from $172 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 5 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 38 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1200 to as high as $3850, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Jul 20, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Smoking allowed
– based on 38 reviews
- Very Good
“Great house for families with teenagers”
Dolphin Run was a perfect set up for us! It's a converted duplex and allowed us to have our teenagers enjoy the living area on one side of the house, while the adults enjoyed relaxing on the other side of the house. This was exactly what we were looking for! The kids could enjoy the tv and a table for playing board games on "their" side of the cottage and we relax on the "adult" side of the house. The cottage has been updated and was comfortably and very attractively decorated. And it was conveniently located just a few blocks from the pier and shopping, making for convenient walks or bike rides for outings. With five bedrooms, there is ample room for guests. There is a large deck overlooking the beach offering a beautiful view. The home is all on one level, so it's a very convenient floor plan. The is a full garage on the ground level offering nice extra storage space. We had a great week there!
“Still needs attention”
Renovations have certainly helped and the location is wonderful however it seems that further attention is needed. The exterminator had to come due to a bug problem. Furniture was dirty. Spots were left on the table, I assume from a previous renter. Carpeting was heavily tracked. My wife and I wouldn't use the linens provided for our bed because of large stains.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed the recent renovations to Dolphin Run. I have made note of the other items you mentioned and will submit them to our housekeeping department. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
“House on the Beach”
This is the second year we have stayed at this house and we have enjoyed it both times. It is right on the beach with a walk over the deck and down some stairs. Some people may not like the wooden deck with wood planks but we had no problems with it. The deck can get very hot in the afternoon and could use with some shade but is lovely in the morning.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. It sounds like you had a lovely stay at Dolphin Run, and I hope you will come again soon.
“Dolphin Run, Emerald Isle, NC”
The house was large and great for a large family or group. The living room could be divided, allowing quiet and noisy activities at the same time. Great ocean access!
“Nicely "spiffed up"”
Much improved property since our stay in 2012. New furniture, 2nd dining area, new flooring- great. Being able to use the garage for a space for the kids to play on a rainy day was great. Also nice to be able to load the car in the garage during our departure in a downpour.
“great beach house”
fantastic week. the house is right on the beach; not one of those high rise kind but all on one level but still had great views from the large wrap around porch. The inside was recently renovated and suited our needs. It had been a duplex so the optional separation was great for several families. You did have to be careful of the wood deck and watch out for random popped nails but they were easily fixed.
“This will be my last vacation at Dolphin Run”
This makes my fourth and likely last rental at Dolphin Run. With each visit I have noticed the interior and exterior condition of the property continues to decline. First, the interior and exterior are in serious need of refreshing and updating. The exterior rear deck needs replacing. We could not walk barefoot on the deck without getting splinters in our feet. Also, the hand railing on the walkway (next to the exterior shower) to the beach is dangerous. I leaned against the railing and almost ended up in the dunes. It doesn't appear to me this railing complies with local building codes. Secondly, The furniture is old and worn and needs replacing. The sofa in the main living area was ripped and should be discarded. Third, my favorite feature of this property has always been the enclosed double car garage. This visit only one of the garage door openers worked. If we had brought more than one vehicle, one would have had to stay on the driveway. The garage was filthy, and covered in lint from the clothes dryer. Suggestion, housekeeping needs to broom sweep the garage between renters. I have rented from Emerald Isle Realty since 1999 with great results. I am very surprised that EIR has allowed this house to get in this state. On a positive note, the house has great views and is very convenient to shopping and restaurants.
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the disappointments you and your family felt during your time at Dolphin Run. I am, however, pleased to let you know that Dolphin Run has recently been refurbished. This refurbishment included fresh interior paint and new carpet throughout, deck repair/replacement, new furnishings in the living and dining room, all new mattresses and box springs in each bedroom, new bed coverings, lamps, and other accessories, a new washer and dryer, and the bathrooms have been updated with granite. I hope you and your family will revisit Dolphin Run for your next vacation and enjoy all of the new features of this home.
We have stayed at Dolphin Run for the past 7 years. Last year we were very disappointed in the deteriorating condition of the house. We had decided to try it one more year to see if improvements were made after review from 2012. This year we observed unsafe boards on the deck, some sticking up and some sunk down when we stepped on them. Additionally, we had an oven fire, where the heating element in the oven caught fire, and the sofa in the living area is in shreds...the foam in the arm and cushions is showing through. I am sorry to say that we probably will not stay here another year, even though the layout is perfect for our family. I will say that the staff at Emerald Isle Realty is top notch. They responded to the fire immediately and worked hard to make sure we had alternative cooking equipment.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were passed along to the owners and since your stay Dolphin Run has been refurbished. Updates include: New interior paint, new mattresses and box springs, new furnishings (living rooms, dining rooms, and most bedrooms), flat screen HDTVs have been added, a new washer and dryer, new sliding door and blinds, new bed coverings, lamps, and artwork, new carpet, bathrooms now have granite counter tops. The deck was also repaired/replaced. We hope to welcome you back to Dolphin Run for your next vacation so please call us to reserve your week - 1-888-832-0140.
“Great ocean front”
Cute 5 bedroom home directly on ocean front. It was originally a duplex so it is possible to close off sides for a little privacy. Only one kitchen but it was a nice size. House seriously needs remodeling. Deck needs repairs. Despite this I would rent it again. There is no need to bring towels other than a large beach towel. There is a hair dryer available.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were passed along to the owners and the result is a fantastically refurbished property. Updates include: New interior paint, new mattresses and box springs, new furnishings (living rooms, dining rooms, and most bedrooms), flat screen HDTVs have been added, a new washer and dryer, new sliding door and blinds, new bed coverings, lamps, and artwork, new carpet, bathrooms now have granite counter tops. The deck was also repaired/replaced. I hope you and your family will revisit Dolphin Run and enjoy all of the new features. Please call us if we can assist you in reserving your week at the beach - 1-888-832-0140.
We have stayed at Dolphin Run for a number of years and have always been pleased with it. This past year, however, we were very disappointed in the condition of the house. Upon arrival we discovered that the garage door opener did not work, and therefore we had to leave both vehicles out in the driveway the entire week. Then, upon entering the house, we saw that the floors looked like they had been mopped with dirty water, and the furniture which has been there since we started renting at D.R looked soiled and worn. The flatware had been put away dirty, and had rust on it. The cookware was in very poor condition and there were not any wine glasses as in the past. The plastic deck chairs were broken and we also found a couple of roaches during the course of the week. Since Dolphin Run is the perfect size and floor arrangement for our family, we will try again this year (already have reservation) but if conditions are the same we will not rent this unit again in the future. Very disappointing as DR has always been a very pleasant place to stay.
Response from the manager Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinion and realize that as a past guest of this home, you are able to compare the property from year to year better than most could. I am happy to let you know that our refurbishment team is working with the owner of Dolphin Run and will make recommendations for updates. We look forward to your stay with us this Summer. Please contact us as the time gets closer and we'll happily provide you with a status of updates going on at the home - 1-888-832-0140.