Need more information about booking Property 2545293 ?
From $141 / night help
Total guests,

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedrooms 3 / Bathrooms 2 / Sleeps 8 / Cottage
Bedrooms: 3  Bathrooms: 2   Sleeps: 8  Type: Cottage

1 Full bath, 1 Shower

Popular Cabin on Sunset Lake in Benson VT
TripAdvisor property ID 2545293

More Property Details

Book this 3 bedroom cottage in Benson today! A total of 8 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 5/5 thanks to an average of 32 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $985, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jan 12, 2018, so this rental may not be available for your requested dates, but please inquire to confirm.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Jamie L.

Tourist License: 440-K10386945F-01

Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 Jan 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:15:00, Check out time:11:00
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $300.00
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Benson,-vermont Attractions




  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet

Property Features

  • Mountain Views
  • Parking
  • Waterfront


  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • TV


  • Deck
  • Grill
  • Patio

Onsite Equipment

  • Boat available


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 1 Full bath
  • 1 Shower


Reviews (32)

Excellent – based on 32 reviews Excellent
32 reviews

Very Good

“Didn't Want to Leave!”

Reviewed 20 Sep 2014

I visited a friend for an overnight stay at Camp Costalotta. I couldn't have been more pleased. I think the camp would be an ideal spot for a Women's Retreat. There are comfortable sitting areas downstairs and spaces upstairs to spread out into various nooks for personal reflection, all with amazing views of the lake, with the sound of the water lapping against the shore beneath the windows. I can imagine deep conversations with a friend or solitary reflection along pine needle covered paths or out on the lake in a kayak or boat. (Also ideal setting for a group of artist or writing friends looking to inspire one another!) Everything we needed to prepare meals was provided (measuring cups, spoons, mixing bowls, spatulas, wire whisk, etc, etc) Clean up was a cinch with plenty of room to move around, plenty of counter space, full size refrigerator and freezer, oven and stovetop, microwave and coffee maker, dishclothes and towels, and everything is high quality. We laughed long into the night, and we didn't bother anyone. I highly recommend this getaway to anyone. (Those with limited mobility should call ahead to make sure they can be accommodated.) Thank you, Jamie!

“Peaceful, woodsy great location”

Reviewed 4 Oct 2013

Great peaceful, woodsy location on beautiful clean water lake. Very well equipped kitchen and amenities. Nice end of the lake. Very roomy and rustic.

“Disgusting dirty fire trap”

Reviewed 26 Sep 2013

This place has not been upgraded in years. The stairs are nearly impossible to manuveur, the spiral stairs are not useable because they are steep and very narrow. There is no proper exist from the upstairs so this place is a fire trap. Rent it at your own dismay. We think it was so bad that we left after only 1 hour of being there. Of course, the owner doesn't want to return our money, and neither does FlipKey. The place is also full of spiders, the couch is stained with either water or urine or something so we wouldn't even sit on that. I have rented properties for over 30 years and have never refused to stay but this one was the worst of the worst.

Response from the owner Larry, I am very sorry your expectations were not met. This is a "RUSTIC" cabin. The cabin is fully compliant with fire codes. It is equipped with smoke & carbon monoxide detectors, fire extinguisher & egress windows. The cabin is cleaned after each guest departs. All the furnishings and carpeting was professionally cleaned in June of 2013. I only wish you had taken the opportunity to visit the cabin in advance of your stay (as is offered and recommended on the rental site) to insure it fit your needs. I am sure we could have resolved any concerns had you waited for me to arrive. Jamie

“Absolutely Beautiful!”

Reviewed 27 Aug 2013

We recently rented Costalotta for a week in mid august and it was perfect! The cabin was large enough for 7 of us and very well equipped with anything you would need for cooking, sleeping, laundry, etc. It was very clean and comfortable. The cabin could not be any closer to the lake. At times looking out the window you feel like you're on a water boat. The owner, Jamie, was so accomodating and is extremely helpful but never intrusive. The lake is sparkling clean and the floating dock is awesome. We had fun using the row and paddle boats and swimming in the lake. We hiked some nature trails around the lake which was also beautiful. I would highly recommend Costalotta to anyone who is looking for a nice, peaceful, relaxing vacation on an exceptionally clean lake. We've already booked our week next summer and can't wait to go back!

Response from the owner Mike & Deb, I am happy that your stay was so enjoyable. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Sounds like everyone had a great time. I hope the crappie are biting better next year! ;-) Jamie

“Beautiful, peaceful, love the wild life!”

Reviewed 21 Aug 2013

There was plenty of room for all and very peaceful. Plenty of seating and very comfortable! I love the view, out every window was the lake, mountains and horizon. The water is so clear and fresh we could see fish in the water from the upstairs bedroom. Jamie is very pleasant to deal with. We will most definitely be back.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Response from the owner I am happy your week was fun filled! Hope to see you again next year! Dates are opened up on line for 2014 bookings! Jamie

“Beautiful camp”

Reviewed 8 Aug 2013

This camp exceeded our expectations. We are from Vermont and rented camps at other lakes before. Sunset Lake is very beautiful and clean. It's one of the prettiest and quietest lakes I have seen. There is a great view of the lake from every room of the cabin. The house is well stocked with basic supplies . There is good fishing and swimming. The favorite activity at camp was taking the raft out. This raft can be pulled out from shore and you can go out for the ride without even getting wet. Great for jumping in the water and swimming . There is a beautiful deck with a grill next to the camp that is great for relaxing. The owner is very helpful. We definitely are looking forward to returning next year, Linda

Response from the owner Linda,It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! Hope to see you again next year! Jamie

“Wonderful cottage on beautiful sunset lake.”

Reviewed 22 Jul 2013

Charming cottage on beautiful Sunset lake. The house was very well maintained and lots of extras including a great deck and grill. Our favorite was the swim float on a pulley. Jamie is really nice and helpful. Wifi didn't work very well.

Response from the owner Teresa, It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Thanks for the feedback! I hope you will consider a return visit in the future. I am working with the local internet provider to improve the service in our area. Thanks again, Jamie

“Absolutely amazing1”

Reviewed 25 Jun 2013

Though our vacation plans fell through, we went to the Cottage on Sunset Lake to see if it suited for our large family. It was more than we could have ever expected. The cottage was clean,roomy and bright. Everything you could possibly need is there. There is a view of the lake from every window even the bedrooms. It seems like you're in the middle of nowhere but with "touristy" attractions very near by this is the perfect vacation spot. Very private and I can't say enough about the serenity of it all. Jamie is very friendly and most accommodating. Trust me you won't be disappointed. Can't wait until we can actually stay!

Response from the owner Thanks Suzan, Sorry things fell through for you this year, but I look forward to another opportunity next year maybe. Flip Key is a much better way for making reservations and accepting payments going forward.

“Beautiful Cottage and Lake!”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2013

The pictures on this site are nice but seeing it in person is remarkable! The cottage is clean and well supplied. The lake is so quiet and the time there is very relaxing! My husband looks forward to getting up early and trolling for trout. We enjoyed our stay a lot and plan on returning soon!

Response from the owner Hi Kathy, Looking forward to your return. Glad to hear your vacation was relaxing!

Review 1-10 of 32

Also consider


44,412 properties


16,369 properties


9,621 properties


8,366 properties


3,322 properties


2,514 properties


2,206 properties


2,198 properties


1,686 properties


1,076 properties


959 properties


839 properties


534 properties


426 properties


303 properties


302 properties


264 properties


190 properties


159 properties


61 properties

Start a new search