Description from manager
Description from manager
3 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 16 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $900 to as high as $2100, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Feb 22, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 22 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- Yes, smoking allowed
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Children - Ask
- Smoking allowed
- 3 Unknown types
– based on 16 reviews
- Very Good
Although obviously made for rental (cheap lights, paper holders, etc.), it was adequate for a family of 16 (we rented both sides). Kitchens are under supplied, but the deck can be opened to both sides.
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I agree, Lazy Whale is a wonderful place to gather as a family. I have sent your comments on to our housekeeping department so they can address the issue of the under-stocked kitchen.
“Great Vacation Home”
We loved this house and it was perfect for our family vacation. We had 6 adults and 2 children (5 & 7yrs) and there was plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen was large and well stocked with dishes & appliances. The bathrooms were clean and had lots of storage space. The only odd thing about the bathrooms was that none of them had towel racks or hooks so there was no place to hang the towels. The A/C worked well and we were thankful for that because the humidity is so high in that region. The lush vegetation made us feel like we were in a secluded hideaway and the private pier was amazing. My kids were able to catch crabs (in the included crab pots) and go fishing (with poles we borrowed from the neighbor on the west side). The house is located in the perfect spot too. The sound is shallow so my kids could walk around and swim safely (water shoes are recommended because the clam shells are very sharp), and the sunsets on the sound were stunning. The beach was just a short walk behind the house and we all had a great time collecting seashells and playing in the water. There are outdoor showers and we were able to rinse off before heading into the house. The downstairs storeroom also had a few beach items (body board, floaties, plastic beach toys, and a tent) that we used during our stay. I assume that stuff was left behind by previous guests. There's also a washer & dryer so we could clean all of our clothing and towels before heading home. Overall, we were very pleased with this property and would definitely book it again in the future.
Great location, but the kitchen could use some maintenance. Cleaning crew could have done a better job.
Really enjoyed the doc right behind the house. And very easy to get to beach on ocean side too.
First time we ever rented on soundside. I will do so from now on. The dock was what made it worthwhile. Great for crabbing, fishing (even though we didn't catch much) and swimming. The beach was a short walk across street. Home was spacious and well equiped. Not a whole lot of complaints. Mattress in master bedroom was sagging a little and probably should be replaced. Other than that, a great place.
Response from the manager I'm so happy you got to experience and enjoy the sound side of the island. It does provide for much recreation and the sunsets are amazing. I'll certainly pass your feedback about the mattress on to the owner. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“We love this house!”
We have rented this house several times and will continue to return for more fun times. Over the years we have met here with relatives from NY to the Carolinas. The sound side offers calm waters for kyaking,little children to play in the sandand just floating around. The pier is great for fishing. The beach is right across the street! It meets all of our needs.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Lazy Whale East. Family gatherings in Emerald Isle are the best and I'm happy to know that your family enjoys time together in Emerald Isle each year. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The service is wonderful, very helpful staff. The home was spacious for the family, rented both sides. Location was great, having the ability to swim in the sound when the ocean was too rough was nice. Overall the place was nice, only issue is could use some remodeling, additional parking and monthly extermination (if not already).
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Lazy Whale East and for your kind compliments of Emerald Isle Realty. It pleases me to know that this duplex provided the space which your family needed and I agree, the location is ideal as both Ocean and sound access is so simple. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great house for serval different couples staying together. It had enough room for everyone to be comfortable. Great view of the sound. Dock was broken from a hurricane but we still had a blast.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Lazy Whale East and for your understanding of the missing dock. Unfortunately, most Soundfront docks were washed away during Hurricane Irene. I am happy to let you know that most of these docks have been rebuilt or are being rebuilt. Please call us when you begin planning your next stay and we'll happily assist you in booking this or another property - 1-888-832-0140.
“Kids could walk to the beach”
We had water on both sides, but the kids could walk to the beach by themselves.
“August 1-8 2010 vacation”
Our vacation was very nice. The house was plenty big and had an ample amount of pots and pans, etc...I was surprised that it didn't have the essentials, such as sheets and pillowcases and towels. It just made it very inconvenient for us to pack such bulky items. There was no toilet paper, paper towels, dishwashing detergent, laundry detergent, or any ammenities that houses we have rented in the past have had. The main burner on the stove didn't work. The house boasted a jacuzzi tub, which didn't work at all. The advertisement also boasts that there are crab pots at the end of the pier coming from the back of the house. Well, they were there the first day, after that, someone must have pulled them up, because they were gone. Just some things you may want to think about before renting the house. Big house...just not equipped with the essentials and broken tub was a definite disappointment. One of the reasons we rented the house!
Response from the manager Original response, August 17, 2010: Thank you for your review. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your vacation at Lazy Whale East. This property is large and I'm glad you found the kitchen nicely stocked for your family's stay. I understand why you wouldn't want to pack all of your linens and then have to wash them to repack at the end of your stay. We can add the linen service to any reservation if a property does not provide it. Please ask us about this when making your next reservation. As for the soap and paper products, this is not something which any of our properties will have when you arrive. We strive to let you know to bring these items so you aren't disappointed or without them when you arrive. I apologize if this wasn't mentioned to you when making your reservation. Also, it is stated in our Vacation Information Guide which accompanied your contract. I have submitted maintenance requests for the jacuzzi tub, stove burner, and missing crab pots. Please, when staying with us next, report all issues when you arrive or as you encounter them so we can correct them during your stay. Thank you again for providing us with your review. I hope you'll choose Emerald Isle Realty when visiting Emerald Isle again.