Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 19 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $980 to as high as $2075, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 23, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
- Calendar last updated:
- 23 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions
- Linen provided
- Smoking allowed
– based on 19 reviews
- Very Good
Very nice comfortable home which we spent month of January 2014 in. Only caveat is that we are huge basketball fans and the lack of a high definition tv box provided less than desirable sports viewing. We chose another home for January 2015 that had high definition set up for main tv. Other than the tv sports viewing our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Very nice location and views. Well maintained home.
This was a girlfriend week at the beach. We loved the cottage and the beach and the closeness of "The Point". Short walk to watch sunsets at the point and they were breathtaking. We did have several problems during our stay and maintenance was slow to respond. I don't know if it was because it was off season and staff was short but it seemed the same person answered our problems. I've never had this problem when I rent in the summer. The wifi keep dropping us and I had to cut it off and back on to get it again. We kept having what felt like earthquake tremors sometimes rattling windows. Finally found out Camp Lejeune was doing bombing exercises. On Thursday night we discovered they post on their website when they will be doing these exercises. Loved having beds made and towels looked so cute arranged on the beds. Felt like we were checking in to a 1st class hotel. I rent from EIR every summer and will continue to do so. Love their friendliness and have never had a problem. Tried to post 3 pictures but this website kept getting internal error. I will post to EIR FB page as Thistle.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some maintenance issues during your stay. Unfortunately, like anywhere, when there is an internet or cable issue we are at the mercy of the provider and they are not always the quickest to respond. Emerald Isle Realty's technicians are happy to help troubleshoot and can often remedy situations where the issue is a modem or other equipment within the home, but other than that the provider has to be called. I did see that you'll be staying with us again later in the Summer and we will certainly be looking forward to your arrival. Thank you again for your feedback and please call us if we can further assist in planning your upcoming stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“perfect location--nice house that needs some TLC”
We've been visiting EI for the past 7 years in august and this is the first time we've not stayed in our usual house. I have to say, we've been spoiled by how nice our former rental was--because I think it is "not a rental house". Thistle is in a great beach location, and it has a good layout, is a nice size, comes with beds "made", and the 70's kitchen is well stocked with pretty much everything you might need (and we do cook every day because we love fresh fish from Cpt. Willis'). There is a brand new beautiful outside shower that is amazing. The walk to beach might be a strenuous walk for an elderly person or disabled person, but I loved the privacy and walking thru the dunes every day. Having a nice long boardwalk certainly helped! You can see a million stars on clear nights because there is less light-pollution than mid-isle areas ;)))! Now, on the unfortunate side, the front door knob was falling off, the kitchen faucet handle fell off (EIR came the next day to fix it). All of the screened sliding doors on the ocean side wanted to come off track every time they were opened. The dining sliding glass door was impossible to open&shut.; The two-slot toaster is problematic. The master bedroom mattress needs replacing immediately--it has lost it's entire support system and was very uncomfortable to sleep on. The deck planking on the main level needs replacing since it has become splintery and weathered with age. The Wifi cuts in and out on mobile devices in the house and should just allow one to enter a password. I couldn't figure out how to get the DVD player to work in living room so instructions would be a nice feature. Don't get me wrong--we really had a perfect stay--house just felt like a rental whereas other house felt like you were staying in your own home. Maybe if all these updates are made we won't be able to afford to rent it, which would be a shame, but the house would be happy!!! Will be back next year!
Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I agree, Thistle does provide a nice feeling of isolation while still being convenient to the central part of Emerald Isle so you can go out and grab that so desired seafood. I have followed up on the items you mentioned and am pleased to let you know that each of these things has been addressed by the owner and our maintenance staff. Sliding doors, especially on the Oceanfront, can be problematic due to the constant exposure to sea spray and the salt air. The mattress in the master bedroom was recently replaced so we will be checking it to insure it hasn't since been damaged. Unfortunately, most often it is found that issues with mattress are a matter of preference rather than age. The Oceanfront deck that you described is currently being replaced. I think you will be pleasantly surprised when you return to Thistle this Summer. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to Emerald Isle in 2014!
“Another great week at the beach!”
Our family has vacation on this part of Emerald Isle (Inlet Dr, Wyndtree Dr.) for nearly 20 years and this house was the best of the bunch---it suited our family perfectly! It was very well stocked and maintained --- the kitchen had everything we needed and then some. The set up was perfect---we particularly liked the covered decks for those who have had too much sun. Had a problem with a compressor going out, but as always Emerald Isle realty was on top of it and delivered window air conditioners until they got it fixed. Hope to rent this house again next year.
“Enjoyable Stay at The Thistle”
Our Family thourghly enjoyed our stay at the Thistle. The house was clean. The beds comfortable. There were no complaints from any member of our family.
Response from the manager Thistle boasts a gorgeous location in Western Emerald Isle and the owner of this home takes great pride in readying it each year for her guests. I'm so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon. Please call us to plan your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Our Stay was just perfect. The house is so well maintained that you feel totally at home the minute you walk in the door. The house was spotless.The beach was great and we found a lot of sand dollars, star fish and all kinds of great shells. We can't wait to go back!!
Response from the manager We'd love to have you back! Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you are ready to reserve Thistle for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“Great place to enjoy the beach and relax”
This house is on the older side,but was freshly painted and very clean. The kitchen was not fancy,but had absolutly everything we needed,it was very well stocked with serving platters,plates and glassware.Nice, large deck, with fantastic view.The beach is very wide, there was never anybody within a hundred yards of us.Bedrooms were clean and comfy.Easy drive to shopping.We would happily book Thistle again!!!
Response from the manager Thank you for your review. I will happily pass on your kind words to the owner as I'm sure she'll enjoy knowing that her hard work during our off season has been noticed and enjoyed. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle and Thistle. Please call us when you're ready to make plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“It was just what the doctor ordered. ,”
It was just what the doctor ordered. Quite and we did our taxes, ate out once and awhile We watched three deer several mornings.
Response from the manager I'm so happy you enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle and I hope you will return as our guests again. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
“Superb stay at Thistle!”
We spent our first visit to Emerald Isle at Thistle. The house was wonderfully equipped. The owners made sure that Thistle had everything that you need to ensure a totally carefree week at the beach. Only complaint was the hike to the beach. However, after a couple of days the walk seemed ok afterall. House was very clean and Emerald Isle Realty made sure that any issues we encountered were quickly attended to. We already reserved the property for next year and cant wait.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle. It pleases me to know that you felt at home in this cottage and are planning to return in 2013. Please let us know if we can assist further as you continue to plan your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
“It was wonderful.”
To be away from work for awhile and to wake up with the sun rising over the ocean each morning. The house was clean and was laid out just right for my needs for the week.
Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle. It pleases me to know that this property fit your needs so nicely and you were able to enjoy a relaxing getaway. Please call us when you have another opportunity to retreat to the Crystal Coast - 1-888-832-0140.