from $215 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from owner
Description from owner
More Property Details
Book this 3 bedroom house in Luray today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 77 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1110 to as high as $2400, depending on travel dates.
The owner last updated the property’s calendar Jul 20, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the owner
About the owner
Paul & Emily A.
Paul & Emily A.
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Luray,-virginia Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Ceiling Fans
- Central heating
- Clothes dryer
- Housekeeping Included
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Washing machine
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Wireless Internet
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Mountain Views
- Wheelchair accessible
- CD player
- DVD player
- Games room
- Pool or snooker table
- Satellite TV
- Table tennis
- Video player
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 77 reviews
- Very Good
“Relaxing but Surprised”
The rental company and cleaning company were extremely pleasant and flexible. And while we still had an enjoyable weekend, we had to revise our itinerary due to information not being communicated. There were minor things I would have liked to be made aware of in advance of our stay (i.e. distance to water, flooding, kitchen appliances, paper towels). Although this is a waterfront property, the walk was over a quarter mile distance from the house and the entire backyard was flooded and a mud pit. Also the house is advertised as having a full kitchen, however there was not a crock pot which makes for easy cooking while being able to be outside. Lastly, only (1) paper towel was left for the entire weekend, which is not enough for (2) families and required a trip to the store. But overall, we enjoyed our get-a-way, enjoyed the outdoors canoeing and hiking, and really enjoyed the hot tub. Thank you for letting us stay.
Response from the owner Yes, the house is at the opposite end of the property from the river and this guest hit on why - the river floods. You want to be ON the river not IN the river so that's why the house is where it is. There is actually a gravel access road immediately next to the backyard which does not turn to mud, but clearly we need to communicate that better. We'll add that information to our signage. No, we don't provide a crock pot, it's true. Is that a standard feature of "full" kitchens? First we've heard of it in many years. As far as the paper towels - you got us there. Usually we leave two rolls and we apologize for omitting one.
“great location !!”
We enjoyed our stay at Bear Meadows. The cabin is large and has nice amenities. Hot tub was fabulous ! The game room was not usable due to cold temps. I was told there was a space heater in garage/game room but it was in fact a bug zapper. Mattress on king size bed really needs to be updated - very uncomfortable :( Overall, it was a great weekend. Housekeeping was very nice to come by and help fix TV issues.
Response from the owner The mattress has just been replaced with a new top-quality pillow-top set. Should be fantastic now.
“Good time, nice rental”
Rental was furnished with everything a family would need for a weekend. The game room, wifi and tv's are a nice touch. The river is about 300 yards away but well worth the walk as there is a bench and a really nice view of the river. The cabin ran out of propane a few days into our stay but the problem was correct the next day. I cannot attest to the other rooms but the master bedroom mattress probably needs replaced, we could feel every spring and ended up having to go to wal-mart to buy a pillow-top topper. I noticed another empty pillow-top box in the kids room closet so maybe its a common occurrence. All in all a nice stay
Response from the owner The mattresses have just been replaced with a new top-quality pillow-top set. Should be fantastic now.
“Peaceful, relaxing and comfy!”
We stayed at Bear Meadows for 2 nights with our 2 kids and my parents and had a wonderful time. The cabin is spacious, so there was enough room for the six of us. The kitchen is well equipped and the owners provide the linens and plenty of towels so we didn't need to bring all this stuff with us. The hot tub on the patio was so relaxing and overlooks a great view and you can take a quick walk from the cabin to the river and enjoy the view. Also, the game room came in very handy as it was pretty cold outside, so it was nice having entertainment options inside. All in all, I highly recommend this cabin for a family vacation!
“Excellent time in secluded area of Shenandoah Valley”
I came here for the first weekend of November with my so. We had an excellent time here. The house has a nice cabin feel to it inside. The fire is a great addition. The hot tub was fantastic. Very relaxing and fun to soak in. We also took advantage of the canoes, although we were not able to go very far. The bikes probably need a little maintenance and the bed was a little lumpy. Besides that everything was great. I definitely recommend coming to Bear Meadows during fall when the leaves are changing. It is beautiful! On a side note the staff was very helpful and returned my deposit very quickly.
I absolutely love it. I will definitely stay again! The service from beginning to end was great. The process went smooth and the delivery of information was quick! This cabin is very comfortable, clean and organized. This one is one of the best cabins I've stayed in. The amenities are right there on site so you don't have to leave the property. The only thing I would recommend is softer beds.
“Enjoyable Stay with Family”
Direct access to the river. Owners thought of many amentities, such as diswasher, washer-dryer and wi-fi. Linens were provided. However, they were poor quality. I would recommend bringing linens. The house was clean. Furniture was not comfortable. There was lack of attention to items that needed repair. In one bedroom, the light fixture was falling from the ceiling and therefore did not work. One of the kitchen overhead lights was not working. The shower head in one of the bathrooms fell off. Also, we did not know we were expected to take our trash to the local dump. Suggest this information should have been in our rental agreement. These annoyances did not get in the way of our family having an enjoyable time. If attention had been paid to the items needing repair, I would give the rental 4 stars.
Response from the owner The linens are standard sheets, I've slept on them myself and they seem perfectly ordinary, not sure what the guest is complaining about. No they aren't super-fancy, but it's a rural cabin - high-thread-count sheets would quickly be ruined, we tried that once and it didn't work out well. Regarding the lights, for some reason several lights broke during the stay of this guest; all have been replaced. Good suggestion about the trash removal, we've added that information to our agreement, thanks!
This house was exactly what we were looking for. It's a little hike to the river but its worth it. It's a great getaway if you are looking for somewhere private but still close enough to a town. Loved loved loved the movie collection and hot tub. Bring your own music though. No radio signal.
“Had a great time!”
I was nervous to book from online but it was everything that they promised. Place was clean and supplied with everything but the food and drinks. We had a family wedding in the area and two couples decided to get this place together instead of getting two hotel room and we are so glad we did. Would love to come stay a week with my grandchildren when the weather is a bit warmer. After the Wedding several family members came by to visit for a few hours and there was so much room for everyone to talk and visit. Hot tub was really enjoyed as well as the game tables. Didn't need the movies but was really nice to have them there for those that might want them. Can't say anything but good things all in all. We were very happy with it!
“Clean and quiet”
Our Family of 5 stayed for a week. Enjoyed the mountains, river, hot tub, all the ammenities of home, grilled out, used the fire pit. My husband enjoyed the huge selection of dvd's to kick back and relax. Good location, not far from Luray Caverns and skyline drive. Great experience overall.