Description from manager
Description from manager
1 Full bath
More Property Details
Book this 1 bedroom house in Hanalei today! A total of 2 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 41 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1750 to as high as $2150, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 15% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 25, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Na Pali Properties, Inc.
Na Pali Properties, Inc.
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 25 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- Please contact the owner
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Hanalei Attractions
- Ceiling Fans
- Mountain Views
- CD player
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Balcony or terrace
- Children - Ask
- Smoking - Ask
- 1 Full bath
– based on 41 reviews
- Very Good
“Cozy yoga perfect”
Everything was great except I would get a bigger water heater for longer showers and perhaps add a Jacuzzi because I surf every day and have a series of broken bones there is a perfect lanai to practice yoga on even if it is raining it rained almost every day part of the day or more during our 10 day stay Easy to walk to the beach with surfboards. Very touristy not the Vive I've experienced in the past
Response from the manager Thank you for your great review of Plantation Cottage. Your comment about the hot water heater is very interesting - we'll have to check to see what the problem was for you. We're glad you enjoyed the cottage, and Hanalei. Hope to see you again! Jane F. Abramo, REALTOR Na Pali Properties, Inc.
“comfortable, private, excellent location, felt like home”
This house quickly became our home away from home. It was quiet, peaceful and serene, just what we wanted. Just a short walk to the beach and downtown restaurants. It was perfect for just the two of us. There is no AC, but that didn't bother us in Sept. They could probably stand to buy an updated coffee pot, but everything in the kitchen was sufficient and easy to find.
Response from the manager Thank you for your kind review-We appreciate your feed back and are pleased that you enjoyed your sty in this unique cottage-we hope to see you again! Mahalo
Delightful cottage. Large rooms, comfortable. Very private. Walk to the beach and town. Quiet! Kitchen had all the necessities. TV etc, laundry machines, beach towels, books and more.
The Plantation Cottage was just so perfect and cute! Love the old hawaiian feel of the place-very relaxing. The front porch daybed was just perfect for afternoon beverages and a little nap. Love the outdoor shower too. Great house for a couple in Hanalei.
“Old Hawaii at its best”
We just returned from our stay at the Plantation House and we plan on returning on our next annual trip to Kauai. In a word the house is truly old Hawaii- funky and comfortable. The house sits back from the road on a large grassy parcel. The living room, bedroom and front porch offer total comfort, privacy and peace. We were on the Island visiting friends who are long time residents of Kauai. They came to see us along with our friends staying nearby and all were totally impressed. The consensus - we scored a great vacation home.
This cottage is tucked back from the main road, allowing lots of privacy while still easy access to the beach. We loved walking where we wanted to go and only got in the car 2x. Easy walk to the beach, Saturday market, dinner and our favorite taco spot: Pat's down by the pier. While the rental is not fancy/upscale we found the rental quite clean, well stocked and very comfortable. We both were pleasantly surprised to find the bed as comfortable as ours at home. When we couldn't locate the coffee grinder, Barbara from Na Pali purchased a new one and delivered it herself the next morning. We spent hours on the punee (bed) on the front porch: reading, talking, watching the breeze in the palms, geckos and rain showers. Other details we loved were the outdoor shower and so many windows to open to the breeze.
“Mold & Scum around Faucets and Shower. Bad Plumbing. Windows a”
On the bright side, location and privacy are the outstanding features of this little cottage. It's close proximity to town and the beach and it's very private and spacious yard are Great. Beyond that there's not much to recommend. At first glance the interior of the cottage is charming with it's Hawaiian upholstery and rattan furniture and other cute island touches but the levels of mold and scum in the bathroom and behind the kitchen sink are not acceptable! It obviously has not had a deep and thorough cleaning in a long time - in spite of the mandatory $185/week that renters are charged for cleaning services. Someone is making a tidy profit on these charges. There is a note from Na Pali Properties on the fridge warning renters to lock all windows and doors and hide your belongings every time you leave the house. Unfortunately 3 of the 4 windows in the living room have broken locks and cannot be secured. Additionally the front doors are on rollers that don't function properly and they cannot be fully closed. A skinny thief could squeeze through, no problem. Also there were 3 light sockets on the front porch that had no bulbs at all. How difficult or expensive is it to screw in a light bulb??? The plumbing in the shower has a big problem. The valve for the hot water malfunctions and essentially leaves you with 2 options: scalding hot water or tepid water. If you try to set it somewhere in between it vibrates and makes a terrible racket and shuts down to the tepid setting. It's unpleasant, to say the least. The kitchen is missing basic amenities: No coffee bean grinder? No salad spinner? (to name but a few) These are not exotic nor expensive items. Why wouldn't they be provided? Overall there seemed to be a general lack of respect for me, the renter. I resent having to deal with another person's deferred maintenance issues when I'm on vacation... especially when I'm paying $275 per night for the privilege of being there!
Response from the manager Aloha to our Guests-We do appreciate all comments and concerns with any properties as we do not stay there, so we only know if we are told- but we are disappointed to see this review as this guest did not contact us during their stay to tell us about any of this- We would have addressed these complaints immediately. We are happy to supply any missing items - sometimes inventory needs replaced from time to time. We would also have sent a handyman and the cleaner back to take care of any of those issues- however we were never given the opportunity to do this. Deep cleaning is done on a regular basis when the calendar allows-this is a popular house so a break in the schedule does not happen very often-we will now make sure to block time for this. We feel it is our responsibility to warn the guests about potential break-ins as happens in any visitor area-we do not want to scare anyone but want them to be cautious so as not to ruin their vacation with theft. We have spoken to the housekeeper about cleaning problems and are addressing all of these concerns now that we know about them-and the Cottage will continue to be a cozy spot for all of our new and returning guests.
Even though it rained for most of the 10 days we were in Hanalei, and there was housing construction in an adjacent property, the cottage was a perfect retreat, and literally just a short walk to the sand. It's more spacious than some of the pics would suggest, well equipped, simple but organized. The big porch/lanai with a double bed is a perfect place for reading; a large storage area in back to keep the surfboard. And set back from the street, with view of waterfalls on the mountain from the huge yard. Not cheap, but a value given the location and condition of a "real Hawaiian" cottage.
“Rain or shine a pleasure to stay here!”
This place was to die for .. very private, an easy walk to Hanalei beach or town, gorgeous views of the mountains (and wateralls), and a tangerine tree just dripping with fresh fruit. The Plantation Cottage itself was old style Kaua'i, very quaint and tastefully decorated. We cooked most meals here because because rain or shine it was a pleasure to just hang out at the cottage.
My girlfriend and I met on a remote beach on Kauai just over a year ago. I lived on the West Coast at the time and she on the East Coast but now we live together just north of New York. We returned to the island for our 2nd Honeymoon and were really pleased with our cottage jut mins by foot from the beach. We would be up before sunrise to catch the early morning surf so as not to miss any of the day.We cooked at home almost every night with great local produce from the weekly market and ate a lot of ahi poke!!! There is a lot of space and privacy here even though you are right at the beach. I stayed just down the road last time and this cottage had far better facilities. Really great place to stay just there and enjoy the North Shore or as a base for exploring. I will gladly return to the Plantation Cottage, the sooner the better!!! Book now...