Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Captiva Island today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 17 reviews.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 20, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
North Captiva Island Club
North Captiva Island Club
- Calendar last updated:
- 20 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Captiva-island Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Clothes dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Washing machine
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 17 reviews
- Very Good
“Perfect! Couldn't get closer to the water!”
Nothing fancy about this place, but it was perfect! My husband, 1 year old, and my parents had plenty of space and enjoyed being so close to the water. It was amazing to open all the doors and windows and feel and hear the ocean! Quiet and relaxing!
Exquisite! Very relaxing wonderful views. My family and I would like to return yearly, this was by far the best vacation we have taken!
“Great view but uncomfortable Beach”
Our experience was positive with respect to the amazing ocean view and the very good service provided by the Club. However, we were very disappointed with respect to the beach access. There were several big rocks in a small and thin beach. You should update your pictures because if we had seen the real beach, we had not rented that house.
Response from the manager Thank you for the review. Your 100% correct about this. We will update the photos as soon as possible. Thank you for visiting the island.
“North Captiva Island Retreat”
Upon arrival on North Captiva Island, we were greated at the marina by staff, and given a map to the property. When we arrived at the property, the maid was still cleaning, and trying to get the hot tub to heat up and work. That was the first sign of several problems with the house. Long story short. It never worked at this property. We were located on the beach, facing West , on the Gulf of Mexico. I give this credit of the view to God. He created it. The house was in ill repair. First the hot tub, then the ice maker/water did not wiork at all. So we had to buy gallons of water and ice from the small convenience store(I do mean small! ). Then the frig. do not cool down to an acceptable temp. until that night. The bathroom s had body hair all over the sink and shower/tub. The floors also had dust/hair balls everywhere. The toaster never worked. The only cushions for the 4 deck chairs were so old and worn they were falling apart. As far as the first floor bar/ outdoor entertainment area. Falling apart, rusty chairs, and a swing with very rusty chains holding it up. Even though the house was a disaster, the view was the best on the Island. The people who work for North Captiva Island Club were nice, but the front dest totally ignored my notes to management about all the things that were not working, and were broke. With that all said. I might stay again. I think they owe me a free night or two. And an apology for not addressing the issues. It was off season, and could have done so.
Response from the manager You got it! We are working with the owner on a few of the important issues. It's definitely a rustic beach cottage, but all mechanical things should work.
“Not what expected”
The Internet pictures did not accurately reflect the amenities of the house or it's condition.
“nice location- run down property”
We were very disappointed by the standard and condition of the property: the house needs a lot of maintenance to get it back up to standard. Furnishings old, sheets/pillows need replacing Patio doors would not lock, and could be pulled open Dishwasher did not work correctly No waste disposal Refrigerator ice/water did not work Shower fittings in master loose Several power outlets dangerous loose, uncovered, not working only one light worked outside, no light on stairs or underneath the hose Everything under the house looked like a bad weekend project several deck boards need replacing TVs in bedrooms do not work Beach chairs broken There were many other items
I came to North Captiva for my wedding and brought all of my family and friends. The whole week was magical. Everyone had beautiful houses, which very well maintained. Once we got to the island, the stress of the mainland drifted away and everyone was able to kick back and enjoy the beauty of the island. We were able to meet up easily and without stress by golf cart, and took advantage of the island club, barnacle phil's and the boathouse restaurants. Everyone had plenty of things to do, from exploring the island and wildlife, kayaking and swimming with dolphins and manatees, swimming at the pool, riding bikes, and playing tennis. The great houses were perfect for parties and meet-ups. On top of all of that, I had a beautiful beach wedding. Jeff Pence, the wedding coordinator went out of his way with me from day one, making sure that all my wishes for my dream wedding came true. I must have called him a million times leading up to the wedding with a million questions and requests, and he went out of his way every time to put my mind at ease and met my every request. The ceremony site was breathtaking and I have the most beautiful pictures to cherish forever. Jeff also recommended a wonderful wedding planner to help me with tents, flowers and decorations that suited my tastes. Lastly, even though I had my own wedding photographers, his girlfriend stepped in to assist with the photography, and thank goodness she did, because she took some of the best pictures! all in all, North Captiva and the island club are rare treasures, pure paradise! I cant wait to come back for my anniversary or family reunion and make more memories in this special place.
“terrible bitting bugs outside at night”
Highlights, beautiful view, setting, comfortable cottage, unit #44, great beach location. Negatives, outside lights and many inside lights not useable. downstair area spa and bar need lights as does stairs. Downstairs room smelled musty. Queen bed needs better mattress. Got cut on rusty beach umbrella.
“did not like the house at all”
As I wrote on the card at living. The house needs work, the water smell like wrotten, the ac did not work properly.
“Great location right on the beach..”
The whole island is beautiful and a great spot to choose you vacation. The staff is very very helpful and attentive. Even though the sunset beach house was a bit worn down and had a major insect problem at night, we made the best of it. The beach front location is what makes it best. I would definitely come back to the house but a little more prepared. Make sure you bring mosquito repellent and plenty of candles. I wouldn't recommend turning on the lights at night because it attracts many insects. Other than that I would give this house a strong 7 out 10.