$1489 / night
Total guests, Nights


  • 5 bedrooms
  • 14 sleeps
  • 5 nights min stay


  • House
  • 5 bedrooms
  • sleeps 14
  • 5 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 5 mi
  • Swimming pool
  • Child Friendly
  • Car advised
  • Air conditioning
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner


This is a sustainable home in a quiet neighborhood, with lots of parking. It has solar PV, solar heated pool, and a level 2 outlet for your EV. It is perfect for an extended family vacation or other quiet group. Loud parties/events are not tolerated.


This property is convenient to everything. It is not in downtown La Jolla, where there is only one road, in/out, w/ traffic. There are 7 beaches, on both the ocean and Mission Bay, within three miles of the house. Sea World, Balboa Park, the zoo, The USS Midway, Old Town, Belmont Park, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and tons of museums are 5-20 mins away.


The outdoor space features a solar heated pool and large jacuzzi. There is a gas BBQ with a granite counter, a gas fire pit for smores, and huge dining table with seating for 10, plus additional seating in a love seat, comfy chairs, lounge chairs, and hammock. On the side of the yard are various fruit trees, including lemon, guava, clementine and kumquat. The unobstructed view stretches past the Cuyamaca Mountains to the desert.


This property is unique in that it offers many living spaces, including two living/family rooms, a game room, a bedroom/living room, and seating at the kitchen island. All living spaces are tastefully decorated with solid wood, hand crafted 'arts and crafts' style pieces. All rooms (including bedrooms) have fabulous lighting, with dimmers so that you can adjust the light for perfect atmosphere. The abundance of living spaces is a wonderful feature for extended family vacations, as the entire family will be able to spend time together, yet also break into smaller groups in different areas.There are two separate living rooms, each with its own stone fireplace. One living room (the “Great Room”) has wood flooring, a high vaulted ceiling, a great leather U-shaped sectional, Noguchi glass coffee table, huge flat screen TV, solid cherry dining table with seating for 12 and caucasian rug. The other living room is smaller, with new hardwood flooring. The game room has a tournament sized (9') pool table and foosball table. The fifth bedroom is set up with a flat screen TV and a day bed that converts to a king bed, such that this room can be used as a bedroom and/or a living space. The large kitchen is equipped for a chef and is perfect for entertaining. It has custom cabinetry, granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. Your chef will appreciate the Cuisinart food processor, Kitchen Aid mixer, real knives, pot filler, second bar area with sink, etc. To accommodate our family's habit of spending time in the kitchen, we have comfortable leather chairs positioned on the bar side of the huge kitchen island.


This is a five bedroom home, with beds for 15 people, plus 2 air matressess.

We want our guests to sleep well, and do our best provide the ideal sleep environment. Three of the bedrooms are upstairs; two are downstairs. The upstairs bedrooms have high vaulted ceilings and huge windows on two or three walls. There is tremendous natural lighting and fabulous cross breezes. The master bedroom is 27' long, with a view over the pool, past the mountains and to the desert. It features a king sized bed with custom headboard, a full sized West Elm futon, flatscreen TV, and two seating areas, one with a Corbusier pony lounge chair, the other with Wassily black leather chairs and a gorgeous thick glass coffee table. The master bedroom has its own private bath, with jacuzzi tub, granite counters and two sinks, and separate toilet area. The walk-in closet is big enough for a bed, and has two air mattresses. One of the upstairs bedrooms is furnished as a children's room, with a twin over full bunk bed and West Elm full futon. There is no TV in the children's room. The children's bedroom overlooks the water feature in the front yard. The other upstairs bedroom has a queen bed, a flatscreen TV, and an unobstructed easterly view over the pool. Downstairs, there are two bedrooms. The front bedroom has built-in cabinets, and a cozy window seat with cushions and pillows. Behind the queen bed, there is a custom designed, hand made head board, nearly 8' high. This front bedroom has a view of the water feature in the front of the house. The second downstairs bedroom has french doors that open onto the pool area. It has a daybed that converts to a king and a flatscreen that is connected to wifi.

In total, there are beds for 15, plus 2 air mattresses.


The house has a variety of amenities, incl. solar heated pool, jacuzzi, outdoor gas BBQ, gas fire pit, two water features, small grassy area, outdoor seating for 18, hammock chair, pool table, foosball table, many flatscreen TVs, free wifi, books (children's books, cookbooks, novels, biographies, etc.), board games, children's toys, and beach toys (surf board, boogie boards, sand toys, etc.) We hope to have everything that you may want in a vacation home.

Safety / Supervision of Children

I have had many guests with small children stay at this property. Having said this, you should ONLY rent this property if you are prepared to supervise your children closely at all times. There is no fence between the house and the pool. Behind the yard and the pool is a steep hill. La Jolla has all sorts of wild animals, including rattle snakes, bees, black widow spiders, racoons, coyotes, etc. There is a fire pit and BBQ, and a dangerous situation could arise if children were to play with these. Similarly, inside the home are a variety of items, including a glass coffee table, electrical cords that are not protected for small children, and even the kitchen garbage. So, please, if you have small children, please be prepared to supervise them very closely both inside and outside the home.

More Less


  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • High chair

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King bed Full bed
    Bedroom 2: 2 Full beds Twin bed
    Bedroom 3: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 4: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 5: King bed
  • 3 Full baths


  • Wireless Internet
  • Air conditioning
  • Private outdoor pool (heated)
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Mountain Views
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Pool or snooker table
  • Games room
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less


  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Interaction with guest

I generally stop by a day or two after guests arrive, typically in the morning, to check the pool/jacuzzi and to meet guests. I'll call/text before I arrive. I do not go into the house, but I will go around to the pool/jacuzzi in the back.


Check in time: 17:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $1,000.00
No smoking at this property


Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

No refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.

Check-in date

House rules

All events/parties must be pre-approved.
La Jolla has regulations regarding noise and other disturbances. If your group may be loud please book another property.
At least 2 guests over 30 yrs old must be present at all times.
This the rental of a house, it is not a hotel. There is no onsite maintenance crew and no daily maid service. The pool/spa is cleaned weekly, even if you drop food in it.


About the owner

Laura C.
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 Sep 2021
Years listed:
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, Norwegian





Very Good
20 reviews

Very Good

“Great house and location.”

Reviewed 31 Dec 2018

The house was great. Nine adult family members rented this house for five days over Christmas. There was adequate space throughout the house and our stay there was very enjoyable. The back yard wit… More

Response from the owner Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad your family had a great time and enjoyed my property. Laura

“Great place to stay in La Jolla!!”

Reviewed 12 Oct 2018

I had an amazing time at this house for a week with my Husband, 2 daughters, 2 son-in-laws and 9 Grandkids!!! The kids loved swimming in the pool every night then ending the day around the outside fir… More

Response from the owner Thanks so much for your lovely review. So few guests take the time and effort to write a review. I really appreciate and I'm glad you had a great time. Laura

“Fabulous house, location and amenities!”

Reviewed 11 Nov 2017

Let me start by saying our staying was "fabulous"! This was our first time doing a house rental so we were a little apprehensive hoping it would all work out and let me tell you this rental… More

Response from the owner I'm glad you had a great time, and I really appreciate your review. Looking forward to having you return.


Reviewed 18 Aug 2017

We booked this location during the last week of July for a family gathering, including six adults and two children. Ultimately, we were very disappointed. This property, listed as a luxurious accomm… More

Response from the owner This renter was happy with the property for the first four days. Then, the renter called to complain that the internet had stopped working. I came over within an hour but couldn't fix it. The internet support technician arrived later that afternoon, and found that the router antenna was physically broken. I informed the renter that the router was broken, possibly one of their kids had played with it, but it was now working and I would not be charging them. The following day, they called to complain that the freezer ice maker was producing ice, but ice was not coming out of the door dispenser. I told them I could be there in two hours and suggested they just take the ice out of the freezer in the meanwhile, rather than use the dispenser. This was not acceptable to them. They said that a luxury rental property should come with a working ice dispenser, and that the property was not as advertised, and they would be leaving early. They told me that if I did not give them a refund, they would be leaving a negative review. Both the renter and his extremely aggressive son called me numerous times, the son threatening me in a manner that was, well, scary. After they left, I discovered that the ice dispenser was clogged with ice cubes that had melted together and refrozen into one giant clump. I lifted the giant clump out and it worked fine. Apparently, they had failed to keep the freezer door closed properly. 10 of my new beach towels were missing. (Maybe their new hotel did not provide beach towels?) I did not withhold any of their damage deposit for the broken router or the missing towels, but I did not bow to their demands for a partial refund. I am generally very lenient with damage. I tend to view broken glasses, torn/missing towels, and broken chairs as typical wear and tear for a vacation property. I do NOT provide any refund to dissatisfied guests, particularly a reason as lame as hot weather. Threats of retaliatory negative reviews will not lead me to change my position on this. I have had renters who arrive and immediately start to renegotiate the rent, and others who wait until the end as this guest did. I do not renegotiate price. Period. Threats will not lead me to change my mind. I take suggestions seriously, and we are currently hoping to install A/C this fall. I will update the listing after the A/C is installed. I have also removed the pool chair that was broken by the previous renter. There are now 15 perfect chairs instead of 16. The carpet often becomes dirty during the summer, when I have back to back renters; it will be cleaned this fall during a gap between renters. One of the two kitchen faucets was slightly loose, but was tightened during their stay. It does become loose every now and then, but this does not effect functionality, and we tighten it as needed.

“Wonderful Vacation Home for Our Large Family”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2017

Our family group of 10 adults and 5 children loved this beautiful home. The kids especially enjoyed the pool -- it was sometimes challenging to get them out of the pool to visit the many attractions o… More

Response from the owner Thanks so much for your review. The house has beds for 15 people, plus two single air mattresses. I'm not sure I will be keeping the full air mattress at the house, as I do not want to encourage groups of this size. While this group was absolutely lovely and I'd love to have them back, some large groups do cause significant wear and tear.

“Top-Notch Property with Amazing View”

Reviewed 4 Dec 2016

This entire property, (house and outside area) was wonderful. The house has clearly been remodeled since the photos. The outside is painted a orangey color, some floors are clearly new. We could tell … More

Response from the owner Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad my property exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again next year!

“Fantastic house great host”

Reviewed 13 Nov 2015

We were a group of 13 adults, this house met all our expectations it had everything one would expect, 2 good size living rooms flat screen TV.. Kitchen had all the items you would expect. Sleeping arr… More

Response from the owner Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed your self.

“Really nice property!”

Reviewed 10 Nov 2015

Spent 3 days here last fall and really liked it, so I came back Sept 2015 with my two brothers' families- 6 adults, 6 kids from 2 to 16 years. Lots of space to cook, eat, and do things together. … More

Response from the owner I'm glad you and your family had a great time. Thanks for the review. I really appreciate it.

“Wonderful La Jolla.....”

Reviewed 12 Oct 2015

But not so much for the accommodation, sadly. This stay really didn't go well to us, and the whole experience was far, far below our expectations for the money. The owner was extremely rude and … More

Response from the owner I?m confused by this review. RugbyLover writes that we were rude and not hospitable, but he could not ?get in touch with us.? How we could have been so rude if he never spoke with us? Prior to arrival, I emailed RugbyLover and explained that my husband and I would be on the east coast on the day of his arrival, Sat. Aug 15, but my husband would be back the following evening. I asked him to call upon arrival, being cognizant of the time difference (we never received a call). On Sunday morning, my husband and I tried calling, but we weren?t sure the calls went through, possibly because of his non-American phone. I emailed and texted RugbyLover, asking him to get in touch with my husband. My husband stopped by on Tuesday, as per our texts/emails, but no one was home. We never heard again. Rugby lover complains about the recycling requirements and the way they were presented. I never spoke with him, so there was no oral ?lecture.? I do provide extensive recycling info to all renters. This is an important issue to me. The city picks up recycling every two weeks. Residents have a choice of bins, from 18 gallons to 96 gallons. We have 96 gallons. This is rarely a problem, but I let everyone know in advance that one week guests only have half the bin. The listing clearly states that there is no A/C. Very few La Jolla homes have A/C, as our coastal climate is very mild. During RugbyLover?s stay, there was a heatwave and it reached 86 degrees for his first two days. If you are concerned about heat, google ?La Jolla weather? and determine your willingness to risk a heat wave. It is difficult to imagine that RugbyLover bought air conditioners for $750. He didn?t leave them in the house or the garbage. Did he bring it back to Europe with him in the hope of converting the electrical system? I have had renters who have had issues with various things in the house, from a broken toaster, to the spa needing repair. I always try to fix/replace things right away. If you rent my property, please let me know your concerns while you are in the house, and I will do my best to address them.

“Family Vacation”

Reviewed 10 Jul 2015

Easley accommodated 8 adults 4 kids all the comforts of home. Pool and hot tub was a great feature. Gas grill and fire pit was a amenity as well as up to date laundry machines.

Response from the owner I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The house has everything we thought vacationers might want, pool, jacuzzi, BBQ, firepit, pool table, foosball table, etc. We have also outfitted it with high quality appliances. With beds for so many people, it is crucial to have the largest top-of-the-line laundry machines available. Thanks so much for your time and effort in leaving a review. I really appreciate it.

Review 1-10 of 20


How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Laura (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Laura (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Laura (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your booking to view Laura the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online and send Laura (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Laura (the owner) an inquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Ready to book? form, a booking request is sent to Laura (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this property you need to pay through the Flipkey website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to the property when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your dates in the Ready to book? form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Laura (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my vacation?

Use the Ready to book? form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Laura (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Laura (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage your booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your booking or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my booking?

You can pay the remaining balance of your booking at any point. Simply go to Manage your booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage your booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I withdraw my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Laura (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I make changes to my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your booking page. To change your dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Laura (the owner) a message.

If Laura (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Flipkey & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Big Bear Region

1,251 properties

California Desert

1,163 properties

Mammoth Lakes

869 properties

Lake Tahoe (California)

621 properties

San Diego

588 properties

Orange County

395 properties

Los Angeles

392 properties

San Luis Obispo County

302 properties


170 properties

Solana Beach

133 properties

Yosemite National Park

132 properties

Sonoma County

130 properties

Lake Arrowhead

121 properties

West Hollywood

121 properties


84 properties

San Francisco

83 properties

Marina del Rey

81 properties

La Jolla

80 properties

San Jose

80 properties

Beverly Hills

79 properties

Start a new search

This listing is created and maintained by the homeowner; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarize yourself with our terms of use.