Need more information about booking Property 3219015 ?
Very Good

1 / 40 Cabin with an ocean theme - Grouse Valley Lodge - Sustaining project of Lighthouse Library/ECCRC

from $55 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Description from owner

Description from owner

Bedrooms 2 / Bathroom 1 / Sleeps 6 / Log cabin
Bedrooms: 2  Bathroom: 1  Sleeps: 6  Type: Log cabin
Cabin w/kitchen in Kansas - Grouse Valley Lodge
TripAdvisor property ID 3219015

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom log cabin in Dexter today! A total of 6 people can sleep here comfortably.

Guests can enjoy a pool, deck, and air conditioning among other amenities offered by this rental.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 6 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $275, depending on travel dates.

The owner responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 18, 2017.

Read more Read less

About the owner

About the owner

Lynn N.
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 Jul 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Dexter,-kansas Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Clothes dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Safe
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Telephone

Pool / Spa

  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)

Property Features

  • High chair
  • Parking
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Secure parking


  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV
  • Video player


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Climbing frame
  • Deck
  • Grill
  • Shared garden
  • Tennis court (shared)


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


Reviews (6)

Very Good – based on 6 reviews Very Good
6 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“very nice get away.”

Reviewed 17 Jun 2016

My wife and I decided to leave the electronics at home, except cell phones because who can live without them, and do some Kansas exploring on our 35th anniversary. We chose this cabin because it looked "quaint" and we don't need much room. The price was a bonus. It's small people, so don't be surprised, but plenty of room and amenities for a place to sleep and eat. Even better is that it is very clean inside. The picture is a bit old as the little patio is now a shed. Not a problem as it was 100 degrees and there is a partially shaded deck 10 steps away. Our only issues were, the AC is pretty loud and it's directly above the bed. That shouldn't be a problem in normal weather conditions, if you could turn it off at night. The BBQ grill provided was not usable as the grill was more rust than grill, but it did come with the last users left overs and plenty of used aluminum foil. That issue needs to be resolved. The owner is not on site but available via email. If you need something, Lynn will respond quickly. Unfortunately during our stay the WiFi was out and we could not get cell service via AT&T anywhere in town. Had to drive about a mile north on K15 to some little cabin on the west side of the road. This was necessary as we had a serious family emergence at home. Lynn assured me this is not normal on the WiFi and we all know cell service is spotty, if there at all, in remote areas. All in all I would gladly recommend a stay, if a small cabin is your thing. Oh, and the loft would be useful for small children able to climb the ladder safely. It's almost like a play house for them. If the opportunity presents itself again, we will return.

Response from the owner Thank you for your stay & for the funds that help run the nonprofit Lighthouse Library in this rural Kansas town. The Grouse Valley Lodge is a sustaining project for the nonprofit & 100% of the funds from your stay go to that cause. We do provide tables on the huge deck with the huge umbrellas that you see in the photo. The shed was built to provide storage for guests. The key to the shed is included with your cabin key. Sometimes hunters & families traveling through the area have extra things to store during their stay. The shed also provides more privacy for guests. The cook-out area was moved to the very shady north side of the cabin. We apologize for the condition that you found the grill. We do ask guests to leave the place like you found it but we should have checked this out before your stay. We are run totally by volunteers with the average age of our volunteers over 60 yrs. No excuses though. We provide a super clean environment. Comments about the cabin have been 100% positive concerning cleanliness. It makes us so sad to learn that you did not find the grill clean for you. Concerning the WiFi, this guest mentioned leaving their laptops at home. We can't guarantee Cell service unfortunately. The Wi-Fi is amazing at the cabin. We checked it out both before and after this stay & it is very fast & working well. So sorry your cell didn't work at the cabin but that you said it worked from the front of the library. Guests have always had cell service somewhere on the site. We would advise guests to bring a laptop or use one of ours during your stay. Also, we did offer the use of the computers in the library & also the phone in the library & left the doors open for you. We apologize that you had this trouble with your cell service. It is true that this is a very rural, remote area. The cabin is small & so is the price ($45). We don't ask for a cleaning fee as some cabins require. The air conditioner was purchased new when we built (by volunteers) & opened this cabin two years ago. The weather in this area has been so hot & the cabin is really so cool inside. It's sure too bad the cooler motor was too loud for your liking. It's a standard cooler from Lowes, so we're not sure how to remedy that. We did offer a fan as well (which is stored in the shed for guests) which would either mask the sound or maybe just add more noise. We are thankful that the peaceful courtyard with no traffic noise and the lovely Kansas sunsets is there. So many guests have commented on their peaceful weekend. It's too bad that life's comforts (the A.C.) come with added stresses with the fan noise. We prayerfully prepare the cabin for each family & are always so thankful with things work out during your stay. For this guest, it just breaks our heart to learn that the cooler did not meet your expectations. And there is no excuse for the grill condition. We have taken the proceeds from your stay to purchase a new grill for future guests. For updates about the cabin, feel free to visit our Facebook Page. We will post photos of the new grill there. (Photos of the site - with the shed are already posted there). Thank you for providing this feedback. You are welcome any time.

“Darling little cabin with everything you need.”

Reviewed 12 Mar 2014

Though it looks small on the outside, the interior space is so well utilized that it feels cozy but not cramped. The kitchen is well stocked and extra amenities make the visitor feel at home. Wonderful hospitality in a cute and quiet place.

Response from the owner We provide a cozy cabin with "everything" you need to have a fun & enjoyable stay. We try to keep the price down so families don't have the added worry of funds. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. This area is always quite, peaceful, and safe. Thanks for providing funding for the nonprofit Lighthouse Library. 100% of funds for your stay went to help fund the nonprofit. You are welcome any time.

“a wonderful, relaxing, stress free time.”

Reviewed 2 Oct 2013

Charming, comfortable and extra clean. The kitchen was well supplied with all that we needed and than some. It is a quiet, peaceful area, where the people are kind and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are planning for another weekend there in the near future. Oh, yes, the countryside is beautiful.

Response from the owner We are so thankful that you have a peaceful weekend. This area is so pretty in all four seasons. The scenic drives to the south & to the west are extra lovely in the fall and spring. Winter is beautiful & the gas fireplace adds to the coziness. In summer, we provide a free swim pass & the nearby park makes a great picnic area as does the large deck on the site. You are welcome back any time!

Review 1-6 of 6

Also consider


49,378 properties


18,165 properties


10,115 properties


8,016 properties


2,879 properties


2,707 properties


2,406 properties


2,106 properties


1,927 properties


1,202 properties


1,043 properties


829 properties


477 properties


374 properties


244 properties


227 properties


182 properties


172 properties


157 properties


49 properties

Start a new search