Need more information about booking Property 2334537 ?
from $186 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 4 / Sleeps 8 / House
Bedrooms: 4  Sleeps: 8  Type: House
Southern Comfort
TripAdvisor property ID 2334537

More Property Details

Book this 4 bedroom house in Emerald Isle today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 17 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1300 to as high as $3925, depending on travel dates.

The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Emerald Isle Realty, Inc
Calendar last updated:
18 Aug 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Emerald-isle Attractions




  • Linen provided


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (17)

Very Good – based on 17 reviews Very Good
17 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Review of Southern Comfort”

Reviewed 17 Aug 2015

This compact, attractive, newly renovated house was just right for our group of 6 adults and 2 young children.


Reviewed 9 Aug 2012

This is a great house...not much upkeep and laid out well. The porch chairs were very comfortable and you are right at the ocean. One drawback, the ice maker on the refrigerator was broken. Hope they get it fixed for my trip next year.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Southern Comfort. We were happy to have you as our guest this year and look forward to your return next year. I'll certainly let our maintenance department know about that ice maker. Thank you for mentioning it. Please call us to make your 2013 reservations, if you haven't already - 1-888-832-0140.

“Great time with the family”

Reviewed 26 Jul 2012

Southern Comfort lives up to its name. It provides the basic needs for a family to enjoy the beach. It is quite and the beach area has lots of open spaces. Not crowded. The beds mattresses have seen better days and could stand to be replaced. We loved the outdoor shower with hot and cold water. The porch added enjoyment with the nice rocking chairs and picnic table. Kitchen was well stocked and the washer and dryer were great. Love the place.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Southern Comfort and for your suggestions. It pleases me to know that you and your family had a great time while vacationing in this home in Emerald Isle and I hope you'll return soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.

“Vacation Week”

Reviewed 27 Jun 2012

As usual Emerald Isle is gorgeous. Our family has traveled there several times and it is always beautiful

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Southern Comfort. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoy vacationing in Emerald Isle and we look forward to serving as your host while you vacation for years to come. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.

“Wonderful vacation!”

Reviewed 16 Jun 2012

This oceanfront house is awesome! Nothing fancy but clean with wide open floor plan and beachy decorations. My family had a blast. This house even has a "Fun" closet which my children loved with toys and lots of different things. Thanks again to the owner and Sabrina at Emerald Isle for making this trip unforgettable.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of your stay at Southern Comfort. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed this home and your kids had added enjoyment because of the items provided by the owner. I will certainly pass your thanks on to both the owner of Southern Comfort and Sabrina. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.

“The best time s[ent”

Reviewed 2 Sep 2010

Stying at Emerial Isle is like coming home. We feel at home. This is our dream to live in Emerald Ise when we retire. It is a dream that we hold onto each and every day. When you tell people that it is just like going home. They look at you like how could that be. It is. Emereald Ise to us is home. Someday we will like there.

“Frustrating start... great ending”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2010

Location was great, even though we'd preferred to be closer to Emerald Isle. Tuesday night check in...10PM no promised. My teenagers and my 85 yr old mom slept in our clothes and used beach towels for cover. When someone finally returned my calls about linens(1:00 am), it was going to be 1:30 am before we could get them and most of us were already asleep. Also..the huge 2-3 inch roaches running around were not a welcome sight...even if they are native to the island. When I called about them Wed morning, I was told someone would come out and spray, and made to feel like it was no big deal... well, it was a very big deal to us..the kids had friends with them and the bugs were in their bedrooms, on the walls on the kitchen counters... so, they sprayed on Wed around lunch and then Wed night more than ever...around 10 huge critters ...literally falling off the walls into one teen's bed. Sooo... this time I visited the office... and again..everyone ws nice, but seemed to convery the message that it wasn't something to be upset about...sooo..they sent someone out again to spray. The worst part was that it was embarrassing to me for the kids to go back and tell their parents about the huge cocroaches and the experience they had. It made it sound like I had rented a dump instead of spending $3, 000! Finally, Thursday night, we were down to 2 bugs. I have been coming to Emerald isle for ten years and have never experienced these 2-3-inch was not pleasant. After the bugs went away, we could all enjoy what was left of the vacation. The weather was great and the house layout was perfect for our group. The ice maker was not working and was actually sealed up, so that was a pain also.

Response from the manager Thank you for your review. Southern Comfort does provide an excellent location. As for the pests which are prone to our area, they are called palmetto bugs. These bugs do thrive in areas of warm climates and dense vegetation. Nonetheless, I'm sorry to hear that they were in the property and I'm glad the spraying was effective. I'm sorry if you felt that we weren't concerned when you called and visited our office about this. We are in fact concerned whenever someone reports bugs within the property they are staying. Yes, they are a fact of coastal living that we are very familiar with but we do all that we can to ensure that they remain outside. Our properties are treated regularly but sometimes they need extra attention. I'm happy you were able to end your week bug free. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to hosting you for years to come.

“Nice but with problems”

Reviewed 25 Sep 2009

Stayed in this home several times 10+ years ago and had really fond memories of it. When we returned to it this fall, I liked the updates: paint, washer and dryer moved upstairs etc. and still found it comfortable and convient. But there was no ice maker or even ice trays (and tho' requested - we never got trays) the screen door was broken (the bottom was fixed 3 days later - but the top was still off),the dryer burnt up a load of clothes (which we were paid for) and their were roaches. We still enjoyed our stay - tho' wish we had had better service.

Response from the manager We are so happy to hear that you and your family have such fond memories made here at Southern Comfort and that you enjoy the improvements the owner has made. Though the owner has no plans of fixing the ice maker he has provide the home with plenty of ice trays for this rental season. He'll be fixing the screen door and the dryer has been fixed as well. This home is on a normal extermination schedule, we try our best to keep the pests away. Thank you for your review!


Reviewed 30 Jul 2009

Everything was perfect. House was wonderful, beach was gorgeous, our vacation was unforgetable. 10 moms of US Marines couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable, relaxing week of de-stressing. THANK YOU!!!!


Reviewed 29 Jul 2009

Location of house - A Cleanliness of house - B Overall maintenance - D (screen door was broken, vacuum cleaner was broken, back door lock did not work with key provided, ice maker didn't work) Overall value - B- Would I go back to that house - No (house is in need of updating, painting)

Response from the manager Thank you for your review. We hope despite the issues you addressed that you and your family had a wonderful time here on Emerald Isle! All issues have been addressed with the exception of the icemaker. It will not be replaced or fixed however the owner has provided ample amount of ice trays for guest use!

Review 1-10 of 17

Also consider

North Carolina Coast

3,935 properties

North Carolina Mountains

2,565 properties

Ocean Isle Beach

490 properties

Wrightsville Beach

158 properties

Carolina Beach

144 properties

Atlantic Beach

139 properties


52 properties

Bald Head Island

50 properties

Lake Norman

29 properties

Sunset Beach

28 properties


18 properties


14 properties


12 properties

Salter Path

11 properties

Sherrills Ford

9 properties


9 properties

Chapel Hill

7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Start a new search