Need more information about booking Property 2334156 ?
from $111 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Sleeps 4 / House
Bedrooms: 2  Sleeps: 4  Type: House
By The Sea West
TripAdvisor property ID 2334156

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 19 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $775 to as high as $1100, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 22, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Calendar last updated:
22 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map

Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions

Amenities

Amenities

General


  • Linen provided

Outdoor


  • Grill

Suitability


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed

Reviews

Reviews (19)

Average – based on 19 reviews Average
19 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
3
Very Good
9
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
0
Write a review

“funtime”

Reviewed 25 Sep 2015

nice duplex-only problem was the water (or I should say the coffee after it was made) had an oily film on top..Pot was cleaned twice to no avail. also we were interested in staying another week but no one was in the office at 8:45 when we took the keys to check out. tv stations were few and far between.

“Bugs Bugs Bugs”

Reviewed 27 Jul 2015

The area is very nice and not crowded with excellent places to eat. This was our fourth year staying from one end of the island to the other. In condos and duplex houses on ocean front. All were worth the money paid EXCEPT BY The Sea West. Upon arrival we noticed bugs that looked like small lighting bugs without the lights crawling everywhere. We killed all that we could find in the rooms hoping that would be that. Next morning it was the same thing. We called realtor and left message about bugs but never got a response. not even to this day!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. I am sorry to hear about the bugs you encountered during your time with us. Each of our properties is treated regularly to keeps such pests at bay, but from time to time an additional treatment is needed. These spray treatments don't involve a lot of time so it is possible that your message was received and the work was scheduled and completed while you were out. I am speculating, and I have forwarded your comments on to our housekeeping department to ensure the issue is handled. I am sorry that you didn't receive a response during your stay, but I do hope you will stay with us again.

“Great vacation!”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2013

We have been coming here for several years off and on. This is the first that we have been back in several years. We always try to stay in the same area, because we love that there is not a real crowd. By the Sea has been our 'home away from home' at least 2 times before. Love it, but this time it seems a bit dated. The couch cushions kept sliding off. We did run into a problem on our last night there. The hot water heater stopped working. :( But we got thru it and told the girls at check out about it. As far as the beach, it was wonderful when we could get out there. Dang, rain! All in all it was a great vacation and Emerald Isle Realty does a wonderful job from checking in to checking out! We will be back again!

Response from the manager By The Sea West has been updated for the 2014 rental season. Guests of this property will find fresh paint, a new sofa and love seat, new bedding, and a flat screen television in the living room. I hope you and your family will return to Emerald Isle and By The Sea West for your next vacation. Please call us if we can assist you in planning - 1-888-832-0140.

“good location”

Reviewed 4 Apr 2013

Carpets were dirty and stain. Kitchen not stocked well, had to buy a couple pans to use to cook on. Shower door broke in hallway bath. Only good part was being right on the beach.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at By the Sea West. The location of this duplex is great; just as you stated, it's right on the beach. I'm sorry to hear of the dirty carpets, lack of pans, and broken door. Our staff is always available to help so you aren't left disappointed at the end of your stay so please call us and let us know about these things. We can provide pans, fix doors, and have carpets cleaned. I hope you will give Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to host your vacation. Please call us if we can be of assistance when you're ready to make reservations for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.

“We were able to unwound.”

Reviewed 14 Sep 2012

The house was oceanfront. Since our older children are now on their own, we didn't need a large house at the beach. We came for a week with our 16 year old son Wilson. It was a sweet rustic cottage with a nice porch, and the view from the picture window looked like a postcard, or a virtual scene of the surf.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at By the Sea West. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation and I agree, the view from this duplex is picture perfect. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.

“Good Location and clean”

Reviewed 17 Nov 2011

The service was very good. The house was in a good location for our fishing needs. It was well kept and clean. Thankful there was no stale smoke odor or pet hairs!!!

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West and for your compliments of Emerald Isle Realty and the service we provide. It pleases me to know that this home served your needs and desires so well. Please call us when you're ready to begin planning your next fishing trip - 1-888-832-0140.

“A great time together”

Reviewed 21 Sep 2011

Had the opportunity to treat a few of my adult children a son-in-law and a grandchild to a week in Emerald Isle. The house was clean, the location was very good and we all enjoyed ourselves and I got to relax. The appliances were in great working order, the aC worked well and the house, overall, was a good fit for us. My 3 year old granddaughter will remember this for a long time.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at this duplex. Please call us when you begin making plans to revisit Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.

“Almost a great place to stay”

Reviewed 23 Aug 2011

Being right on the beach is fantastic, and the house itself is sound, with all major appliances working well. Wireless internet was a big plus. The HD TV in the living room is only 19" and sits very low in its cabinet, so it's hard to see. There were a number of small items that kept this from being a top rated experience. The blinds on some of the windows did not work, or worked poorly. The fans in the bedrooms were too noisy to sleep with. The handle on the back door was very difficult to work. While there was a nice collection of plates and pots and pans, there was hardly any flatware. The metal ring holding one burner on the stove didn't fit properly, and the burner was severely tilted. These were issues for us because we like to cook. Oh, BTW, although the ad says the opposite, there is a nice oven. All in all, the investment of few hundred dollars to upgrade things like the ones above I mentioned would turn this house into a top-flight rental instead of just an okay one. Still, being less than 100 yards from the ocean, trumps almost anything else.

Response from the manager Update: We have been notified that the ceiling fans are being replaced just in time for our 2013 vacation season. Original response August 24, 2011: Thank you for your review of your stay at By the Sea West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay here, despite a few issues within the property. I did notice that none of the items listed above were reported during your stay. Please let us know so we can resolve issues for you. I have let our housekeeping and maintenance departments know that the stove burner isn't fitting well and asked them to look into replenishing/replacing the flatware. Thank you again for providing your feedback. We look forward to hosting your family on your next trip to Emerald Isle. Please call us to reserve your 2012 vacation rental - 1-888-832-0140.

“Great Week at the Beach”

Reviewed 9 Jul 2011

This year made fourteen years we have been coming to Emerald Isle. It made the third year we have rented By The Sea. The weather was perfect. Last year we had to cut our vacation short due to illness. < this year made up for it> The best part about this duplex is the covered porch that faces the ocean, we spend a lot of time sitting on that porch in the mornings and the evenings. If you like to cook while you are at this duplex the kitchen is not well stocked, and the cook wear is not that great. But I have learned to just bring a big all electric frying pan and some of my own things.

“You get what you pay for.”

Reviewed 22 Jun 2011

This was a fairly nice home for the price. You can't beat being right on the beach. I replaced a shower head that was clogged due to hard water deposits. We called for service on the air conditioner and the service tech was there in an hour and recharged the system. The Emerald Isle Realty staff was very helpful and the breakfast items on our checkout day were a nice touch. The house is old and dated but fairly well maintained. Some windows had to be propped open but the poles were provided. The dishwasher did a fairly good job getting the dishes clean after we bought some Jet Dry and the refrigerator leaked a little water into the drawers. We noticed that on our second last day so I reported it on our way out. We did not have enough chairs on the porch but we brought some with us so it worked out fine. Since we went the week before peak season I was satisfied with the price to value ratio but I would have been disappointed if I had paid full price for this one. This was our first year to use Emerald Isle Realty but we have been to the island several times. We were very pleased with the service and the selection of homes with Emerald Isle Realty and will definitely be a return customer in the future.

Response from the manager Update: I'm pleased to let you know that the refrigerator at this duplex was replaced in 2012. Original response June 23,2011: Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. This duplex does provide affordable, Oceanfront accommodations. It doesn't have all the frills other properties offer but it does boast a wonderful view and as you stated, is very well maintained. I have passed your suggestion of adding more deck chairs to the owner. Also, the refrigerator leak has been repaired. Thank you for reporting that issue upon your departure. Thank you for your kind words and compliments. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin making your travel plans, 1-888-832-0140.

Review 1-10 of 19

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

3,275 properties

North Carolina Mountains

2,630 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

490 properties

Wrightsville Beach

155 properties

Carolina Beach

144 properties

Atlantic Beach

137 properties

Charlotte

52 properties

Bald Head Island

50 properties

Sunset Beach

28 properties

Lake Norman

28 properties

Raleigh

18 properties

Pinehurst

15 properties

Greensboro

12 properties

Beaufort

9 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties

Albemarle

9 properties

Chapel Hill

7 properties

Newport

7 properties

Elkin

7 properties

Dobson

6 properties

Start a new search