremely comfortable and I rested very well each night of our stay. The one thing that disappointed me was the lack of seaside ambience! The home lacked décor! What a shame that the living room's big double book cases did not contain beautiful sea shells and other "beachy" collectibles that scream "life on the beach." The lack of wall art and colorful accessories would have done wonders for the home. Major money for décor is not necessary. Many items can be hand crafted, reclaimed from the beach, and found for a fraction of the cost at thrift stores and garage sales. I can easily show you how to make the house a place where people will rent time and time again. Signed, Longed for a piece of drift wood!
Response from the manager Dear Longing for Driftwood, Thank you for your delightful review of Pirate's Gem. Your input is valuable to us. We have shared this with the owner and have made several changes in the property for this upcoming season. Hope you will visit us again and enjoy a loyalty discount. -Christine
“No help at all!!!”
We stayed here aug. 4th thru aug.8th. First of all they tell you if you break a chair, $30.00 charge. Mark the wall, $30.00 charge. Do anything it's a $30.00 charge. Chairs were already broke, marks on all the walls, bottom of refridgerator cover was sitting on top. Everything they could charge you for was already damaged. The worst part was you could not get the front door, or back door to lock. We called the office the first day and they said they would try to get somebody out there. No one showed up. We called the next day and they told us to call maintinace. Still no one ever showed up. When you left the place and came back 2-3 hours later the front door would be wide open. would not lock or close right. The wind would blow it open. We had to take all belongings out when we left because you didn't know if it would be there when you returned. When we checked out and told them of the problem again, of course they apologized and told us we should have called them. I asked for a manager to call me personally and gave them my cell phone and 2 1/2 months later still have heard from no one. Ryson Vacation Rental is very poorly managed and could care less about their customers as long as they get your money, then your on your own.
Response from the manager Ryson would like to address your issues with the stay at Pirate's Gem in August. Ryson takes the care and concerns of our guests very serious and we attempt to handle any issues that may arise during their stay as soon as possible. We do have charges for damages that may have occurred during any stay but normal wear and use is not charged. Also guests will also have a required Accidental Damage Fee charge to them at the time of reservation for accidental damage that may occur during their stay, so no further cost are accessed to the guest. Ryson would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and would ask that you would consider us again for your next stay in Galveston. Please let us that you are a returning guest and would like to discuss our Guest Loyalty Discount.
“Wouldn't rent there again!”
First, I'm under 25 and did it online and it was approved (my age was on there) and they waited until 2 hours before getting the key to tell me I couldn't rent it. Thank god we had people over 25 with us. Then, in the pictures online, there are 5 bedrooms and the house only had 4. Then I called to allow an extra car because we had people coming from our of town and we couldn't car pull with them, they approved it, and said they'd write it on the reservation. Well come 9 o'clock their employee came with the worst attitude, rolling her eyes and basically calling me a liar about that extra vehicle being there. There was light fixtures missing, the microwave and wine cooler were broken, the fridge didnt cool anything (we had to use the freezer, and there was only 1 tv in the whole, 2 story, house. I will never rent there again.
We had a great time at the pirates gem. Perfect place to enjoy life in the gulf coast. Looking forward to this upcoming march to enjoy another. Great rental company very clean house in a great neighborhood.
Response from the manager Thank you for your time to review of Pirates Gem. Your feedback is important to us. As a loyal customer we value your business. Tausha