Need more information about booking Property 2302026 ?
from $65 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 4 / House
Bedroom: 1  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 4  Type: House
Bear's Trail
TripAdvisor property ID 2302026

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom house in Big Bear City today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a deck, parking space, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 40 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $500, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Big Bear Cool Cabins
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, Spanish



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Big-bear-city Attractions




  • Fireplace
  • Towels provided

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Property Features

  • Mountain Views
  • Parking


  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (40)

Very Good – based on 40 reviews Very Good
40 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Cold and dirty.”

Reviewed 8 Jan 2014

Thermastat didn't work. Only electric plug in heater. Couch, towles, snd bed were very dirty. Sheets smelled.

Response from the manager We are sending maintenance over to the property to check the heater and sending housekeeping over to spruce the place back up. We do have housekeeping and maintenance on call to be able to rectify these issues during your stay.

“A nice cabin in dire need of an update”

Reviewed 2 Jan 2014

All in all, this cabin was ok. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but I also wouldn't deter anyone from staying here. The cabin is truly what it claims to be in that it is a 1bd/1ba cabin. However, some of the amenities seemed to be fudging the line when it came to expectation. *Fireplace: nice and easy to operate. However, I couldn't seem to find a way to close the flue prior to leaving. It looks to have an option for gas, but I couldn't find the valve or the key. *Downstairs TV/Cable: My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway where we could just hang out and watch some movies, and the TV and DVD players fit the bill. *Upstairs TV: This is a small kitchen TV that was placed on the stool near the bed. I almost wouldn't mention this in the ad, as it sets up an expectation that was quite the let down. *Sleeping: The upstairs king bed was fairly comfortable, though some of the sheets had holes in them. The downstairs bed was a futon, which seemed comfortable enough when sitting on it. *Kitchen: The kitchen is functional but old and a complete mish-mash of random plates and silverware that seems to have been scavenged from the local Goodwill store. *Parking: The driveway was steep enough that our 4x4 jeep was sliding backwards on the ice. I don't know how one would park 2 cars here if it's been iced over. *Location: Near the airport and right up against the forest, so you'll have some nice exploring to do. Other thoughts: As mentioned in other reviews, the stairs are rather steep and long. I was worried that I would take a bad tumble going up and down them with luggage. One possible solution to this would be to have the lock-box at the back door of the house, as that's an easier walk. Also mentioned in other reviews, this cabin can get chilly. The nighttime low was in the mid 20s, and with the fireplace, the wall heater, and the dish heater going, it was still somewhat cold.

“quaint and comfy but chilly on a cold night”

Reviewed 12 Dec 2013

This place is really homey and a cozy, quiet getaway for a weekend. By the airport, backing up to the local hiking trails, just off 38, about halfweay between where 38 enters Big Bear and the Big Bear Village area. Temps were in the low 20s however overnight and the wall heater did little to warm the place up; even a blazing fire did not compensate. Upstairs in the bedroom there is an electric dish that radiates heat yet this also did not fight off the chill. Cute place with everything you'd need (though the DVD player was not working) but I would stay away in the cold weather.


Reviewed 17 Oct 2013

My wife and I loved it. It's not the Ritz, but it's not advertised as such anyway. Everything was clean, just be careful with the front steps, they go straight up, baby! Scary with ice on em! Oh, sleeping upstairs with the heat on will dry you out!

“Unprofessional, Overpriced, Dirty! Shop around for a better deal”

Reviewed 8 Aug 2013

Here is what you get for $319.00 Total for 3 Nights. The 23 steps leading up to the entrance are extremely dangerous. The steps cave in along with the main deck. You are not sure when yo umight fall in. The handrail going up is also loose. This is not up to code and if someone fell they would have a lawsuit. The pitch was also too steep, very dangerous. Some guy comes walking up the steps saying Hello. He said the owner sent him there to measure the deck. Ironic because it was a death trap! I found that to be completely unprofessional since I paid $319.00 for those days to be mine wihtout unexpected visitors. I was shocked that they would pull a stunt like this without warning. No Trash Service you have to bring your garabge to another location. No Clean Towels or Linens, they did not even smell clean. No a/C, it gets really hot during the day into the night unless you leave the windows open. The neighbors down the sreet had dogs barking that woke us up all hours of the night and early early morning. They have 3 dogs, a couple of houses down on the left with tree sticks around the fence with tons of garbage in the yard. The neighbors to the right of you if you are in the driveway also had dogs and they live there permanently. They bark enough and if you do try and go on the trails directly behind the house there is dog waste all over to smell and step in so this is not recommended as stated on the refrigerator. You cannot change the settings on the refrigerator or freezer. Small pieces of rug were placed along the tile in the kitchen and on the rugs in the living/dining room. These were also a tripping hazard. They caught my shoe several times and I almost fell. Oh and behind the couch was an old cheese doodle and some other foreign object. So they don't clean! The area itself was beautiful, but for that price we should have received a lot more. If you really look around you can probably find a better deal with a lot more to offer!

Response from the manager We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We just wanted to take a moment to update you and explain some of the thing you mentioned in your review. As of 8/28/2013 the deck and stairwell has been completely redone. We are deeply apologetic that the contractor showed up during your stay, unfortunately we were not notified and neither was the homeowner. In regards to the trash, with so many cabin rentals in Big Bear it is a City Ordinance that all guests remove their own trash from each property. As far as the linens we do use a highly professional linen company however you are always welcome to give our office a call and we will be more then happy to bring you different ones. Lastly Air Conditioning is not common in Big Bear, as it is rarely needed. We have less then 10 cabin out of 400 that come with it. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we do hope that you found this response helpful and will be back to visit soon. Winter is right around the corner!

“Cute cabin”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2013

Was very nice. My only complaint is the cabin was hard to find in the dark. Needs the address closer to the road.

“Great little cabin!”

Reviewed 10 Jul 2013

We had a great time at this nice little cabin. Cons:Lots of stairs made unloading car a bit of a workout. Kitchen is quite dated. Pros: Very cozy and warm place. The word charming comes to mind. While kitchen was dated, bathroom was modern. It was the perfect place for a young couple to spend the weekend! Climbing all those stairs made me feel like we were in the trees. Great trip!

“Cutest Cabin”

Reviewed 5 Jun 2013

This cabin is too cute, it was the perfect place for my boyfriend and I to relax after a few long days hiking and trekking about. My only recommendation would be repairing the stairs to get up to the front door, they are so wobbly that I was a little afraid. I would not want to use them after another year of snowfall. However, you can take the back stairs up to the back door which is much safer. The upstairs bedroom was to die for and the kitchen had everything. We didn't use the fireplace, we were far too exhausted to bother with it but there is one and again, it was too cute.

“Awesome Experience”

Reviewed 14 Mar 2013

This is my 2nd year in a row staying in Bear's Trail Cabin and hopefully this becomes an annual tradition for me. I went with a few friends for my b-day and we all had an amazing time. My favorite feature of this cabin is the fact that you can walk out the back door, take a few more steps and you're in the forest. Me and my friends explored the woods for hours. There were plenty of great slopes to go sledding. In addition, the drive into town only takes a few minutes so we tried out a few bars while we were there. It was a great environment with a very lively crowd. I would definitely recommend bears trail!... but watch out for El Chupacabra...he was everywhere!


Reviewed 14 Feb 2013

When we opened the door to get inside the cabin we going the pullout couchs matters out of the couch and it was leaning agents the wall with the picture frame on the floor and a broken light in it right also damaged on the floor. So I start cleaning up the broken glass and report all damages over the phone. A great hour wasted!!! Not so happy.

Review 1-10 of 40

Also consider

Big Bear Region

1,865 properties

Beverly Hills

184 properties


181 properties


44 properties


35 properties


31 properties


24 properties


23 properties


17 properties


16 properties

Bass Lake

16 properties


12 properties

Carmel Valley

11 properties

Citrus Heights

10 properties

Angels Camp

9 properties

Chula Vista

8 properties


7 properties


6 properties


6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search