from $298 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 15 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2080 to as high as $4075, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Jul 20, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
Pool / Spa
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Smoking allowed
– based on 15 reviews
- Very Good
“Great times at Rooms with a View”
Love the layout of this house! Every bedroom has it's own balcony and view of the ocean! The privte pool (not shared with the duplex) was a plus! We did not feel that we were intruding on the other family during their pool time with their small kids. I really don't want to say much more---I would like to keep this place secret so we could come to it every year! Thanks for the vaction!
“Management not on point this year.”
We love this house! We stayed in the opposite side last year and came back and tried the east side this year. We had the early check-in option which we were so excited about, but weren't able to put our things in because the home had not been cleaned. The beds had not been made in fact they didn't even know where the bed protectors or the comforters were. Four hours later and around normal check-in time we were able to unpack. Then the smoke detectors started beeping. Of course it was after hours so we left a message for maint. they called back and told us to just unplug it and they would send someone by. So we now have two we think working smoke detectors. The next day someone did come by. One of the rooms didn't have lamp shades on the two bedside lamps. A little ghetto for the money we've spent to stay here for a week. Finally we will talk about the fleas. They were all around the pool and the pool man was the one who actually called the exterminator. He only sprayed outside because we had not noticed any inside. By the time we left Saturday they were in the house. I called as we were leaving to let Emerald Isle Realty know that the fleas were in the house and John said well this is the first I have heard of this. No apology. Sort of like the dept store employee who you ask where something is and they say that is not my department yet they are standing and stocking in that dept. I do still love this house just not impressed this year with Emerald Isle Realty.
“Great place to be”
Easy check in and out, great duplex easy access to beach and nice pool. Terrific location.I would not recommend the early check in we paid the fee, cleaners did not come until 4 p.m. The house was terrific spacey well decorated, kitchen had all needed, beds great. All in all great trip.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Rooms with a View East. I agree, the location of this duplex is ideal and I'm happy to know that you enjoyed the pool, found the beds to be comfortable and the decor appealing. I am sorry to hear that you didn't get the service you expected with early check in and I'll pass your feedback on to our housekeeping department. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
“Fair not wowed by home condition”
Really liked the layout of the home beds were comfortable plenty of towels and linen was good however trash was not roved from previous renters left all over parking area cleaners never attempted to clean called left a message got no response we had to pick it up put in trash bin and roll down to the road downstairs bathroom had strong urine Odor it needs to have some deep cleaning around base of toilet. A little extra attention to details would greatly improve ones experience on this home. Such a shame that wasn't a priority
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Rooms with a View East. It pleases me to know tha tthe layout of the home and the beds within it were pleasing to you. I am very sorry to hear that the guests before you left trash in the parking area. Our housekeeping department does strive for excellence and I'm sorry that this goal was not revealed to you during your stay. I have forwarded your review to our Houskeeping Director so she can take steps to find out what happened and prevent it from happening again. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us if we can assist in planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“Over-priced and disappointing”
The duplex is over-priced. I expected much more than what we got for the amount of money we spent. The only thing we enjoyed was the ocean front location and the private pool. In general when we checked in house was in a very poor condition. Trash cans were overflowing. Dirty, nasty kitchen sink and floors, carpeting and broken glass on the kitchen floor. Filthy carpet on the stairs leading to the first level. The grill stored in the utility room was old, rusted and dirty looking. Conveniently, nobody from the agency was picking up the phone. We ended up leaving multiple messages. They finally showed up. It took additional 2 hours to wait on the deck with our suitcases until cleaning was completed. The house needed deep cleaning. When we called again to demand reimbursement fees at least for one day, we had a long and tiresome conversation with Emerald Isle realty representative, in which we were only offered reimbursment of cleaning fees in a value of $95 compering to $4000 (weekly fees). That was not the end of our journey. On the second day of the stay, while trying to enjoy our stay on the outdoor deck (since interior of the house was not so enjoyable) we noticed huge 3-5inches cockroaches crawling around the deck. I could not sleep thinking that they will be crawling around the house. Next, day we went to the office to report those nasty invaders and we were ensured that the roaches were native to the island and we will not see them in the house after scheduled extermination. They were wrong we saw 3 of them after the second and third day and until the end of our stay, after extermination. We have been renting through vacations rentals for the last 5 consecutive years. We have never written a bad review nor ever complained. This is the highest price we paid so far, and I am disappointed to say it wasn't worth it. I will never ever rent through a big real estate company like Emerald Isle, apparently they don't know how to treat their clients.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment and feel a lot of it could have been avoided by our policies being better explained to you. While our housekeeping department strives to ready all of our homes before the arrival of our guests, sometimes it does take between the hours of 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. to complete their work. It is unfortunate that in your case it did take until 6 p.m., but I am happy that they were able to ready the duplex for you so you could unpack and relax. As for the bugs which you described, these are common in our area. We have our properties treated regularly to keep them at bay and are successful in most cases in preventing them from entering the home. To see them on the deck, as you did, is not abnormal but I'm sorry to hear of the nuisance nonetheless. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“Rooms With a View Needs Some attention!!!”
Rooms with a View East was a big disappointment. The owners of this house need to give it some immediate attention, especially the kitchen! The utensils were very old and mismatched and there were only a total of 4 teaspoons! There was a deep fryer that had to have been from the 1950s. It had a cloth cord which has been discontinued, many years ago. There was an electric skillet that should be thrown out as well. The kitchen cabinets are very old and need updated. I realize remodeling is expensive, but we have stayed in many beach houses and Rooms with a View, in comparison to all others, definitely needs an overhaul. Our neighbors in Rooms with View West stated how disappointed they were as well. The location is great, the pool is great, but please put some money back into the house itself!
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Rooms With A View East. It pleases me to know that you did enjoy the location of this duplex, as well as the pool. I have forwarded your comments and suggestions on to the owner. Thank you for being so thorough. Emerald Isle Realty looks forward to hosting you and your family again. Please call us to make your 2012 vacation plans - 1-888-832-0140.
“Rooms With A View East”
Overall the house was a Bronze Rating. The furniture was in good shape and all of the needed kitchen equipment worked well. Dishes silverware, pots & pans were all available. For the most part, the house met our expectations. The decking and access walkway is in need of service, and we had to pound in MANY rusty nails that were sticking up, and a few people had gotten slivers from the walkway because it was splitting. The fifth stair leading to the beach was split in half so you had to step over it. In the large bedroom, the door was warped & coming apart at the seams, and would not close. The bathroom light would only work about 1/2 of the time, maint. advised that it was an energy fixture & "They Just Do That". We had to call to have the pool cleaned on Wednesday, as they were not scheduled to come out until Thursday or Friday. (Saturday check-in/out?). Two of the TV's would not work with the remotes, and one of them had a broken DVD player. The only way to turn off one of the sets was to pull the plug behind the dresser as the front Power button & the remote would not work. The kitchen drawers and the laundry room had a bad smell (Mold-mildew) to them, so we had to clean the silverware & before using. The Washer & Dryer are badly rusted so you can?t place clothes on them. There were marks on the walls from bugs being killed (Swatted) and the linoleum in the bathrooms and kitchen could use a good cleaning around the edges. One sliding door would not lock, so a large pole was provided for security (Drop it in the track-way).
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Rooms With A View East. It pleases me to know that you found all of the kitchen items you needed and wanted during your stay. I am sorry to hear of the maintenance issues you experienced but I'm glad we were able to remedy most things during your stay. Thank you for letting us know of these things as you experienced them so we did have the opportunity to correct the issues. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
We loved the cottage-great location and pool was wonderful. The cottage was nice as well. Emerald Isle Realty is a wonderful company to deal with. First class. I never have a worry when I rent from them.
“Clean and in proper working order were not part of this home's a”
We enjoyed the ocean front location and the private pool. The general location of the house was also very favorable. A short bike ride to the pier, shopping and restaurants. The appliances in the kitchen were fairly outdated and had a poor appearance. The kitchen floor and counters were dirty and in turn we did not trust the cleanliness of the dishes and silverware. The dishwasher did not release its cleanser properly and we washed all dishes by hand. The upstairs bathroom (shared between two bedrooms) was not clean. The washer and dryer were rusty and we did not trust them to clean our clothes without ruining them. The utility room containing the washer/dryer was musty smelling and full of bugs. Three of the five televisions did not function properly. Several of the lamps and light fixtures did not have light bulbs. There was no wet bar as stated in the description and photos. Linens from the last occupants weren't picked up until we called housekeeping to come get them. The living room furniture had been steam cleaned and was not dry or put back together when we arrived. Circuit breaker for hot water heater was turned off and we did not find out until we tried to take showers the first evening in the rental. The main master suite only had a queen size bed when a smaller size bedroom downstairs with a lesser view of the ocean had a king size. Bedroom doors would not remain open without props. Ceiling fans in bedrooms did not have light or fan speed chains long enough to reach without a chair. In general, I expected much more than what we got for the amount of money we spent.
Response from the manager Thank you, for taking the time to give us your review on the home that you rented from us; Rooms With A View East. Your valuable feedback enables us to continue to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests. I have looked over our maintenance and housekeeping requests for the week that you were here, I don't see where any of these issues were reported to our realty. Without our guests valuable feedback we can not fix what is broken if we are not aware of it. By reporting these items to Emerald Isle Realty it gives us the chance to rectify any situation that you may have so that you can have a more enjoyable vacation. If you're ever unhappy with the cleanliness of your vacation home please call us immediately and we will send a cleaning team to your home so that we can take care of any issues you may have. The dishwasher not releasing the soap properly is a quick and easy fix that we could have done for you. We understand that washing dishes by hand on vacation isn't much of a vacation. The washer and dryers here on the island are exposed to salt air constantly, it's hard to keep them from rusting on the outside especially when they are located on the ground floor like they are at this home. Since we are at sea level all dwellings on the island that have a ground floor have a musty smell and of course that is where bugs like to live. Just like most people have basements that live farther inland, it's a place of bugs. We have monthly extermination schedules for our homes to keep the homes as bug free as possible. We know that it's not aesthetically pleasing but the inside of both, the washer and dryer should have been in perfect working order. If they were not, we need to know this so that we can fix it. Our housekeepers and maintenance techs do not get to enjoy our homes like our vacationing guests do. If we don't know about it we can't fix it so we rely on our guests to have good communication with our realty so that we can rectify any situation that you may have. If it goes unreported then the next guest has to endure the same issues. Thank you for taking time out of your vacation to calls for this matter. I'm so sorry that the dirty linens were not picked up until you called for them to be. I have addressed that with the linen company and they asked me to apologize on their behalf. I'm not sure what wasn't functioning properly for three of the TV's not to work. It could be a simple fix but with out your report while you were here we didn't have the opportunity to fix it and we haven't had it reported by any other guests. Light bulbs commonly burn out and guests throw them away but forget to tell us that they need more. Our housekeeping teams are in the homes during day light hours so they don't realize when a light bulb is burned out. Please feel free to contact us during your stay and we will deliver more light bulbs and install them for you. I hope that you enjoyed the newly cleaned furniture the week you were here! The weekends are the best time for us to do this service in between guests and it does take a few hours for carpets and furniture to dry completely. Hopefully it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you and your family. I'm sorry that the circuit breaker tripped, if you find this to happen more than once always call our office so that we can send a maintenance tech out to check the breaker. You have provided us with great suggestion, thank you! I have suggested the following to the owners; a) switch the beds around so that the king bed is in the master bedroom b) provide cute conch shells to prop the bedroom doors open and c) put chain extenders on the pull chains for the ceiling fans. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. In the future please don't hesitate to call our office while you are here, we are always here to help make your vacation everything that you envisioned!
I loved it!! We were actually moved to the west side while they were doing some remodeling on the east side. They did let us see their work and it looks great too. We loved having the private pool! The beach access what great. Comfy beds!!! We are already booked for the same time next year and I can definitely see this being an annual retreat! Thanks for such a great vacation home!