Description from manager
Description from manager
3 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 8 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $900 to as high as $2325, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- Please contact the owner
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Children - Ask
- Smoking - Ask
- 3 Unknown types
– based on 8 reviews
- Very Good
After seeing 4 stars and reading the review from 10/11/11 re: bugs, I asked EIR. They insured me the house is treated regularly for bugs. So imagine my surprise one night when I turned on a light and found a roach running down the wall alongside my bed! I slept with the lights on after that. One bedroom was so musty smelling it gave me headaches. Eir send housekeeping who did a little cleaning but smell returned. They promised new air filters but it never happened. One toilet does not flush completely. Plumber came and "fixed" it but it still did not flush correctly. House has had lots of water damage as seen it the crumbling ceilings and peeling around windows. Ceiling fans are very dirty, as are the kitchen cabinets. If homeowner paid for a deep cleaning, they did not get $$worth. On the good side, carpets are new and living room furniture is nice. Beds are fairly comfortable. Looks like the house has had very little updating since it was built. Now I understand why the house was available for a late rental. I do not understand Eir's rating of this place. In 20 years of renting in EI and 5 years of ownership, I have never been so disappointed. I left 2 days early - only partly because of weather. Hard to leave the beach but hard to stay here.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry you didn't completely enjoy your stay at Deckhouse West. I am happy that we were able to get housekeeping and a plumber to the property to troubleshoot and fix the areas which were an issue. Deckhouse West is a Bronze rated property so it will have everything you need to enjoy your beach vacation, but furnishings and such throughout the home will be more dated than those in a higher rated property. Deckhouse West, like all of our properties, is exterminated regularly for pest prevention. However, due to the dense vegetation of our area and the warm climate we are prone to an array of bugs. The extermination is supposed to keep them at bay, but when it rains as it did during your stay they sometimes find their way in. Fortunately, one bug here and there isn't an indication of an infestation and likely it dissipated from the treatment in place. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will again vacation with Emerald Isle Realty. Please call us when we can book your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“Disappointed with the bugs”
I have to be honest and say how disappointed I was with the cockroach infestation at the house. I have dealt with Palmetto bugs and they are more tolerable than roaches. I was afraid I would take them home with me. If it wasn't for the bugs, I would have loved the house. I feel that stuff should be taken care of before the rentals start.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Deckhouse West. I'm sorry you arrived to find bugs at the property. Palmetto bugs are prevalent in our area but most of our homes do maintain a contract with an exterminator so the home is sprayed regularly to keep such bugs at bay. Certainly, if you let us know there is a problem, we're happy to send someone out to spray during your stay. I suspect that you experienced this problem as a result of the rainy Fall we've had thus far. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will return to Deckhouse West and Emerald Isle Realty. Please call us when you begin planning your next trip - 1-888-832-0140.
The location was fantastic. The beach was beautiful. We were not expecting all those steps! I Wish I had known since I was traveling with my Mom who had a lobectomy and is recovering from lung cancer. The place was very dated and we were disappointed with the interior. We did feel, however, that the prime location almost made up for the lack of ammentities. Wish we had known that we needed to bring our own toilet paper! Also, we had no complimentary bag of soaps, etc. as promised as part of the linen pkg. We will return to Emerald Isle again.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Deckhouse West. It pleases me to know that you and your Mom enjoyed the location of this duplex. I am sorry you were disappointed to find a lot of stairs to access the property. Please let us know when booking if you want to keep stairs and such to a minimum. Our vacation planners will be happy to find a home which will meet that and other requirements. As for soap and paper products, these items aren't provided at any of our rentals. We do try to remind each guest on the phone when booking and it is included in our Vacation Info Guide which accompanies your rental agreement. Luckily, the location of this duplex is convenient to the local grocery store should you forget items such as these. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you and your Mom will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when planning your next vacation or getaway - 1-888-832-0140.
“Basic rental on the beach”
Very basic place directly on the beach. Much more expensive than second or third row properties with similar amenities.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Deckhouse West. This is a nice duplex with an excellent Oceanfront location. I hope you enjoyed your vacation and will return to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty next year.
“Excellent Place to share time with my Marine son and his family.”
This home is plenty big enough for 8 adults and 3 children. Beautiful view of the beach and ocean right out your back door. Fireworks on the beach on the 4th was spectacular. House had everything you need for a wonderful stay. We will be back!
Everything was fantastic including the location, this was the most relaxing vacation that I have ever taken. The beach was clean an not crowded,the neighbors were friendly. It also was nice to have the sheets & towels provided for us. I have recommended Emerald Isle to several people already ! I was concerned about have a duplex because of space but everything worked out just fine. There was this cute little store called Flip Flops that was very convient to run and grab what ever we needed. You have a very nice Island ! Thanks for the enjoyable vacation and I will be back some year ! Donna Montgomery