Need more information about booking Property 2462640 ?
Very Good

1 / 16 Lovely ocean views from the lanai of newly renovated Makahuena 2

From $225 / night help
Total guests, approx:

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 3 / Bathrooms 2 / Sleeps 6 / Apartment
Bedrooms: 3  Bathrooms: 2   Sleeps: 6  Type: Apartment

2 Unknown types

Makahuena Condo #2-203 - Spacious 3 Bedroom Condo with Pool
TripAdvisor property ID 2462640

More Property Details

Book this 3 bedroom apartment in Poipu today! A total of 6 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 14 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1575 to as high as $2275, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 30% of inquiries, which is lower than average, and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 21, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Poipu 365
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:15:00, Check out time:10:00
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Poipu Attractions




  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access

Pool / Spa

  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)


  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster


  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV


  • Deck


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 2 Unknown types


Reviews (14)

Very Good – based on 14 reviews Very Good
14 reviews

Very Good

“Poipu makahuena 203 is fabulous!”

Reviewed 25 Jul 2013

We recently spent a week at Poipu Makahuena 365 and loved it! The decor is classy and tasteful with all tile floors, tiled showers,, granite kitchen, upgraded appliances, and even fabulous counter appliances. There is a keurig coffee maker, panini griddle, and smoothie blender just to name a few. Gorgeous bedding and plenty of towels are provided; even beach towels. There are boogie boards and sand toys, as well as beach chairs and a cooler. The patio view of the ocean is lovely with palm trees gently swaying in the wind, and sounds of the surf. Some additional touches were the household items that were provided such as hand soap, dish liquid, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, and shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. The wi-fi was a blessing as phone sevice is spotty in the area. We travel a lot, and this is a spectacular condo in a terrific location! It allows easy access to anywhere on the island, especially the main sightseeing areas, while giving you the secluded getaway that is harmonious with the peacefulness and tranquility of Kauai.

“Great Value”

Reviewed 12 Jul 2013

All as described,

“Amazing, updated, perfect vacation getaway”

Reviewed 26 Apr 2013

For context, I've got a family of five, three kids 7-4-2. We stayed in 2-203 for 8 nights. We will be back, we'll stay in this unit again, and for a longer duration. I think the simplest compliment I can pay is that this unit felt to us like the owners had just stepped away, but were coming right back. From the fully furnished kitchen to the collection of DVDs, from the NINJA blender to the master bathroom with new tile shower, this place is a step above any vacation rental condo complex. It made you want to leave the place better than you found it. Bedrooms - master rocked. tons of light, view of the water, huge bathroom with incredible shower. - two other bedrooms, one with a queen, the other with two twins. more than enough room. we had a crib delivered the day we got there and it fit fine in the room with the queen. Kitchen (we cooked most meals in so this was key): - fully stocked. i mean from the best tupperware selection to the panini maker to the coffee maker. auto ice maker, tons of ice cube trays. General - tons of linens, plenty of towels (beach and shower) - 3 TVs, including a monster 55 inch flatscreen in the main room. DVD, Wii - four boogie boards, and four nice beach chairs. we left some kids beach toys to "pay it forward" - great lanai. the view is as advertised: gorgeous. you'll eat all your meals out here. - pool is sparkling clean, 3.5 ft shallow, 8 ft deep end; hot tub is fabulous. - the vibe at Makahuena is relaxed, kind, and very family friendly - totally "Aloha" Two areas of feedback for prop mgmt - the lock at the front door took a second to figure out. turn it all the way to the left to draw the latch so you can push the door open. this could be replaced pretty easily and i think it should. - the dryer is new but something is wrong with the vents and clothes didn't dry. we flagged this to prop mgmt early on, and people looked at it the day we left. it's

Response from the manager Aloha Dave,Mahalo for the review... so glad you enjoyed Makahuena 2-203. Your comments are timely - the whole Makahuena complex was re-keyed right after you left solving the front door lock problem. The dryer was pulled away from the wall and the vent was the problem. The complex will clean their vents and that problem will be solved also! The owners are here now and further updating their unit! It will be even better when you return!

“Great Rental”

Reviewed 6 Apr 2013

It had everything we needed & the place was in great condition. Beautiful view too.

Response from the manager Aloha Bianca,Mahalo for your review of Makahuena 2-203. We are glad you agree that this unit is close to the ocean and so enjoyable. We look forward to booking the accommodations for your next Poipu getaway.


Reviewed 15 Mar 2013

nice spot. king bed needed in master br

Response from the manager Aloha John,The owners are in the process of replacing the beds in Makahuena and there will be a king size bed in the master! Mahalo for your review... we hope you enjoyed your visit!

“Great Vacation”

Reviewed 7 Mar 2013

A great place to stay, had every thing we expected and more! Thank you!

Response from the manager Aloha Ed,We are glad you enjoyed your vacation at Makahuena 2-203. We look forward to reserving this property for your next Poipu vacation.

“Geat Stay in a great location”

Reviewed 13 Feb 2013

Most times I need to work while traveling. Poor internet access could limit my ability to rent in future which would be too bad as the rest of the experience was excellent.

Response from the manager Aloha Joe,Mahalo for your comments. The internet service is through Makahuena Resort; we tried to increase the quality of the Internet access by buying a new router and having Oceanic Time Warner try to analyze the problem. We were glad to have you as a guest and very glad that the rest of the experience was excellent.

“Beautiful Poipu !!!”

Reviewed 18 Jan 2013

Wow is all I have to say. Fantastic vacation spot with all the amenities that you need in one spacious and perfectly located condo. Would visit again in a heartbeat.

Response from the manager Aloha Scott,Poipu is the ideal vacation spot! We are glad you found the condo pefectly located and stocked with all the amenities you needed. We are looking forward to reserving Makahuena 2-203 for your next Kauai vacation!


Reviewed 31 Dec 2012

mattress old. sheets, pillows old.

Response from the manager Aloha Thomas,Mahalo for your comments; they were very timely. The owners are here and are replacing the beds, matresses and linens, in addition to updating the bathrooms, buying a new dryer and installing new window coverings. We look forward to booking your next Poipu getaway!

“Nice Clean Unit w/ Great View, Could Use Improvements on Bedding”

Reviewed 2 Nov 2012

This unit has a pretty decent view of the ocean and is in a quiet location. It easily accommodated our party of 6. Positives: * There are useful items like beach chairs and a large cooler that were pretty nifty for going out to the beach * The new tiles are pretty awesome (always a cool temperature to walk on, good grip) * Lots of ice in the freezer for helping to fill up the cooler Room for Improvement: * The bedding in the 2 non master bedrooms could definitely be improved. They felt old, rough, and a bit ratty * We had a rough time setting up the wireless internet and just ended up hard wiring in one of our laptops for any serious web browsing Be warned that if you have Verizon, you likely will NOT have any data service in this unit! All in all, nice place to stay for the price.

Response from the manager Aloha,Mahalo for your comments. The owners of Makahuena 2-203 will be replacing the beds when they are here for Christmas with a new king bed, a new queen bed, and a set of twins, new linens and other new pieces of furniture. They apologize and are contacting the Makahuena Resort about your difficulties with setting up the wireless internet which is part of the resort's system. The unit continues to be upgraded; you noticed the new tiles!

Review 1-10 of 14

Also consider


3,067 properties


1,873 properties

Island of Hawaii

1,811 properties


1,523 properties


397 properties


331 properties


327 properties


268 properties


90 properties


82 properties


68 properties


13 properties


12 properties


9 properties


8 properties

Start a new search