Need more information about booking Property 2337012 ?
from $205 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 5 / Sleeps 15 / House
Bedrooms: 5  Sleeps: 15  Type: House
Chipmunk Lodge
TripAdvisor property ID 2337012

More Property Details

Book this 5 bedroom house in Big Bear Region today! A total of 15 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and internet access among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 26 reviews.

The manager responds to 20% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 28, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Gold Rush Resort Rentals
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
28 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Big-bear-reg Attractions




  • Fireplace

Phone / Internet

  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub


  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave


  • DVD player
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (26)

Very Good – based on 26 reviews Very Good
26 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“Summer fun”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2015

The home is beautifully decorated with outdoor wild life. For summer and warmer weather the basement bedrooms are cool. The upstairs have ceiling fans and large patio doors.

“3 Years Running”

Reviewed 6 Mar 2014

We've rented out chipmunk and Gold Rush cabins right next to each other for the past 3 years. Over all the service is great. Very personal and very willing to accommodate. The prices of these cabins have gone up since we started to come up and for that reason alone I'm not sure we'll be able to make a 4th trip this next winter. Other than that the cabins were awesome. Hot tubs, pool tables, decorative house, fully stocked kitchen, you name it. If you can avoid the insurance and the towel service you can save some money. There are a few other things that could seem annoying if you didn't read the fine print in the contract such as limited toilet paper, taking your own trash out etc. However, if you prepare for these things there shouldn't be an issue.

Response from the manager Our team are always delighted and pleased to welcome our guests back! They look at it as confirmation and validation on what they strive to do. MAKE GUESTS HAPPY. Yes, we are always willing to accommodate , guest service is what its all about! Pricing is something we are not necessarily in charge of as we do not own the properties we manage and our owners are quite involved with the process. We hope to see you on a return visit, if not in these homes we will accommodate you in alternative cabins. As you know, in support of our efforts to help our guests come prepared we do send out quite a bit of information prior to your stay in addition to what is already in the rental agreement. It has always been the practice of Gold Rush to supply an "initial" supply of toiletries for convenience. Depending upon the use, a convenience supply can last the stay. Nonetheless, that is why we give you the information to prepare for so that guests can be properly informed and then make the decision whether to bring along extra supplies or not. From the very onset of your rental agreement and throughout our informative emails prior to your arrival, we provide the information because believe that an informed traveler is the best prepared - which in turn, makes for a positive experience and a happy guest. We look forward to helping you with your next stay. Please let us know if you have any concerns when making your return visit. We also appreciate that you have been a returning guest all these years and want you to know we value your continued support of our services and will do our best to take good care of you. Most Sincerely, Your Team from Gold Rush

“Noisy neighbors”

Reviewed 3 Oct 2013

Five writers rented this cavin. we were assured of privacy and peace. but instead, this same rental agency rented the cabin next door to ys - 6 guys - they looked like they were in the military. they drank and partied all night. i was not informed that i should call the after hours number in a case like this. beware. Gold Rush Resort rentals does not vet its renters. our Saturday night was ruined

Response from the manager We are truly sorry to read that your Saturday night was ruined. Your issue that you have expressed here is important to us, especially when you stated you did not know to call our after hours with this issue. Disturbing the peace and tranquility of the neighborhood is a violation of the city code and our rental agreement. To do so is not acceptable and will not be tolerated by us or the city of big bear lake. We have this clearly stated in our rental agreement with our guests. Disturbing the peace at any time is in direct violation with the city codes, there are fines as well as the possibility of eviction without refund! For this reason, and others, we do vet our renters to the best of our ability. Our program protocols have been developed to abide by all the city requirements which are meant to protect residence and visitors alike when it comes to a variety of issues. We take pride in how thorough we are in making sure all our guests are completely informed about everything that will make your stay more comfortable as how to contact us if there are any concerns that occur after our closing hours. Supporting our guest and their comforts is our number one priority. We know that our success is predicated on our owners and guests satisfaction. We don't want to be the biggest cabin management company, however, we do want to be the best. To support our efforts, we believe in informing our guests makes happy traveler. We accomplish this in a variety of ways. 1. The details we provide in our rental agreement. 2. The details we openly discuss with you at check-in as well as have you initial acknowledging your understanding prior to releasing keys. 3. Postings within and about the cabin. 4. To assure ourselves that our guests have a full understanding of all the pertinent issues we require guests to sign and initial their acknowledgment. 5. The sign posted on the exterior of the cabin that has our number as well as the code enforcement number. With all the steps above in place, we have found success in achieving our goal of assuring our guests the confidence that we are here for you at anytime day or night and how you can reach us for ANY concern. In this case, it seems as though there has been something misunderstood and for that we do apologize. To investigate this issue, we reviewed your rental agreement, your reminder document at check-in and have found all to have your signature and initials on everything including the subject items that pertain to your concern as you have expressed. We urge you to review your rental agreement and other paper work to remind you that we have been thorough. Hopefully, together with our explanation here, you will get a better understanding that we do vet our renting guests as well as want our guests to have an enjoyable stay. An enjoyable stay to each individual guest is as diverse as each individual renting guest. This is something that we are not able to know what guests will choose to do in their private lives. We can only inform and expect the rules to be followed. The difference is, if a guest(s) make the choice to violate our city codes, and we become informed about it, than that is when it becomes our business and our responsibility to act. Until then, we know our guests understand the rules and we expect that they will be respectful and abide by them. Since we are not a hotel facility where all the units on the same property under the watchful eye of management, we, and any other agency are at a disadvantage to know what is going on at any given time of the day or night as one would reasonably expect. In the spirit on quality customer service, we extend this detailed explanation in the hopes that you can review and appreciate how we feel we "vet" our guests in helping to support the community as well as our renting guests to enjoy Big Bear and all its attributes. Please accept our apologies. We hope you will consider to use our services in the future. Most Sincerely, Gold Rush Management

“Great Family Reunion”

Reviewed 27 Jun 2013

Great location, rooomy, two blocks from the Marina Would rent again

Response from the manager Although brief, we really appreciate you taking out time to submit a review of Chipmunk lodge. We hope to see you back soon. Kindest Regards, The Gold Rush Team

“Fun Warm and Cozy”

Reviewed 16 Feb 2012

Loved the Hot tub. The Fireplaces were pretty cool too but they kept causing smoke to poor into the house. I dont know if it was the chimney or what but it wasn't cool. There was plenty of rooms and beds to sleep on The pool table was a smaller table and there was no pool cue so we didnt even get to play pool at that house. Other than that the service was great. The people were all very nice and the location was good. Theres a view of the lake from the back

Response from the manager Thank you for your review of Chipmunk Lodge. We have checked into the issue of the smoking chimney and found it to need some cleaning. All is taken care of and just waiting for your next stay! We were sorry to hear of the missing pool cue, all the homes are suppose to have two! We wished you had given us a call, we would've gone out immediately to get you what you needed! We will be looking into this and how this item eluded our attention! We guarantee this will not be an issue the next time! We hope you will return soon and allow us to make your next stay perfect. Warmest Regards, The Team at Gold Rush

“Great cabin for a family getaway.”

Reviewed 8 Feb 2012

The service was great. The home was really nice and cozy. The location was great. One thing we could have used more of would be a more well stocked kitchen. And we could only get the hottub so hot, would have liked it a bit hotter. But it didn't matter, we still had a great time.

Response from the manager Service with a smile! One of our saying is, "Service First - Fun Always"! We constantly strive you make our guests feel warm and welcome. We truly appreciate you have made Gold Rush Resort Rentals your choice for your special time away. Just an FYI, we have checked on the hot tub since reading your concern and have found it to be working properly. The highest temperature allowed is 104 degrees. As you know from all the information we provide, if you were troubled or concerned by something we would be happy to come out and see if our assistance could make it better. Unfortunately, in your case, we were not made aware of the hot tub issue and can only now conclude that it could've taken more time to heat up to your desired temperature since this tub is a larger than average tub, other than that, maybe someone in the party touched buttons that may have caused the tub to go into sleep mode. In any case, we have checked this out and can confirm that the system is working as it should. We are happy to hear you still had a great time! Thank you for your review and your time in posting one. Hearing from our guests is how we rate the service we provide. Our guests satisfaction dominates everything we set out to do! Please know that we truly hope to see you on a return visit soon. Don't hesitate to look at our VIP discount options as well as our various promotions for a return visit. Most Sincerely, The Gold Rush Team

“my family & grand kids are already asking about next year”

Reviewed 17 Aug 2011

location was great. house was plenty big enough for all 13 of us. we are already talking about doing it again next year. affordable accomadation personal were ready to help with any problems. i would like to thank them making our time very enjoyable.

Response from the manager We can't wait to see you next year! Our guests are number one to us and as you can see, we are here for you no matter what issues may arise. It is always a pleasure to get acknowledgment from happy travelers. We will pass on your review to our team members. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. Warmest Regards, The Team at Gold Rush


Reviewed 16 Mar 2011

Jeri in the office is so helpful and very warm, called me several times to remind me about the check-in time and that road 330 is closed. The house entirely is very clean and cozy. But i think they need to change the barbeque grill. We spent a lot of time inside the house rather than playing in the snow. I will recommend this unit to most friends that I know.

Response from the manager We very much appreciate your favorable review regarding your experience with our team member Jeri. We strive to make sure our guests understand a variety of issues to help make their experience a more favorable and comfortable stay. Its always nice when guests acknowledge an appreciation for such things. Chipmunk Lodge has been a favorite to many who visit Big Bear. The owners are planning to replace the grill in the Spring. The new one will be ready and waiting for your return. We graciously thank you again for your time spent reviewing your experience and hope to welcome you on a return visit. Sincerely, The Gold Rush Team

“Service provided was not the same as promised.”

Reviewed 3 Feb 2011

My friends and I were disappointed in the fact that there was no internet connection, although it was advertised that there would be. This was a huge deal because some of us had important business to deal with, but it was hard without connection. We had no bathroom paper. Seriously, it does not cost so much we could have had an extra roll or two in the house. If anything they could have told us at check in that all the toilet paper we got was whatever was on the roll. This made it really awkward because my sister went to the bathroom and finished the toilet paper and when she needed more there was none. Their services were horrible; all they cared about was getting your money and getting you in and out.

Response from the manager Again, we apologize for the internet problem at Chipmunk. At the time of your stay we discovered Charter had issues with service when you called. After you left and we looked further, we discovered that the DWP had cut the line to the home. They are currently working on that street to change the locations of the water services. The DWP are going throughout Big Bear and making many changes. Obviously this is something that is beyond our control. We are removing the internet access from the description until we are able to confirm the ability to reaccess. At check-in we thoroughly discuss all the specifics pertaining to renting a private home as opposed to a hotel room. Part of our information as you know tells you that we only supply an initial supply of toilet paper, its for convenience only, and , we suggest you bring additional supplies. We also specify this to you with our confirmation package sent via email at your final payment. Although we do set up the homes with a variety of items and paper products, again, these are meant as a starter convenience, NOT a continual supply. When we told you of these issues at check-in you were asked to sign stating you understood these issues. If you had any questions about this we would have been happy to answer anything that may be misunderstood. We do take pride in our services and take diligence in our efforts to help our guests understand the differences on renting private homes. We want all our guest to experience a great stay so that they come back again and again as well as refer our services to their friends and family. We are here to bring a positive influence in our community and a business that promotes a positive experience for guests who wish to come and enjoy all the gifts Big Bear has to offer. It saddens our team to read such a negative review. Stating that all we want is to get your money and get you in and out couldn't be further from the truth. Again, we apologize for the lack of internet. Although you somehow didn't understand about the paper products we hope that all tlhe other attributes of Chipmunk Lodge made for an enjoyable stay. It has been a home that many have come to return to again and again. In the spirit of goodwill, we hope our reply to your review has provided a little more insight to your situation and would hope that you will see things in a little different light. Most Sincerely, The Gold Rush Team

“Awesome time, can't wait to do it again!”

Reviewed 14 Jan 2011

This cabin is a little far from the slopes but aside from that it's an absolute great time. The hot tub is awesome! My only gripe is the fact there was no propane tank for the BBQ when the lady at check-in said there should be one there. For the amount of guests we had (2 less than the cabin slept), it was a little snug but we all had so much fun! Awesome time, can't wait to do it again!!

Response from the manager Yes, Chipmunk Lodge has lots of amenities to make for a great stay! Many guests have commented on the extra large hot tub as well as its surrounding mountain ambience. We are sorry for any confusion regarding the BBQ. Chipmunk Lodge's BBQ does not need propane as it is a fully functioning "natural gas" unit. For safety reasons the gas valve is not kept on. We also keep the propane tanks valves shut off. The only thing you needed to do was turn the knob to allow the natural gas to flow. We will make sure there are no confusions in the future. Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Chipmunk Lodge. Warmest Regards, The Gold Rush Team

Review 1-10 of 26