Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 7 bedroom house in North Topsail Beach today! A total of 20 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a pool, hot tub, and deck among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3.5/5 thanks to an average of 7 reviews.
Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $1770 to as high as $7499, depending on travel dates.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 15, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
- Calendar last updated:
- 15 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top North-topsail-beach Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Clothes dryer
- Washing machine
Phone / Internet
- Internet access
Pool / Spa
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- DVD player
- Satellite TV
- Balcony or terrace
- Smoking allowed
– based on 7 reviews
- Very Good
“Good Place, Great Location, Terrible Support”
First, the positives. The location is great, with only a few houses to one side, and none to the other. So, you really are able to get a nice beach experience without the crowds. Also, the layout of the house is nice, with an open main floor, opendeck access, and distribution of bedrooms. The layout makes it ideal for hosting a large group. Now, the negatives. The largest issue we had was with a ceiling leak in one of the lower bedrooms and how it was handled (by the owner and the management company). The leak was originating from one of the doors leading from the main floor out to the deck. The bedroom ceiling started leaking the first night we stayed, and despite calling them the morning after it was discovered, and a visit or two from the repairmen, they essentially did nothing to repair the leak - after the first call, all they did was move the bed out of the way. Some attempt was made to provide additional strip sealing around the door, but that didn't work. The problem continued to grow worse throughout the week, so that eventually one night an entire piece of the ceiling (2 ft x 3 ft) fell to the floor; this almost pulled down the ceiling fan as well. So, despite multiple notifications, we ended up with an unusuable bedroom, because steps were not taken to address the issue. Basically, the door frames for the doors to the deck are probably original to the house. There is significant evidence of rot and warping, such that the house doesn't really seal adequately, and stayed humid inside throughout the week. This led to the leak above, and some other smaller ones that we observed in the house while we stayed there. Also, the exterior of the house does not look like the pictures any longer. There is significant weathering and deterioration of the outside deck and furniture. To be fair, on one last point, when we filed a formal written complaint about the above, the management company did agree to reimburse us fairly after some negotiation.
Response from the manager Dear Midwest Families, Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the layout of this home. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you endured during your stay. When it comes to these kinds of leaks and days of heavy rains, the repairs can be very invasive, such that the home would be uninhabitable. Unfortunately, the week of your stay, we did not have any other available properties where we could move you in order to perform the necessary repairs. We did what we could to try to manage the leak during your stay, which was the best we could do under the circumstances. (The following week, we were able to relocate our guests to another home, and the repairs were completed.) With all of that in mind, I am glad that we were able to offer you a pretty substantial compensation for the inconvenience, but very confused about why you wrote that our support was “terrible.” I did want to mention that this home was purchased in the last couple years by a very conscientious owner who has made several major improvements and renovations to the home, most of which are pictured accurately on our website. Primarily, he had the home painted, he put on a new $40,000 roof and new gutters, he had some of the bedrooms and the kitchen renovated, he purchased new furniture, appliances, and a new hot tub. I will share your feedback about the deck and outdoor furniture with him as well. Let us know how we can assist in the future: 800-762-3961. Sincerely, Amy
This large oceanfront home was a wonderful place to stay. Lots of room and nooks and crannies. Covered porch as well as a large deck. The only downside was the uncomfortable and worn out living room furniture...no support at all in the seat anywhere on the sofa. Loved the location, used a spotting scope to watch the pier activity. Restaurants and grocery store close by.
“We loved the house and the location!”
We booked this house for one week in October with family and friends. The house was in a perfect location on the beach. There were no crowds and we were within walking distance to the pier. The bedrooms were very roomy, especially the master suite. I loved waking up every morning with a view and the sound of the ocean. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking everyday. We only ate out once. There is a local seafood market in town. Our family has decided that we would like to make a trip to this house annually because we loved it so much.
Response from the manager Hi Gina, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I am so pleased to hear that this home was so well suited to your family's needs and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve you, and we are excited about welcoming you back next year. In the meantime, give us a call if we can assist you with planning your next Topsail vacation: 800-762-3961. Cheers, Amy
“Love the Beach here.”
Beach is great, not too many people... did not want to worry too much about the kids. The kids had a blast. We loved the location. Only issue with house was some leaks when it rained and mold in bathrooms and upper floor bedrooms.
Response from the manager Dear Steph, Thanks so much for your review of this lovely home. I am so pleased to hear that you all had such a good time. We have shared your review with the owner. He replaced the roof just prior to peak season, but they didn’t have the opportunity to install the gutters. This will solve the leaks and mildew, and it should be taken care of very soon, now that peak season is over. Thanks for your feedback and for your patronage. Let us know when y’all are ready to come back: 800-762-3961. Sincerely, Amy
“Spacious and nice location but not worth the money.”
The house was roomy and love the location. Was not happy that we didn't get into the house until after 5:30 because it was still being cleaned and have to leave by 10:00, that isn't fair. We had to fight ants the whole week even upstairs the closets. It has a serious bug problem. The filters to the heat pumps were filthy, looked like they had never been changed. We changed them ourselves. Even after waiting till after 5:30 to get in things were still not cleaned, there were clothes left in drawers and trash in windows.
Response from the manager Hi Brian, Thanks so much for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you feel you did not get your money’s worth in this charming oceanfront home. I apologize that the cleaning crew was not finished by 3pm; sometimes they are not able to finish based on the condition in which they find the home. Thanks for letting us know specifically what was lacking; we will address drawers and windows with the cleaner. The ant situation happens from time to time in some of our houses on the island; however, the home has been and is regularly treated to try to prevent this from occurring. The filters are changed on a monthly basis, but sometimes they can get dirty very quickly—especially in some of our larger oceanfront properties. Brian, we sincerely appreciate your feedback, which we will share with the home’s new (and very conscientious) owner, who has already made and continues to steadily make improvements and updates. :-) Please give us a call if we can assist you further or help you plan your next visit to our beautiful island: 800-762-3961. Sincerely, Amy
We have rented several homes at Top Sail beach over the past 10 years and this home is at the top of our list. We have a large family and space was not an issue in the home. The master bedroom was beautiful. Being an end unit gave you even greater views. The home was very clean when we arrived although there was not a vacuum or a decent broom for guest to keep the house clean. The kitchen was fairly well equipped. The only exception to our visit was the hot tub which we paid an extra $70 to activate. There were no directions on use and no one came around to clean it or check it. Most of the people in our party who used the hot tub after the 3rd day got a rash which was diagnosed as folliculitus which people get from bacteria in hot tubs. No one went in hot tub after 4th day because it smelled when the cover was removed. But as I stated earlier, the house itself is beautiful
Response from the manager Dear Judith, Thanks for your review of this beautiful and lovingly maintained home. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you sharing your experience with the hot tub. I wish that you had notified us during your stay, so we could have addressed the issue for you while you were here. Prior to your stay, the owner, who bought this property just over a year ago, purchased a top of the line hot tub! It is scheduled to be serviced weekly between guests. In addition, the Hot Tub servicing company stands ready to remedy any issues that may develop with this home's new hot tub. Their service standards require the water to be absolutely fresh and clean for each guest. We truly apologize if that was not the case when you arrived. With your comments in mind, the owner is now placing new laminated operating instructions beside the hot tub. Further, the hot tub service company's emergency contact information will be posted on the refrigerator. Guests are encouraged to contact both Treasure Realty and the Hot Tub service company if any issue arises, including a spill, etc., so that they may respond ASAP. Thank you again for your helpful comments. You should be hearing from our customer service manager, Bill, about a refund of the hot tub activation fee. Please give our office a call and ask for Bill if you do not hear from him in the next couple of days: 800-762-3961. Sincerely, Amy