Need more information about booking Property 2457249 ?
Very Good

1 / 31 Back deck

from $295 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 3 / Sleeps 8 / House
Bedrooms: 3  Sleeps: 8  Type: House
SURF RIDER~MCA# 381~Classic ocean front beach house with great views!
TripAdvisor property ID 2457249

More Property Details

Book this 3 bedroom house in Manzanita today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a deck, internet access, and DVD among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $2065 to as high as $2926, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 10% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 24, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Oceanedge Vacation Rentals
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Manzanita Attractions



Phone / Internet

  • Wireless Internet

Property Features

  • Waterfront


  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Deck
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (13)

Very Good – based on 13 reviews Very Good
13 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“A bit disappointed”

Reviewed 14 Sep 2013

Filled out form and gave to PropMgr: broken DVD player, broken Fireplace, candy wrapper trash in couch, broken wndow lock 1st bedroom, etc. We stayed here last year and except for the bum DVD player everything was ok.

“Great Potential - Needs Some Basic Maintenance, Upgrades, TLC”

Reviewed 10 Sep 2013

So much potential here but at $300 plus per night, too many things broken, nonfunctional, or missing. Has potential to be great property but needs just $1k - $1500 in maintenance and would be really outstanding place even despite not being able to see the water unless standing. Glass cutting board is loud, ineffective, and dangerous. Throw it away. Need Wifi - how can you charge $300 plus per night and not have Wifi? That is just pure stinginess. Bikes are rusted, need maintenance. The brakes on one of them don't even work. Throw bikes away or get them fixed but don't provide them to people unless they are in working order and SAFE! Bed mattress covers, although comfortable, were horribly hot. Replace - please! Window in second queen bed room is inoperable - this is important because on hot days, air flow is really important in this house. Fireplace doesn't work - this would have been unacceptable if it had been winter during our stay. Need smaller set of tongs in addition to the monster-sized ones (which were great fun and super for barbecuing). So many cd's missing - just throw out the cases if they don't exist. It will take someone 15 minutes to do this and save the renter oodles of time. This could really be a great property - just needs a bit of maintenance and care. Thanks for your consideration.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Reviewed 28 Aug 2013

Close to the beach, clean, a great place for a family to stay,very open floor plan large windows for beautiful views

Response from the manager The Surf Rider has a great open floor plan. You are right. Right on the beach! It is a great place for a family and the owners tell us they will soon be adding a shower in the utility room! It will be a different room with washer/dryer, utility sink, toilet, and shower! But, hey, that second shower will make a big difference if you have filled the house with 8 people. Come back to try it out.

“Surf Rider Rental Home at Manzanita, Oregon”

Reviewed 5 Aug 2013

It was perfect in nearly every way. The only down side was the view. Although the house is situated on the beach with quick access to the beach, you really couldn't see it.

Response from the manager Surf Rider is a great house on the beach. You are right, there is a sandy berm in front of the house that leaves a protected sandy area for children to play in but it mostly obscures a direct ocean view. The homeowner is working with lots of government agencies to get permission to move the sand. Then he is required to plant the area in front with sea grass to try to keep the sand from coming back. All sorts of permits have to be issued and then the work has to be done in the winter months. We're glad he's agreed to take these steps, so check back with us about next summer. Glad you liked the house.

“Surf Rider”

Reviewed 29 Jul 2013

The house is adequate for 8 people; only 1 bathing facility but it worked out ok. The rental agency went all out on accomodating us. This is our 4th year of renting from them and I would highly recommend them.

Response from the manager Surf Rider is an amazing oceanfront home. We have been told by the homeowner that he intends to add a shower in the second "wet" area--the room with the laundry machines, a utility sink, and a toilet. We're hoping for sooner than later. Come back soon.

“Magical escape from daily stress”

Reviewed 9 Oct 2012

What day is it today? Don't tell me, I'm on vacation! That's a wonderful feeling, and that's what my wife and I expereienced during our stay. Loved the easy beach access and looking out onto the ocean through the front windows. We had a magical stay that was outside of time! We'll be coming back!

“Surf Rider”

Reviewed 30 Jul 2012

We liked the house and the kitchen was well equipped. They needed more and nicer bath towels for when 8 people stay there; we were washing towels every day. We wanted a beach front home which the Surf Rider is but it's still a pretty long hike to the beach so if anyone is at all disabled this would not be a feasible vacation home. Also really no view of the ocean because of the high sand dunes in front of the house. The bed in the master bedroom had a foam topper on the mattress so it was quite comfortable; it would of been nice if the queen size bed in the other bedroom also had a foam topper; it was not as comfortable. Overall we liked the home and would go back another year.

Response from the manager Thank you for this feedback. We are a 50-MILE roundtrip from the closest shop with a foam topper and lucky I am going there tomorrow (August 8) so that second queen will have one this week. We normally have 16 bath towels at Surf Rider, so I will double check that and add a few towels to the shopping list! You are right: while Surf Rider is on the beach, there is a berm of sand in front of the house before you get to the ocean. The disadvantage, as you said, is the view of the ocean. The advantage is that the berm blocks some of the strong winds on the beach--and makes a great play area for younger children right in front of the house. When you come back, look for more towels and a foam topper on that second queen bed!

“Satisfactory @ the discounted price.”

Reviewed 28 Apr 2012

The property looks tired. Various blinds are not working, rusted furnace vents in the bathrooom and laudry room. Since the laundry room is doubling for a bathroom, a mirror would help.

Response from the manager We agree this property looks tired from the exterior. We think it's in darn good shape inside though that laundry room/half bath combo is unique! Thanks for these notes. We will change those rusted furnace vents this week. The "blind" lady is coming Wednesday to take care of the blinds. A mirror in the laundry/half bath is a great idea. Thanks again for these suggestions. Next time, you will see the difference.


Reviewed 12 Sep 2011

this hosue was perfect for us ... just a bit out of town so nice and quiet but close enough to make use of the town's amenities ... lovely hearing the waves as we went to sleep ... hosue was plenty roomy for our cook to be prepping meals while we played cards in the dining room ... the beds were so comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and bright. though it was "on the beach" it was quite a hike for me (knee probs) to get down to the water ... other than that, it was a dream week!!

“A Wonderful Stay”

Reviewed 6 Jul 2011

A perfect location & a great house! We had a wonderful visit. The management company was friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back!

Review 1-10 of 13

Also consider


190 properties


53 properties


27 properties


23 properties


23 properties

Hood River

21 properties

South Beach

19 properties

Seal Rock

14 properties


14 properties


14 properties


8 properties


8 properties

Grants Pass

8 properties


8 properties


8 properties


7 properties


7 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Start a new search