Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 3 bedroom house in Folly Beach today! A total of 10 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a deck, air conditioning, and parking space among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 6 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2003 to as high as $3713, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 5% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Aug 19, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 19 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Folly-beach Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Linen provided
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
- Satellite TV
- Smoking allowed
– based on 6 reviews
- Very Good
“Major Mistake. Bait-n-Switch. Salvation Army Furnished.”
If there were a NO STAR option I would have chosen it. The ONLY reason they earned a single star is the efforts put forth by one of their staff, Jillian. MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR CURRENT PHOTOS. We could barely recognize the interior of the home we had rented. MAJOR "Bait-n-Switch" on this property!!!!!!! Let's start with arriving at 5:15 PM to a house that was trashed and filthy. I just don't mean dirty, I mean FILTHY. Soiled linens in heaps strewn throughout the house; grimy stove; half cooked/eaten food on the counters rotting in the heat; shower floors so scum covered that a gallon of bleach would not cut the crud; furniture that made things from the Salvation Army look top notch; footprints on the table; and trash bags strewn about. Frat houses on Saturday morning are cleaner! Jillian, who was extremely apologetic and had very limited resources/options, tried to put lipstick on a pig. She showed us four other properties. All of which were equally awful in one way or another--major water leaks, holes in the floor, thrift store furnished, and ant infested. We chose the best of the four and spent one night only to find kitchen table covered in ants the following morning. Needless to say, we spent less than 24 hours at any of their properties. We returned the keys to the office and asked for a refund. There was some discussion about cleaning the first house, which they were attempting, but we had decided NO GO! The front desk manager had the absolute shameless nerve to attempt to charge us for the night we stayed. What a joke. Once we got a 100% refund posted to our CC--it took some discussion, we turned around and drove another six hours back home. While on the way home, we received a call from Avocet—at 3:30 PM—a full 24 hours after the property was supposed to be “guest ready”—saying it was clean and asking if we were still interested. Needless to say, Avocet wasted our time and money and ruined our vacation! RENTERS BEWARE!
“great family time”
We loved everything, but the living room in the front of the house could be better served as a bedroom.We loved the location best.Everyone at Avocet was wonderful!
“We love Folly”
We have stayed in this home for 5 summers and love it. It's smaller than some, not suited for big families, but just right for us. I like that we no longer have to take our own linens (this changed a few years ago). Last year we had a lot of trouble with the lock on the front door. The salt air has made it difficult to work, but would be easily replaced if they take the time. We love to sit on the deck and watch the sunrise and then watch the surfers in the evening. The only problem we have encountered in the past are ants and bugs in the house.
We have stayed at this home before - the first times we were happy with the home - we did feel that some things were not being kept up as they should be. We again stayed this year (end of 2008 - begining of January, 2009) and we were disappointed in the home. It was not clean like it had been before. The pots and pans were getting in bad shape - we had trouble finding a pan we could make pancakes in without burning them. Some of the pieces of deck furniture had rusted through so when one of sat on a chair the leg actually bend - no one was hurt but it was it was something that we felt should have been noticed before the leg actually broke. The bathrooms were very clean and there were enough towels in bathrooms but not nearly enought kitchen towels or dish clothes. The major appliances all worked and the water heater worked well and we seemed to have enough hot water. It is just that the house did not seem to us to be being kept up as well as it could have been.
Response from the manager Hey Kay and thanks for letting us know about Next Stop Morocco. We went and sent over a new set off pots and pans. If you ever have that problem again, just call the office and we will run over you whatever you need including kitchen towels. I have contacted owner about outdoor furniture and awaiting his okay to purchase new. We did a DEEP CLEAN on this property in March for the summer season so it should be back to tip top condition but that is no excuse for you finding some things dirty and for that, we apologize. Give us and Next Stop Morocco another chance.
“Well decorated home for a small family”
This was the fourth house we have stayed in at Folly. It was very well decorated and had comfortable furnishings. However it was a little cramped indoors on rainy days. The living space is very small but it does connect to the dining and kitchen area which was nice while cooking. The porch and sundeck were way too small and did not have a grill. They outside was not very clean upon arrival. Lots of stairs to climb to get in. Very close to the actual beach which is why we chose it. So we could see the children while they were on the beach. More locals on the beach in this area because it is right past the wash out where all the surfers are. It does have a lovely bedroom upstairs with great windows. Overall it was a very nice house just a little too small for our family. Parents, two teens, a 1 yr old and grandmother. I would stay there again for the price though.