Description from manager
Description from manager
2 Unknown types
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Boone today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 28 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1290 to as high as $1380, depending on travel dates.
The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 19, 2018.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Leatherwood Rentals, Inc.
Leatherwood Rentals, Inc.
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 19 Feb 2018
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
- This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- Please contact the owner
- Cancellation policy
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Boone,-north-carolina Attractions
- Air conditioning
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Children - Ask
- Smoking - Ask
- 2 Unknown types
– based on 28 reviews
- Very Good
Squeaky bed, squeaky doors,hard mattress,clean up yourself,middle of nowhere,went to ride a horse and they gave us mules. The best part was the mules. Tried to talk to manager, "can't do anything"
Response from the manager Sorry to hear you were disappointed. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority at Leatherwood Mountains Resort. We invite all guests to contact our onsite office immediately following check in if there is ANYTHING having to do with your accommodations that falls short of your expectations. We regret we did not hear from you at that time. Our management staff is onsite everyday and very willing to accommodate most any need, given the request is made in a time manner. Special requests for horses rather than mules are rare, but can be accommodated if the request is made prior to time to mount up. Glad to hear the mules impressed you. They are a very popular part of our trail ride experience. We also take time to speak with every potential guest personally if needed to make sure they find the perfect location for their vacation. We recall spending time personally assisting you over the phone when making your reservation. We regret that conversation didn’t result in your finding a cabin to better match your needs. We also regret that you were disappointed you had to clean up behind yourself. If our check out procedures are more involved than what you feel comfortable with, then a vacation rental home may not be the best fit for you. Our check-out procedures reflect the vacation rental industry standard. Thank you very much for your feedback about the bed,doors and mattress. Sorry for the inconvenience, as this is the first feedback we have received of this nature for this property. Thanks to you, our maintenance department will certainly address any issues found in time for the next guests. Leatherwood Mountains Resort hosts thousands of satisfied customers annually. They come here to step off the beaten path and unwind. Some say the fact that we are slightly removed from “The big city” is part of the attraction. So sorry you don’t feel the same way. We think our mules are pretty great too!
“Great quiet cabin”
We rented the summers dream recently and had a very relaxing stay. The cabin was spacious, had all the basic amenities that are needed, very nice layout, the view was great, pet friendly, private, the property managers are very kind and is located in a very convenient location. This is well noted by the managers but you should know that there is no cell service or internet here. We were told there might be cell service (you never know with cabins at this level) and brought our att wifi hub which would not work. You can drive down 15mins down to leatherwood cafe for free wifi though. The cabin did need some upgrades. The basement with the pool table is currently being built but we were unable to use it due to the cold. The television in the home seemed out of place with bad satellite. Don't expect to watch tv, unless you brought your own portable project like us :) The music unit with the speakers that are mounted on the 2nd level did not work but we had our own ipod doc. It sounds bad but really wasn't for us because we prepared backup items. One issue we mentioned to the property manager was in regards to bugs in the cabin. If you stay in a cabin this should be expected but window frames everywhere were covered with flies. There is this beautiful huge window and from the 2nd floor you can see just mounds of black flies on this large molding. A cleaning problem that hopefully was addressed for the next group of renters. Overall we recommend this property as a great quiet getaway and we look forward to trying another property in leatherwoods in the future!
Nice place with a great view. House was a little dirty (which appears to be a theme with these rentals) and didn't have internet option -- which should be better disclosed in the write up about the rental. No matches for the gas grill which required a long drive back to the base lodge to get some so we could cook dinner. Overall was a nice place.
Response from the manager Thanks for your review. Summer's Dream is a great home! Sorry that the cleanliness of your cabin was not up to par. We wish you would have told us & we could have corrected the issues. Cabins that offer DSL have those options listed in the amenities. I hope that you will return to see us again soon! Thanks again for your review!
“very pleasant stay, cabin clean and comfortable”
Service was top notch. The cabin was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and secluded. Hot tub was great. Staff and guests were very friendly. Great spot for trail riding for miles. Will definitely go back. But have not received deposit back yet.
“fun but frustrating”
We enjoyed our visit to Leatherwood and would have a much better time if the heat in the lower part of the cabin worked and there wasn't a cockroach problem. I mentioned this to the woman at the desk in the visitor's center and she was quite unpleasant. I think it's very sad that someone who is the first impression of such a great area has such a terse attitude. I might consider revisiting Leatherwood again, but I doubt I would stay in Summer's Dream.
Response from the manager We appreciate your review of our property. It is very disappointing that you feel that our staff was unpleasant. We go to great lengths to make our customers happy and provide excellent customer service. I see that we offered to come to your cabin & correct the problems when you reported them but you did not want us to do so. We would have gladly made every effort to make your stay enjoyable. Summers Dream is a wonderful cabin that guests return to again & again, hopefully you will give us another chance someday.
“Perfect vacation for the family & friends, including our dog and”
The superior service began the moment I contacted Leatherwood. Since this was our first visit,I had several questions and concerns that were promptly responded to. When we arrived, there was a packet waiting for us with complete instructions, keys and a map to our cabin. Once we had our trailer parked safely there was a mad dash to see inside the cabin. The only words spoken were "Wow!" We were giddy with excitement. As we unloaded our horses, I realized they too had first class accommodations, not 10 feet away from the cabin.Besides the stalls with built in feeders, there was a nice tack room and a water hose nearby. While unpacking, we heard people calling "Hello" and realized there were riders on a trail within a short distance of our cabin. We could ride out and immediately pick up 3-4 different trails which we quickly took advantage of. The cabin was first class, lacked for nothing and was every bit as good as the ad said. Whether spending time on the deck or inside, the views were spectacular. After a day of riding we could enjoy the hot tub or soak in a hot bath or shower inside, then sink into a luxury leather sofa curled up under down throws or go up to the loft and play cards at the game table. It was so roomy, we never felt like we were in anyone's way. The trail maps are excellent; we never got lost and were able to tell beforehand what the severity of the trail was. Every rider we met along the way was friendly and helpful. The only problem was our horses. Not being used to stall confinement, they were pretty cranky after a two days. One stop by the office fixed that. We simply moved them down the mountain to a paddock area where they could play, especially when we took one day and headed to Blowing Rock. The ladies in the office could not have been more helpful, they deserve many thanks from us. I think our reservation for a return trip in april says a lot about how much we enjoyed Leatherwood. See you soon!
“Relaxing vacation we will never forget”
Fantastic rental home. Gorgeous view, secluded yet easy access. Large stalls, home equiped with everything we needed. One of the best and most relaxing vacations I have been on. Rental and restaurant staff very curteous and friendly. Family atmosphere! We will be visiting again!
The house was great it has a good view,plenty of room on the wrap around porch,whaat can i say it was awsome. Horses loved it and so did we thank you
“First family mountainous experience!”
Summers Dream was an beautiful home with breathtaking views and great area to walk dogs. We don't have horses...yet! But the stalls were a great place for our dogs to hang instead of their crates while we went to Blowing Rock for a day. Our kids loved the hot tub at night and building forts during the day! The house was very well set up for the five of us and the kitchen was well equipped for cooking our meals. A hammock and some more chairs on the deck would have been nice but in no way hindered our vacation. We went on the two hour horse back riding and they loved that as well! I would recommend this home to anyone! Loved it!
“Our stay at Leatherwood was fantastic!”
Summers Dream is a beautiful home away from home.It is in a wonderful location and had all the amenities a renter needed. The views were wonderful. The service we received was great. Everyone was very cordial and helpful to us. We look forward to returning to Leatherwood in the very near future.