Need more information about booking Property 2332734 ?
From $155 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 4 / Bathrooms 4 / Sleeps 8 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Bathrooms: 4   Sleeps: 8  Type: House

4 Unknown types

A Peaceful Sound
TripAdvisor property ID 2332734

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 10 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1085 to as high as $3960, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 18, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Calendar last updated:
18 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Please contact the owner
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions




  • Linen provided

Pool / Spa

  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking - Ask


  • 4 Unknown types


Reviews (10)

Very Good – based on 10 reviews Very Good
10 reviews

Very Good

“the best of both worlds--sound and beach”

Reviewed 1 Aug 2013

A beautiful home on the sound. We enjoyed kayaking, fishing and playing frisbee in the sound. Only one block from the beach and beach access, so we were able to enjoy that easily also. Very clean and well equipped. Wonderful beds. Views of both the sound and the ocean from the top floor living area. Wrap around decks on the upper 2 levels.

“Great escape”

Reviewed 18 Jul 2013

Our family had such a nice vacation. The house was perfectly laid out offering gorgeous veiws from dawn till dusk. We rented kayak's and explored the sound by boat. The walk to the beach was litterly 2-3 minutes which was perfect. The island was a perfect setting for a relaxing yet adventurous vacation. We rented bikes and explored the island utilizing the safe and extensive bike trails. The reality staff and all of the people we met were courteous and kind. We can't wait to come back next year to explore even more!

“Absolutely wonderful.”

Reviewed 20 Aug 2012

This is my favorite place to stay at Emerald Isle. The setting is beautiful and relaxing. The house is decorated quite tastefully and it reminds me of an island getaway. The dock is an amazing bonus. Jutting out into the sound it make a perfect place to grill out or to spend many hours reading. Very, very peaceful. I would recommend this house to anyone. The ocean front is only a short walk away but I never left the property. With the pool and the dock and a well outfitted kitchen, I had all I needed!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at A Peaceful Sound. I'm happy that you found the seclusion you were looking for when booking this home for your vacation. I agree, it does offer so many great features with the pool, the dock, and the beach nearby. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation at A Peaceful Sound - 1-888-832-0140.

“A Wonderful Vacation at EI”

Reviewed 13 Jul 2011

We loved the views from this house and the overall set up of the house. Loved having the pool as well as the pier for the boat. Upon arrival we did note there were dog potty pads in the outside trashcan. There were also spots on the carpet. I did not report it because I didn't smell anything. We thought the spots were just normal wear and tear on rental property. We did not have any dogs or other pets with us. I did get a call questioning me about having a pet but I absolutely did not have a pet along. I boarded my animals at home. A realtor did show the house one day when we were there. He should be able to verify we had no pets. We would rent this place again. Wonderful space and views.

“Perfect Sunsets”

Reviewed 23 Jun 2011

Overall, a wonderful vacation. Good fishing, easy beach access and the nice town of Emerald Isle. Only negative is stairs and more stairs. Kitchen is on third floor, so unless you have some young backs to help with groceries and bags you're going to get a workout!!

“Not what we'd hoped for.”

Reviewed 9 Apr 2011

I put a hold on the property but asked if my older daughter, who lives in the area, could go and take a look at it (because pictures can be deceiving). She called me when I got there and said that the pool did not appear to be open and was covered. I immediately called EIR back to inquire if the pool was open. The reservation clerk assured me that it was open but it was covered to keep the leaves out. She told me that she would have the pool uncovered. We arrived late on Saturday. The pool was not open. I called on Sunday morning and was told that it would not be opened. Nowhere in the listing of this house does it say that! I had specifically asked about the pool when my daughter was checking out the house, I was told that it was a mistake. it's the owners decision not to pay to open the pool. this house was misrepresented. I could move to another house (after a 10 hr drive and unpacking the day before) but the houses offered were nowhere near the water nor did they have a pool. I felt dooped and I wanted a concession. They finally agreed to let me stay an extra day, Sunday. I called on Saturday morning to make sure that they knew we were staying. I was told that it was noted but that she would send word out so that nobody would show up. Went out,came back at 5, the linens had been changed!! All of our food was still in the kitchen, apparently the cleaning people got the message but not the linen. The office was closed so I couldn't confirm our permission to stay. We decided to just leave. I called on Sunday to make sure they weren't charging us for the extra day. They weren't but we didn't get to stay either. I did get a bottle of wine as a gift, that was nice but I really think that some sort of refund would have been in order for all the "mistakes" that took place that week. For the record, on the two days that the sun did peak it's head out, my teenage daughter layed out next to the covered pool!! .

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of A Peaceful Sound. This home offers great amenities at a great price! We’re very sorry that you were given the wrong information about the use of the pool. We do remember this week in March being very cold and rainy so the use of the pool would have been limited or not available at all for use due to the water being too cold. We do cover this information in our rental agreement that each guest signs prior to accepting keys. It reads: “Realistically, the weather is favorable for outside pool use only from late April through mid October even when heated. Private pools in rental homes will be open from mid April through the end of October, weather permitting. A limited number of our homes may elect to make the pool available outside these dates for an additional rental amount.” Page 5. I see that our office did contact the owners to see if it could be opened sooner but it just couldn’t be and that we did not have anything else that matched your specific requests to move you to a home that you would be happy with. We’re very sorry for this inconvenience, we hope that despite this that you and your family still enjoyed A Peaceful Sound, Emerald Isle and made many memories with your family here on the Crystal Coast.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Reviewed 15 Jul 2010

Great place to stay! Everything was exactly as advertised. Emerald Ise Realty (especially Laura) was great to work with. The homeowner was very accomodating since we were a last minute renter. Home was very clean. Easy 2 to 3 minute walk to the beach. It was nice having the sound directly out back as well. Just be prepared for a lot of steps if you walk out on your private pier then back up to the living room on the top floor. It may be a bit too many stairs for some older people. We loved the pool!!! It was nice to go to the beach in the morning, then lay out by the pool in the afternoons. I would definately like to stay here again.

“Beach stay in a secluded location”

Reviewed 10 Jun 2010

We've been coming to Emerald Isle for years and this was the first time we had stayed on the sound. We really enjoyed having our private dock, catching some crabs and sitting at the end to enjoy the view. The 5 minute walk to the beach was easy for adults. The only drawback to this house is the lack of water pressure, particularly in the kitchen upstairs. Several times we no water at all.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at A Peaceful Sound. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your first experience staying sound side. This really is a great house, packed with value as it does provide so much recreation. I'm sorry to hear of the issue you had with water pressure. I don't see that this was reported or has been since your stay. Should you experience a similar issue when staying with us again, please let us know and we'll gladly send someone to the property to investigate the problem. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle Realty for your future vacation needs. Please call us when you begin planning your next trip - 1-888-832-0140.

“Fabulous Cottage!”

Reviewed 29 Jul 2009

The panoramic view of the sound from the living area was incredible. We enjoyed using the telescope to watch the kids kayak to the various islands in the sound.We loved the wrap-around porches and of course, the pool! Easy walk to the beach.It was great to be within walking distance of Flip Flops and the Emerald Isle surf shop.A Peaceful Sound is the perfect name for this cottage.

Review 1-10 of 10

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

2,958 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

320 properties

Wrightsville Beach

300 properties

Carolina Beach

168 properties


69 properties

Sunset Beach

28 properties


17 properties


16 properties

Chapel Hill

14 properties


13 properties

Salter Path

10 properties


9 properties

Winston Salem

9 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties


8 properties

Southern Pines

7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search